Ratings based on 1,032 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and swimming area.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
I was surprised how comfortable the room is and the location is Awsome. The swimming pool area is huge. Loved our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yucca Valley, Ca

Nice hotel, awesome staff!!!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The staff was helpful, courteous and respectful. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. The pool water could have been a bit cooler. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Los Angeles

D from LA.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Price, location and view.
Cons: The hotel is showing its age but for the price it is worth it.
Location: The location is at the east end of the main strip which means you are close to most every thing with mountain views.
Clean room. North facing room with view of the mountains was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Driver from Oregon

Price and Location

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Price, location, amenities, staff and did I mention location?
Cons: The same as with most any hotel you may stay in, I always notice the dust in the return vents for the air conditioners.
Location: We like the variety of hiking availability in the area.
The Royal Sun Inn is in an excellent location in the Palm Springs area and is reasonably priced. All the staff make you feel welcome. We have visited this Hotel several times and plan to continue to do so for many years to come.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from Los Angeles

Quick Review

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Rate was great.
Cons: There was a small tear in the arm of the main chair.
Location: Just a couple of miles off to the side of the main strip in downtown Palm Springs.
Just needed a place for the night... Royal Sun was more than adequate for my needs. Everything was clean and comfortable. Price was great. I would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Gavrik from LA

Not so nice hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Rooms squeak much when you stay on the bottom floor you hear people walking around. Beds are not comfortable and pillows. Night staff very rude. Not staying there again. But room was clean I agree!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shawt1 from San Diego

Not the Ritz, but not bad for the price!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast was very good and we appreciated the laid-back atmosphere and the gorgeous Palm Springs views. So, all-in-all, not a bad dea
Cons: Things are looking somewhat shoddy due to deferred maintenance and rather lax upkeep.
This hotel, off the beaten path in Palm Springs, is definitely in need of some TLC, but for the price, it is a find! While the rooms are well-equipped (with Wi-fi, microwaves and refrigerators), some things are more-than-a-little-bit rundown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vonnie from Los Angeles

Pleasant hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The hotel was easy to find. It had a great balcony view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only upset was the shower. The water would not stay at it's temperature. It would go from real hot to cold and vice versa while showering. Regardless it was a great place to stay and enjoy my Dinah Shore weekend. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Los Angeles

Nice stay at an affordable hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Price, location, pool and hot tub
Cons: Showers, breakfast
Definitely got our money's worth. Lovely place, albeit a bit dated. The continental breakfast left a little to be desired and the showers could be made for men a bit taller, but overall a quaint place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, WA

Great central location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, quiet, price, proximity to the airport.
Cons: The light over the sink is controlled by a motion detector. The light goes off after 30 seconds. There is no way to keep it continuously on.
I've stayed here before. It's an older hotel, but quite and comfortable, just off of Palm Canyon at the bend. While it doesn't have the amenities of some of the other hotels in the area, the price is right, particularly if you're going to be out and about during the day and evening. I was just staying here one night and had an early flight out in the morning, so the hotel was perfect for me on this trip.