Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sunny & Wonderful

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Amazing! My husband and I went on our mini honeymoon here. The staff is super accomodating and it's a great environment for couples, singes, AND families--which is super rare! We will definitely be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hip but grungy

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The room decor was funky and fun.
Cons: Common areas are dirty and not cared for. Someone had left a room service plate in the hall near our room and it was still there a day later.
Location: The location is NOT near anything. You have to drive everywhere.
The hotel may be hip but there are many other places to stay in Palm Springs that are cleaner, better situated and less expensive. If you are looking for super cool and don't mind that the loungers at the pool are dirty and falling apart and that all the common areas look like they are in similar shape, this may be for you. It didn't work for us. The mini bar in the room was like a real bar and it looks like that's how the hotel makes quite a bit of its revenue!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Seattle, WA

Best Beds In the WORLD

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: I loved the pool area / staff and the rooms. Weekends are the best for a fun, drinking, hip crowd. Weekdays are extremely family friendly.
Cons: A couple of front desk people need to smile more. Some funky smells every once in a while.
Location: The Ace is close to EVERYTHING. Ubers and Cabs are in and out and I never felt unsafe or had to wait long for anything.
I love the servers by the pool. They get 5 stars. But a few of the front desk people were more like 4s. The rooms were great. So comfy and cozy. And I love the pool area. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by natalie from san diego

Pay a heavy price for hipster decor

Posted Apr 2, 2014
I knew the Ace was a party hotel but I expected a NICE party hotel. The price tag definitely didnt match the room. Other than that our stay was comfortable enough. The room was very basic. The grout in the tiled bathroom was dark and dirty looking in spots. We had maybe 10 tv stations that actually had signal and they were all local news stations, so at night we had 10 infomercial channels. The worst part was the parking situation. There's no proper parking lot for the hotel, only spaces along the perimeter of the building, so if you are unable to find a space along the main street or sides of the building, you have to park along the alley out back. The alley runs along a vacant dirt lot, which is dark at night. I usually have no problem driving around the area solo in the middle of the night to go to Denny's or 711, but didn't this time because I was too afraid to walk out back to my car. It's set up so that you can't see your car until you leave the building. If by the time you're in the alley and one of the millions of palm springs tweakers is waiting outside, you have to wait for the security door to let you back into the Ace. The pros are: heated pool opened til 2am, great happy hour at the bar, beds are great, and you are allowed to have dogs and smoke a cigarette anywhere on the premises (except in your room, of course) Like I said its a good party hotel but I know what kind of room I could've gotten for the same money. Theres not even a shuttle to downtown!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only regret was Friday evening

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Lovely design! FANTASTIC restaurant (and reasonably priced, considering the quality! Room was chicly designed! Loved the free bikes! Awesome staff!
Cons: Only regret was that by Friday early evening the pool area was quite trashed - see comment above.
Location: Pitched exactly between the fancy part of Palm Springs and the normal (old-people Palm Spring); conveniently close to everything and beautiful views!
Fantastic! Wonderful hotel! Only regret was that by Friday early evening the pool area was quite trashed (college students and twenty-somethings) as was the women's bathroom next to the bar (same parenthetical comment as before). The staff are WONDERFUL! But I think they need triple-strength to keep up with their messy/slobby clientele on Fridays...The early morning clientele (people with kids, older-than-thirty people) were lovely/normal.
4 out of 5
by micay from portland, or

kitschy hotel in old palm springs

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: pool and poolside service
Cons: cleanliness...
Location: nothing. pool is all.
cockroach in room was my main issue and they didn't give me a room until 5pm on check in day.
2 out of 5
by Connie from Santa Cruz

Crowed

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Front Lobby staff.
Cons: Much!
Location: 5 minutes to downtown Palm Springs.
Room was pleasant but staff did not clean under the bed; had to request it and then it was not a good job. The TV was very old; difficult to select channels - no pay for view. The main pool was overcrowded with teenagers appearing to be on spring break; no room. The music at the pool too loud. The lounge chairs very old with ropes and uncomfortable. Weddings at the smaller pool which made it unavailable. When the smaller pool was available, there were no lounge chairs. Not a good experience. However, the front lobby staff was pleasant and so was the hotel grounds staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick and Sue from Santa Monica

Girls getaway and tennis tournament

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the view of the desert mountains, the music in the lounge and the proximity to downtown Palm Springs.
Cons: New poolside lounge chairs!
Location: The location is perfect for going to the restaurants and shops downtown with an amazing choice of different cuisines.
We had a wonderful time at Indian Wells despite the heat and we were very comfortable in the room but we found the pool lounge chairs to be very uncomfortable. No matter how many towels we piled on the ropes dug into our skin and we couldn't relax. Get new lounge chairs and we'll give you a 10 next time.
2 out of 5
by Karin from Atlanta

Hipster Paradise with disappointing rooms....

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice at the pool.
Cons: The room décor is laughable. Posters clipped on the slat board is not my idea of artwork. Walls are covered in canvas that was horribly stained.
Location: Great location.
Like most of the reviews say, this is where the hipsters of LA come to vacation. For $300/night, the rooms were VERY disappointing. I felt dirty. When we check in we were told we were 'upgraded' to a poolside room. I was so happy to hear this. Well, this was obviously a sales technique that I guess she thought we were dumb enough to fall for...We were in room 118 and we faced the back of the party room that is under construction. If we turned right, we could see some of the pool. She sure worked us! But the worst part was waking up at 6am on Sat to construction in the rooms right below us. They were laying cement and the crew didn't try to be quiet AT ALL. I finally called around 6:45 and 30 mins later they stopped until 7:45am. To me, this is UNACCEPTABLE on a weekend. My fiancé hadn't been able to sleep in in over a month, and this was supposed to be a relaxing weekend. It was ruined. Then to top it off, after we were promised they wouldn't be working Sun morning, they were out there again at 9am. I guess management doesn't keep track of what the construction crew does, or rather they don't care. Our only compensation was the $50 credited back for the 'resort' fee. Too bad we couldn't enjoy the pool b/c all of the chairs were gone by 11am. We had to sit on directors chairs not anywhere close to the pool. Wish we had stayed at the Parker Meridian where the wedding we attended was held...the $600/night there would have been worth it at this point
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under Construction!

Posted Mar 14, 2014
The Hotel doesn't feature on their webpage, that construction is going on, which starts at 7.00a in the morning. sawing and hammering.... really annoying, the construction is close to the pool. I've booked 3 days in advance and they did let me out of me prepaid contract, but only after talking to expedia and spending time on the phone. no sorry or an excuse. they are totally ignorant about it........