Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Beautifully located hotel, good diving

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Room and terrace, setting and history
Cons: Fitness room - air con not working..
Location: Hotel is next to a working port and marina so although the complex is lovely when you walk out the gates you are hit with the 'real' Scicily.
Had a really nice stay in a Deluxe Plus room with terrace. Views were stunning and was worth the extra money to upgrade. Overall the hotel was great although the fitness centre seemed to be a bit of an afterthought and the machines did not seem very well cared for. Some parts of the hotel were a bit tired which you would probably expect with a building of this age but this did not affect our enjoyment in any way. Very nice buffet breakfast - other food and drink in the hotel was pricey as you would suspect for a 5* hotel. However if you want you can walk down to the harbour which is just around the corner and eat very cheaply. We hired a car (from Hertz) which - after getting used to the rather 'unpredictable' driving in Palermo was a good call as it enabled us to see some great places outside of Palermo. The mountains in Madonie region were particulary stunning (there is even a ski resort there in winter..). Also went to the Mafia (AntiMafia) museum in Corleone which is well worth a visit. We wanted to do some scuba diving and used Diving Center Saracen in Palermo who were fanatastic. Their dive boat is based in the marina directly below the hotel so you just had to walk down a few steps and you were away. The centre is PADI 5* and is run by Laura (who speaks English) and Alberto (who doesn't but this matters little underwater) who are both lovely so if you want good diving without the hassle I would give them a go. In a nutshell would happily go a again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Luxury hotel in Palermo

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Room 256 is appalling - basically you are on the road - I didn't sleep and had to ask to be moved the next night. Shower heads in both rooms were dodgy. The gardens, pool are and restaurant are lovely, but the pool restaurant menu is limited and the Caesar salad lacked any imagination and appeared only to have been briefly shown to a chicken rather than including much. Disappointing. And a good 20-30 minutes to Palermo and a €20 cab fare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right on the harbour.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel is a great size to give you an exclusive feeling and we never had trouble getting a table/sun lounger. The staff were brilliant and couldn't be more helpful. I highly recommend the hotel and would visit again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquitoes, awful cheesy music until midnight

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Attitude
Staff refused to stop live cheesy piano music until midnight. Our room, impossible to soundproof, was directly above. Extremely unhelpful staff, who then asked for €6 'city tax' though Expedia receipt clearly said 'taxes included'. Awful decrepit attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckingham, UK

A beautiful and elegant hotel.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The attention to detail and the standard of service shown by hotel staff.
Cons: A more informal bar for the evening where guests could possibly socialize with each other.
Location: Unfortunately, the hotel is located out of town in a somewhat scruffy part of town with only a couple of local restaurants and shops close by.
The Villa Igiea is a stunning 5 star hotel located on the outskirts of Palermo. If you have deep pockets then staying here is a must, but for those on a budget, think twice as you will be paying for 5 star etiquette and service. The staff are are extremely professional and helpful, assisting you whenever and wherever they can. Rooms are furnished according to the style of the hotel giving the sense of the 1920s, and despite not being completely modern in some respects everything functions well. The rooms and hotel areas are kept immaculately clean with service on hand all day if the need should arise. The gardens are a lovely place to stroll around in the evening with many secluded areas to admire the boats in the marina or the lights of Palermo. The swimming pool is well managed throughout the day with a life guard on hand to organize sun beds and take your orders for refreshments. There is a bar and bistro adjacent to the swimming pool area should you wish to take lunch. Breakfast is a very civilized affair taken on the terrace with the sun rising over Palermo bay and caters for every international taste. Use the hotel's free shuttle bus that will take you in to town and bring you back at various time during the day, taxis are very expensive and you will pay at least 20 Euros for the trip into town. Use the same bus to take you to the private seaside area where you can take a dip in the sea and have lunch, although this is not quite a beach but a platform area above rock
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing Hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Fantastic! An incredible room. Good air conditioning! Amazing pool and beautiful gardens. Friendly staff. Free WiFi in communal areas only.
Cons: Expedia need to inform travels that meals are very expensive and that you need a car or expensive taxis to get to more authentic eating places.
Location: The Hotel is the best thing about the location. The surrounding area was a slum and the litter and decay was incredible.
The hotel was incredible. Fantastic room, outside gardens, pool and the best breakfast buffer ever. Unfortunately - if you are staying longer than two nights you'll need to travel a long way to get to an affordable, authentic Sicilian cuisine. Terrible buses and greedy taxi drivers make travel away from the hotel difficult. Average prices for dinner for two were £90 and so our 10 day stay might have cost us about £1000 more. Luckily we discovered an incredible restaurant 20 minutes walk away (up a steep hill in 30 degrees). The making of the holiday was hiring a car for three days but in Italian traffic you are taking a risk. A great place for two nights but 10 nights like us and many other couples .... oh dear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ardleigh

Fab hotel odd location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
One of the best and friendliest hotels you can stay in 5 star hotel and 5 star prices but all worth it Location is only problem for some We hired car for week and is the best and cheapest way to get around Warning Sicilians are the worst drivers in the world
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Too expensive for what is offered

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Nice location high above harbor. Pool and yard is fine.Surrounding neighborhood not pleasant.
Cons: Needs new paint, shower was broken (staff fixed it quickly), cold and hot water faucets on sink made terribly loud noise to be heard above and below
Location: Nice location above harbor, no beach, nothing to do close by. Need transportation into downtown Palermo.
Rooms were nice but outdated. Needs make over. Lots of worn out parts. Yard needs better maintenance. Staff very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A grand dame at one time.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We stayed for three nights. The hotel at one time was the grandest. The amount of money that had been spent must have been astronomical. There is real quality craftsmanship throughout the property. The amount of money needed today to keep it at that level is probably just not coming in. The staff is great, the service was top notch. Overall it was good but it is expensive to eat or drink there. The food was very good. There need to be some upgrades and improvements. The A/C in our room wasn't working, the front desk moved us immediately to another room that felt cooler. However, we felt as if the A/C never took out the dampness and musty smell. I wish I could rate it 4.5 but I can only give it about a 3.5. Someone please save this gem.
3 out of 5
by Lucy from Cambridgeshire

Nice hotel to far from anything

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Hotel is very nice although I'm not sure its quite up to a 5* rating, if I was picky, although clean I spotted a lot of things that were neglected that you would not expect in a 5* rating hotel. Also the hotel staff although very friendly were not very forthcoming with information (only discovered the hotel does a free shuttle service to the town centre when I enquired about a taxi, but the shuttle service stops at 8 o'clock and fills up very quickly.) So still have to pay out for taxis at times. The pool was very clean although quite small but there are plenty of sunbeds outside and the pool staff were very friendly and attentive. The food at the hotel was lovely but a little over priced (€25 for a club sandwich, €6 for a coke or tea, €12 for a cocktail.) Overall the hotel was good but the location terrible. There is nothing to walk to although a couple of shops in walking distance they were never open and the surrounding areas around the hotel is extremely run down and not exactly picturesque ( rubbish everywhere, stray dogs/ cats everywhere which creates dog mess, smelt like blocked drains.) Although the rest of Palermo seemed to be quite run down also ( which is a shame because I can imagine a few years ago it would of been a beautiful place to visit.) Would recommend this hotel but don't think I will be going back.