Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Nice hotel, very close to beach

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Web
Cons: Less birds in the buffet restaurant, cleaner upper pool.
Pros:Staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean. Our room was excellent with a nice view. Cons: pool with the bar attached wasn't kept clean as well as it should have been. all & all good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Over all our stay at the reef was an enjoyable one. The grounds on the resort are well maintained and very lovely. The rooms are older but clean and simple. the staff was friendly, but weren't very informed about what was going on around the resort. The food was good at all three restaurants.the pools are nice and stay open later than other resorts we have visted.I would recommend this resort if your looking for a reasonable priced vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Posted Sep 5, 2014
It is a small hotel and very tiny pools, no variation in the foods.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I had a vas expericen with a person who got stick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice View, but not worth the stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The beautiful view
Cons: The sales people at the resort were also pushy & arrogant. The food was also blend & very repetitive. There is NO AC in the restaurants!!!!
When we first arrived at the room we proceeded to unpack & the room was extremely hot. I turned down the AC, but to my surprise the fan was broken. I immediately went to the front desk & advised about the problem. They told me I had not flipped 1 of switches correctly. I told them that was not the case & a maintenance man was sent to our room. The fan finally started to work, but it did not have enough power to generate a nice breeze. We left for several hours & upon our arrival I noticed the room was not cold. I turned down the AC to the lowest setting & after taking a cold shower we started to get ready for bed. Upon lifting the covers from the bed, we discovered several pieces of hair from various parts of the human body on the sheets. By that time it was already too late to call housekeeping, considering that this hotel does not even have room service. The next day I went to the front desk & I was assured the problem would be fixed. Several hours later we returned to our room & housekeeping had been there, however there were still 2 pieces of someone’s hair on the sheets. The new pillow cases also had orange stains. I went back to the front desk a 2nd time with pictures & I explained my problem to another person. I was assured the problem would be taken care of. After enjoying our time at the beach we went back to the room & the dirty sheets were still there. I went to the front desk for a 3rd time, talked to a manager & the sheets were finally changed to our satisfaction
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from frisco tx

Nice hotel but a few dislikes

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Hotel was nice and staff was wonderful! Food was excellent and beach was beautiful. Close to 5th street so lots to do! Dislikes: no beer in mini ridge in room (not that big of a deal) no waiters on the beach so prepare to walk to bar each time, no shuttle to and from airport so you have to pay a taxi which is not cheap. The final complaint which was the worst to me and most annoying (all the other stuff I could deal with) is the constant up selling! Daily phone calls trying to get you to come to a breakfast to look at their vacation rooms, they hound you as soon as you get there after you having been traveling all day and just want to go unwind. We just didn't expect that at our hotel but other than those few things everything was great and my 5 year old had a blast! It is a good hotel for the price but beware of all the extras but I guess that's why they are cheaper. Overall a great visit:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Reef Playacar Best Day Travel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Playa del Carmon's 5th avenue....also a little shopping district 10 minutes south of Reef on main road
Our 2nd stay at the Reef Playacar (1st when it was the Reef Club) was wonderful thanks to their great Staff....upgrading options allowed us to enjoy unlimited beverage, restaurant choices...room with ocean veiw including safe,coffee,stocked refrigerator....buffet at the Chulavista was great...food at restaurants Terraza Boticelli was fantastic. ..We used Best Day Travel for transfers got us from to the airport without a hitch courteous drivers Jose their rep at the hotel made sure things went smooth...We had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cons: more variety in buffets.
My wife and I stayed for one week and had a wonderful time. The food was good but could use more variety. staff was friendly and helpful. We liked that it wasn't a big complex, easy to get around. It's nice that it's so close to 5th ave. especially if you like more of a night life. we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, Michigan

Nice hotel but feel ripped off

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I paid all inclusive and didn't get a wet bar refill, I got a coffee maker and was never brought coffee. The reef hotel blamed Expedia. I paid the high price for nothing. My flight home was diverted took six hours instead of four. I think I need some sort of refund or at least half because I only got half the amenities.. they have me a coffee pot with no coffee all five days, no iron, rooms musty smelling. I was there. They just gave me the run around and blamed Expedia. I ask the concierge he blamed Expedia. Who do I send my complaint asking for some sort of credit or partial refund. They swear its your fault. Because I booked through you and nut them. Business relations between the two companies need work. Alot of it.Totally unacceptable. Will not use Expedia again nor plan a trip through them. Not very customer oriented we were there to just relax not party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from commack, NY

Family Fun!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We had a great experience with lots of food and drinks!