Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sac

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The room was clean and nice. The only downside is no air conditioning. They need to have air conditioning. It gets hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sactown

Not bad

Posted Jul 26, 2014
It's a old motel but they're are doing a lot revamping looks like it will be a nice place to stay when it is finished.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Not what we expected.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The location was great, close to activities and restaurants and away from traffic. The surrounding area was pleasant with a great many trees.
Cons: So much could be improved. Air conditioning or a working room fan. The grounds need major clean-up. We don't mind rustic, but it was very neglected
Location: We've been to the Santa Cruz area many times and there is so much to see and do. Something for all.
The room seemed clean and pleasant. It was an older facility with older fixtures, but seemed okay. Our biggest problem was that there was only a heater (not needed at all) with no air conditioning or air circulation. The windows were sealed and it became humid and warm. There was a ceiling fan which did not have an on/off switch and we had to open the outside door and fan it open and closed to get a little fresh air in the room. From the web site we knew the restaurant was being redone so that was no surprise. The continental breakfast was a good selection, well presented, plentiful and fresh with good service. Our first morning we came back from breakfast to find we had no electricity. The office was aware of the problem and said it was being fixed. We delayed leaving for the day hoping to use a hair dryer, curling iron & electric shaver. After quite a wait we left without feeling presentable for our activities. We were thankful that Santa Cruz is a beach town and that we did not have any meetings or appointments that we would be ill prepared to attend. Not really funny for those who may have been there for business rather than pleasure. We never did ask how long the electricity was out since it was back on when we returned at the end of the day.The web-site prepared us for lovely gardens and view. It was beyond run down and a great dissapointment. The location was perfect. The overall impression was unfavorable & overpriced considering the results.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, CA

Old-time Elegance Gone, but not Forgotten

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Even the price that sounded like it was a bargain, wasn't!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Santa Cruz and redwood trees.
The grounds of this once beautiful location are in need of TLC (Tender Loving Care). Lots of repairs need to be done. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as we rolled toward the center all night long. There must be a vinyl liner in-between the mattress pad cover since it didn't breath. It crackled when you turned over. Windows were hard to open for fresh air. Smokers smoked right outside the windows since there weren't any signs posted to deter them. The restaurant where I have had lovely romantic dining and the patio where I loved the beautiful flowers were closed. The noise from Highway 17 was heard even on the back "garden side" of the facility. We won't be going back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Stuffy rooms, no AC in the summer!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
There was no AC, and the room was super stuffy and hot. There was an in room fan as well as a ceiling fan but all it seemed to do was circulate the hot air instead of make the air cooler. Being in the room with the door closed was almost as bad as being in a sauna room. Also the guy who checked us in was weird, not welcoming whatsoever. Less than 20 minutes after checking in, he chased me to the room and in front of other hotel guests told me my card was declined. First of all they don't even need my card as the room was fully paid for. I understand that its for incidentals, but its no reason to chase a guest down. If anything he should have called my room. That was very unprofessional. The continental breakfast was OK there were pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuba City, CA

Comfortable and Clean for a Good Night's Sleep

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I had looked on Expedia and read all the reviews so I knew what to expect. The room was very small, but very clean. It was warm like others had noted, but there was a box fan in our room ready for use. We opened the door and put the fan in the doorway and opened the window and it cooled right down. We kept the fan on all night while we slept and we all slept well. Very quiet, did not hear our neighbors at all. Decent Continental breakfast. When we vacation we spend very little time in our room, so it was perfect for what we needed. And we got a great rate, so no complaints here! Would stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Not worth the price.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Room ready late. No apology. Poor location. Grounds are supposed to be beautiful and manicured gardens. NOT! They are all dried and dead! Restaurant closed forever. Don't waste your time or money on this dump!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Upon arrival we were informed the restaurant was not open we had to make other plans to eat. It was very noisy hotel. Other guests were outside all night long making noise and waking us up. We did not get a good night sleep. On a positive the room was very clean.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Grantham

Motel by busy road

Posted Jun 19, 2014
We arrived mid afternoon to find there was no air conditioning only a fan and the room was stifling. On enquiring at reception we were directed to a restaurant within a few minutes drive away to find that it didn't open in the evening. On the plus side the room was a good size with a decent shower and the continental breakfast was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Tthe room we got was big enough for all four adults.. The breakfast was pretty standard. the check in and out was easy and fast. the access to the freeway was right there making it easy to get to and from ucsc to get our daughter..We would stay there again.