Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Renton, WA

Very nice smaller Hotel!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Beach, friendly staff, convenience, jungle in the middle of the hotel, nicely maintained grounds.
Cons: Food in the Mexican grill, sound insulation is not great so late at night you can hear loud people that had a few too many drinks.
Location: On the very nice beach, close walk to town, parasailing, snorkeling, kayaking, Mayan ruins park very close by.
Very nice setting, beach is steps away, great staff! Rooms are clean and nice! Lot's of food and drink choices. The only disappointment was Mexican Grill restaurant, food was not very good, Italian restaurant was very good. Very friendly staff and short walk to town to all the shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

Ok hotell men usel eventpersonal

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Maten var helt okej! Det var ändå ett fint hotell i djungeln. Poolerna var iskalla med det kunde va skönt. Eventpersonalen var dock riktigt dålig. Pinsamma shower, altivkteterna blev sällan av, de ville mest t.ex spela volleyboll med varandra snarare än gästerna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but they try to sell you a timeshare

Posted Dec 13, 2014
As soon as you check in they try to sell you a timeshare and it can get a little annoying. But the hotel was beautiful, nice clean beaches and a great staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel pequeño personal muy amable, playa estupenda

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: los senderos y la amabilidad del personal en general
Cons: snacks, música, habitaciones, mas sombrillas en playa
lindos senderos y jardines, a las habitaciones les hace falta mantenimiento y modernizarlas, aunque la comida es buena, se agradece menú nacional, podrían cambiar los platillos de cada día, las bebidas son muy buenas; recomendaría cambiar la música ambiental del restaurante, es aburrida, es mejor la del lounge de la zona platino y el boticelli con esa estupenda vista deberían aprovecharlo para desayunos también. podrían climatizar una alberca para los días nublados.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Loved the jungle/tropical vibe surrounding the pathways! Pools were very clean and the beach access was super close and convenient! Would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Rustic luxury?

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Let me start of by saying that I do not usually write reviews, but our poor experience with The Reef may save someone else some heart ache so here goes. My wife and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. It was not at all we were expecting. We have stayed at other hotels in Mexico, including Cancun and Cabo. This was by far the worst when it came to the room. The grounds are immaculate, the staff overall is friendly, the rooms are sparse, the beds are extremely hard (I like a firm mattress, but these were ridiculously firm), the food was sub par, and the drinks were hit and miss. Our room was not ready upon our arrival, 2 1/2 hours after check-in time. When we finally got to our room it was not what we had paid for. We paid for the premium package which was to include a king bed, this room had two double beds, a double does not work very well for my wife and I, we are both tall. I spoke with the front desk and explained the situation, they were unable to move us the first night, I tried to explain that that is what a reservation is for, to "reserve" the room. They informed me that they do not guarantee a king bed....etc., etc. when I booked the room, Expedia had about 6 different options and the one I selected only had a king bed as the bedding. they have since changed their website and they now list only three choices, all with a king or double. I specifically chose this hotel because they had a king only option. If you want an all-inclusive Hotel 6, then book now.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Not terrible

Posted Nov 27, 2014
We spent four days the week leading up to thanksgiving at the resort. The water was beautiful and the weather was nice. The resort seemed a little older and wasnt very big. There were two pools, but one had scuba practice every day. So that leaves one pool that has a bar and a shallow children's area right by each other. I didnt have my children, but I would have been disappointed if I had. The walkways seemed a little treacherous for children as well. They always seemed slippery. The staff was wonderful and I thought the food was too. The nightlife was pretty quiet on the resort. It wasnt a problem with us. We had a group and we made our own party. You might have to leave the resort if you cant entertain yourself at night. If you wanna hang out on a quiet, beautiful beach with friendly people and leave your kids at home, this place is for you. On the plus side of a smaller resort was the fact that I really got to know some neat from all over the world.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom DF

Las habitaciones pésimas, y el restaurante igual

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Las habitación estaba sucia los muebles viejos y ya muy gastados, la comida era la que sobraba del desayuno o día anterior y lo peor es que es el primer hotel en donde hay que esperar hasta 15 minutos en que te asignen mesa en el restaurante ya que es insuficiente para el número de huéspedes y lo peor es que cuando logramos pasar lo que quedaba en el menú del bufet era charolas vacías
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom lasalle

Quiet, low key resort

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: the location and beach
Cons: the food
Location: location was great! Fifth Ave perfect walking distance
First off this resort is definitely a 3 star, so don't expect anything more. The resort is very small, there is no night life. If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway with no young party goers this is the place for you. The beach is by far the best around! Quiet and clean. It's about a 15-20 min walk to downtown 5th ave. we walked both the street and the beach. Food I would have to say was mediocre. The buffet restaurant was hit and miss. The two fancy restaurants were very good, but they need at least one more, because switching from one to the other got old fast. We upgraded and got the premiere room and bracelet, I would def say it was worth it. Nicco's bar was always fun and drinks were great! The employees were very pleasant especially, Willy at the front that helps out with the bags. Lucio at the pool bar was terrific! Orlando and Victor at Nicco's made awesome drinks and were very friendly. We might try another resort next time but we also would come back to The Reef, because of the wonderful beach, location and the great employees we got to know!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: bathroom
Location: we were happy to be able to walk into town
it was good they moved our room after one day the bath room was not nice ....the new room was fine we were happy with the hotel