Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxation in paradise

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Beautiful rooms, lovely pool, amazing food, well-kept beach and great staff. This was a wonderful relaxing end to our holiday. I would definitely recommend this as a treat.
2 out of 5
by Karina

Not 5* standard

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: The staff attitude including the manager's attitude.
I had a really bad experience at this hotel. From the moment we stayed, where we were charged a mandatory $130 dollars each for the Christmas buffet not including drinks. I was vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu. I was told that I should have told them in advance (which I didn't know I had to do). then they gave me a last minute menu including clear soup, salad etc - still not worth $130. Only from having to speak to about 4 different members of staff, did they agree that for a vegetarian it was not sufficient and they would let me have drinks included for this price. Then when we were about to check out of our room, we had 2 people knock on our door and one person call our room chasing us to check out all within 10 minutes of the check out time. The service is below par for a 5* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gavin from New Zealand

Old Fashioned Elegance

Posted Nov 18, 2013
From arrival to departure we were treated like royalty. The staff are sensational, the hotel is immaculately presented and maintained and the lush planting makes you feel like you are holidaying on an island paradise. Head Chef "Jan" has to be commended for his flair of presentation and the taste of his food. Beautifully balanced dishes that were pure delight to explore. His nightly wanderings among the diners is the mark of a professional that takes the time to see if his guests enjoyed his offerings, or didn't! All I ever heard was praise and you know the food is great when the tables around you fall silent as they are too busy eating. This is somewhere I will return to. Breathtaking sunsets, family restaurants along the beach, warm tropical water, the list goes on. Well done Le Verandah!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HG from Sydney

Amazing experience

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Had the most amazing, relaxing time. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony from USA

Such a wonderful atmosphere & friendly staffs

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wanted to take my gf to a getaway place and since phu quoc was near our area, we decided to travel here. We stayed at Chen sea hotel and I must say La veranda is by far a better place to stay. Not only are the staff and the ambiance are better then Chen sea, but the food is amazing @ a very reasonable price. The staffs are friendly and ao helpful. They make our stay so pleasant. This is actually my first review for any Hotel only because I think they deserve the credit. A must visit Hotel. P.s Their welcome drink is truly one of a kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

xxxx

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Gorgeous hotel and grounds. Did have construction but gave discounts for spa. Great spa facility. Staff very friendly. Food outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Vancourver

Nice and cozy, one of the best resort on island

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Food and beach view.
Cons: Staff langugage need to improve, SPA facilities and service
Location: A slightly far to night market, but it still convenience to get taxi to anywhere from resort.
The hotel is nice and tiny. We stay there for 4 nights. Overall are good, except the communication is a concern, the tour desk reception was barely understand english which caused wrong trip arrangement for us. Since the island is still under developing and not much activities, instead we were more enjoyed leisure time at hotel. But the SPA was not as good as we expected. The lady was using a very disgusting and rough sponge to clear my face, it hurt my face, and the facial product is not worth to buy. I was freak out to not going there for rest of my trip (though I was planning to attempt differ treatment, but I gave up). Beside of above, I will highly recommend to arrange a fine dining at hotel, all F&B are perfect and valuable. B/F are perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Very nice hotel, lovely food

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We love almost everything about La Veranda. We were surprised by its small size, but that didn't affect much. The food is absolutely nice. The best breakfast buffet we ever had in all the 5 star resorts we have tried in Vietnam. The only thing that didn't work so well for us is how non-children friendly this place is. Whrnever our toddler needs a diaper change, we had to go back to our room todo that. Oncemy husband wanted to throw something away, and apparently the male bathroom only had a basket for dirty hand towels, so it was qute inconvenient. But all that was minor compared to our positive experience at La Veranda. We definitelyhope to come back once our kid grew up a little.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brent from United Kingdom

Close to Perfect!

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I came here for 6 nights and it was splendid. The staff was incredibly hospitable and went well out of the way to add some great touches (roses, wine, candles) to our room as it was an anniversary celebration for us. The grounds of the hotel were the nicest we saw on the island and we enjoyed a nice dip in the pool and ocean a few times per day. A few other points...the staff do a good job of keeping the beach clean and some other places do not, Rory's is a good bar next door that does 1/2 priced mojitos for happy hour and reasonably priced food/drinks, we had read some comments that the pool was small and we didn't find this to be the case, the surrounding area is what you'd expect on an island that is developing its tourism infrastructure in that there are lot's of mom/pop shops and restaurants, the cab ride to our dinner usually ran 35k VND ($1.75 USD each way) so very reasonable, Long Beach is nice but not the sort of postcard tropical beach like Sao or Dai, we enjoyed the access to the ping pong table and board games that were in the verandah/lounge area overlooking the ocean....great way to spend some time when it was raining...there weren't many downsides to this hotel and I'd definitely recommend it to friends/family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ben from Brisbane

Great resort

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: The quality of everything, the service. The food was consistent and of the highest quality if expensive by Vietnam standards.
Cons: The resort is a hard place to leave. You can feel a bit disconnected from what is going on in the rest of the island
Location: Phu Quoc is an unusual place. Amazing natural beauty. Changing very rapidly with the construction of a lot of resorts, roads
This is an amazing resort very high standards. Exceptional service they made a real effort. We went in the off season - it was very good value.