Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Brighton & Hove UK

GOOD CENTRAL; LOCATION AND BREAKFAST

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Central location
Location: Central location close to Av. Santa Caterina and The Majestic Cafe. An easy stroll (down) to the Ribeira and its interesting mix of cafes and bars.
I booked this hotel for an independent city break, travelling solo. Hotel was comfortable, room and bathroom clean and fresh, staff very friendly and well informed and the breakfast was plentiful. Some building work going on in the square so not such a pleasant outlook but quiet and all in all a good budget hotel for a short stay. An easy metro ride from the airport to Bolhao station a five minute walk away, €1.85 each way, a bargain!
3 out of 5
by Professional from Australia

Simple with a great view

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Getting out and having breakfast next door. Same food, half the price. Balcony was a bonus overlooking the main square.
Cons: reception staff misinformation, rudeness and impatience.
Location: Location close to public transport, shopping and historical sites.
I loved Porto, the town was a joy to behold, the food a delight. Many historical locations to enjoy. However, upon arrival I was treated abruptly by the male receptionist, no assistance was offered with my luggage, directions were relayed curtly and information unclear or very limited. Male receptionist was impatient and unfriendly. Reception staff did not know how to phone for a taxi, they asked me for the taxi number. Unfamiliar with key locations in the town. I am sure the room I received was not what I booked. I had a single bed, not double, very small, no other facilities in the room. It was clean and serviced daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by tony from malta

greatlocation

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excelsnt
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julian from Weatern Australia

Good Value

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were very happy with our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

just OK

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is good for taking the tour buses and for walking through the historic centre. However, the beds needs replacing. Every small movement, of my head for instance, during the night produced sounds as the bedsprings readjusted, which was of course not conducive to a good night's sleep. The view was of street people sleeping in blankets directly across from my window. There was the smell of oil/food in the bathroom which was strange and I could only think that maybe it was directly above a kitchen on the main floor. Bathroom really needs to be renovated. Also, my one evening was noisy with traffic and people going by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

central location, a bit noisy

Posted May 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice hotel and great value. the main square is lively and walking distance to bridge to river side and shopping, good restaurants
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Arun NR

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharon

Excellent location in the old town

Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very convenient to pedestrian shopping area as well as public transportation. Not a place to take a car. Good location for walkers and those who wish to see the historic aspects of the city. Hotel staff very professional, buffet breakfast more than adequate. Very quiet rooms in older hotel which underwent renovations, Everything worked!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JudithL

Value for money in good location

Posted May 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff helpful, quiet room at back of hotel, tea and coffee making which is a bonus in Portugal. The breakfast was adequate but air con in room hardly effective causing a pretty uncomfortable stay.Found the location useful for hop on buses, restaurants etc but the building opposite the hotel...could have been an old department store, has graffitti all over it and is an eyesore which spoils the square and the ambience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by P Davies

ideal location

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
This did exactly what it said on the label! The staff were so helpful and the the hotel was very clean. The bedroom was not enormous, but had everything that we needed for our stay and the bed was comfortable. There was a good choice at the self service breakfast. We could walk to many of the sights that we wanted to see and the metro was a short walk away if we wanted to venture further afield. We would definitely use this hotel if we return to Porto.