Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and peaceful stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: I liked the resort atmosphere, the food and the friendly staff.
Location: Great location, not far from Muri beach. Food mart located 5 minutes walk away and bus station right outside. Great location.
My partner and I recently stayed at Palm Grove beach resort and we had such a great time. We booked a beach front bungalow, the view and location was amazing it was just as i imagined a Island getaway to be like. The bed was so comfortable I really had the best nights sleep during my stay. All the essentials are tucked away in the rooms, a food mart is located about 5 minutes walk away so if you do decide to use the kitchen facilities you are more than welcome to do so. However the food at the resort restaurant was so beautiful we dined there most of the time. I highly recommend the Raro prawns they were absolutely yummy! All of the staff are so friendly and always smiling. I enjoyed my stay at Palm grove I am definitely going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Denise from Gold Coast, Qld, Australia

Peace and quite in Paradise

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: the bathroom cleaning in our bungalow was a bit slack. My husband cleaned out the drain in our shower as water wouldnt drain away
Location: Location is excellent. Restaurants are in walking distance, the bus stops right outside the complex. Supermarket just down the road
Our stay at Palm Grove was just what the doctor ordered. Peace and quite, relaxing and just beautiful. We arrived early on Saturday morning so we thought we would just drop our bags off at Palm Grove and then jump on the bus into the markets until we checked in at 12.00. But no we got checked in straight away even though our bungalow wasnt ready we were able to drop our bags off there, get changed and then got ushered off to have a beautiful breakfast which wasnt expected. Then Joanne organized for the car rental people to come down and pick us up so we could get a car. Which we thought we would have to wait till Monday to organize. Everything was done so efficiently. It was great we were organized in no time. All the staff were just lovely. We stayed for 6 nights and absolutely enjoyed everyone of them. Maybe the only thing was the roosters going off at all hours but really the sound of the ocean knocking at our door every night was just beautiful, relaxing and put as too sleep every night. Our bungalow wasnt quite what we thought it was going to be as we had trees between as and the beach ! And we didnt get the sun but we still had a lovely view of the ocean and the privacy was wonderful. We enjoyed our included breakfasts each morning. The staff were always very happy, helpful and we could have a laugh with them. For a 3.5 star complex we felt it was very well priced and would stay here again. If you want a relaxed laid back friendly place to stay Palm Grove is perfect !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from stratford N.Z.

We had a garden view room lovely and quiet.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: pool and sea and food.
Cons: stop the dog taking footwear.
Loved the pool and the snorkelling where the gear was supplied.The restaurant served great evening meals.Joanne in reception so helpful and friendly.Best 4 days of relaxation.
3 out of 5
by Rae from New Zealand

Beautiful view - not so beautiful room.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The view and beach access.
Cons: Full refit and update of these rooms. A daily slip of paper pushed under the door telling us the weather an what was on. SKY tv in room.
Location: Swim, snorkel, kayak the usual via the accommodation. The rest was left up to the individual to find out and organize or read about.
When we arrived, our room (a Matenga)was pointed out further down the road, (about 60 metres). The entrance was a hole in the hedge. The room was very dated. The shower door needed a good scrub. Ants dust fell out onto the floor below the oven and was as thick as sawdust. The 'white' face flannels were off white. We stayed 7 nights and it did not appear the sheets were changed once. Some of the staff were very off hand, and sometimes did not even get up off a chair to take our order for breakfast as we walked into the Restaurant. This was not our first visit to Rarotonga, and we paid almost twice as much this time and were very disappointed. I would also like to add, we have travelled to China, Hawaii, Mexico, North America, Bali, Australia, Fiji, South America and Australia many times and stayed in different accommodation each time and not felt like this about the stay. The positive was the view, and the beach access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Qld, Australia

Great wedding Venue

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Envy thing from incredible Staff and their service.
Cons: A late model coffee machine, the internet should be usable at all rooms and upgraded washing machine.
Location: The wedding we attended was conveniently located and everyone found their way around easily. The tour buses picked up and dropped off right there.
Our kids planned their wedding at the palm grove on the beach and our booking the place at the venue made envy thing easy. The Staff made everything so awesome for envy one there, nothing was a problem and they went over and beyond their job descriptions to see we were taken care of. Very amazing people to ensure our holiday was just that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Happy with everything!

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really good spot away from mainstream tourist area . Have private beach to you're selves with great snorkelling just steps away. Got upgraded to beachfront studio which was great. Good rates compared to other mainstream areas. Happy team that is always happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing, close to beach.
Cons: Office staff could be friendly. More information regarding drivers lience information.
Location: Location excellent to activities on the Island
Very relaxing. A dog took a shoe and chewed it up. Would like warning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tony from sydney

Nice hotel and great beach. Great for kids too!

Posted Feb 8, 2014
We had a great time and would love to go back again. the only disappointment was that there was no dvd player in the room so nights were a bit borring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Texas

House vs Bungalow

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Accommodations and scooter rentals were great. I don't recommend walking or bicycling the island. Outstanding food (5 stars).
Cons: The hotel and restaurant staff could have been friendlier and more attentive. At times it felt as if they just wanted us to go away.
Location: Hotel location is perfect. It's centered on the south side of the island with perfect waters in the lagoon for snorkeling. Awesome diving!
I stayed in house number G1 with my son instead of one of the nearby beach bungalows. The house was adjacent to the hotel's Yellow Hibiscus Restaurant and Bar. The house was fantastic and included a full kitchen, queen-sized bed, and a single bed, small living room, and a back porch. There was also a spacious bathroom with hot water. It's my understanding that the bungalows only have cold water while house G1 has a dedicated water heater. The beach was less than 75 yards away and in plain sight from the house. The food was absolutely fantastic. I've stayed at 5-star hotels that didn't serve food this tasty and nicely prepared. The restaurant staff weren't as friendly as I had expected but then I suppose this can be a problem when tourism is 99.9% of the island's economy.....any staff can get tired of the people they're supposed to be serving. The hotel is located on the south side of the island and the waters are perfect for snorkeling with a large and varied population of fish in the lagoon to include a 3-foot moray eel that my son and I found. There are several dive shops in the area that not only conduct certification classes but also host dives in the area. If you're a diver, be sure to dive the Papua Passage....simply gorgeous and filled with several tunnels that are easily negotiated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mario from Auckland, AKL

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Fantastic quiet and family friendly beach, free drinks on Friday happy hour
Cons: Range of foods available at restaurant and value for money
Location: Snorkeling off beach, kayaking, buying grocery supplies from Wigmore's, relaxing at the pool