Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boulder, CO

Loved Reef Playacar

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: I loved the proximity to Playa Del Carmen. We borrowed bikes one day to ride to town, and walked the beach 15 minutes another. The staff is great!
Cons: Maybe leaving the pool bar open later. Stop with the timeshare push. No one really likes that. Even though Abraham and Luis were so awesome & nice.
Location: So much to do. $7USD cab, 15 min walk on the beach, or 5 min bike ride to town. Plenty of tour options too, but I have done all those in the past.
This is a great alternative to the MASSIVE all inclusives that require golf carts to get around. I love that you get the jungle feel around the rooms and the expansive beach/sea view from the pools, buffet, and lounging areas. The staff here are super friendly. I have to say that I think the people that complain are probably the same people that treat the staff poorly and want the Waldorf experience at the Hilton price. I am from Boulder, CO and I would go back to the Reef. I loved sitting by the ice cream parlor and the afternoon coffee bar, enjoying the lush gardens and waterfalls. I really enjoyed the food... And I am a self proclaimed foodie. The Italian restaurant was my favorite, ordering the fish or beef. I didn't eat pasta. ;). It's nice to not have to make reservations for the nicer dinner spots. The buffet is great for breakfast and dinner. The snack bar is great for late night tacos, although I would not suggest the wings. I was never hungry. I would suggest splurging for the upgrade bands for the beachside bar and better liquors. Again, I know that all inclusive says that tips are included, but don't be a cheapskate on vacation. If you tip, you will get very nice pours of whatever liquor you want. I have to wonder about the people that complained that they didn't have what they wanted. Maybe they were really drunk or really rude?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Muy agradable, bonito y tranquilo

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Es un hotel que da mucha paz, tranquilidad, no hay mucha gente, son pocas habitaciones y eso me gusta, parece un bosque por los árboles, la cascada y los animales que tienen, se los recomiendo mucho, ya es la cuarta ves que voy y sin duda regresaría de nuevo.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ardolli ny, new york

Nice hotel put very pushie to up grade you

Posted Jan 11, 2015
From the moment we checked in the concierge sat us down to tell us about the resort immediatly tells us that we cant go into one of the resturants or use one of the bars on the beach... you have to pay 15 dollars a day and told us we bought the cheap package ? Meanwhile there was no option for other packages online but the persuad people to pay extra when arriving i guess! But overall a great expirience but never going back. Staff was great and friendly!! Only ate breakfest so dont know how dinner was because we ate at 5th ave everynight!! 5 min away with taxi !! Room was nice and so was the beach and pool !! Again staff was great but they want to get more money once arrival !! Be aware of that cuz i wasnt!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mexico city

Nothing its what they say

Posted Jan 10, 2015
At the moment, all change al conditions are manipulated by the hotel. The food is terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

very nice stay !

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Cons: the smell of humidity in the room
Location: very nice location
very nice staff.... good food.. drinks are OK the pool is beautiful ,the towels for the pool always available and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom memphis

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The jungle feel
Cons: Rooms need updating
The room was in need of a makeover. There were dirty dishes that sat outside the next rooms door during our stay. The Italian restauarant was hot but the food was ok. Lucy and our server were very attentive but the salad bar was not restocked in a timely manner and everything was empty. During breakfast the next morning we had to ask for coffee several times and finally gave up. Bloody Mary's were not available until 10am. This hotel needs sprucing up and the service needs to kick it up a notch. However, the front desk staff was excellent and checked us in quickly even though our reservation was made last minute and they had not received the info from Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
courteous staff,good food ,great beach,good time,have been there 3 times now,would go again tomorrow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom france

sejour parfait

Posted Dec 23, 2014
personnel et cadre parfait a taille humaine et surtout beaucoup de vegetation comme cetait dit. plage tres jolie
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wi

Nice, for the price

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Overall it was nice. Our room was 911. It is not one of the remodeled. It had a view of spa and Mexican resturant. It is rather noisy in the morning, it starts at about 6 am. The employee closet and walk way is right there. The safe does not work in this room. It was included in the package we purchased. Let them know about it and nothing was done. Now onto the rest of the resort. Food was good. Never had a problem finding something to eat. Drinks, no problem there either( we had the premium package), never ran out of anything. And plenty of booze in the drinks. Our complaints,the whirlpool needs to be fixed. No jets. Mine as well sit in the bath tub. At least your not sitting in someone else's germs. The pools are way too cold. No wonder there's never anyone at the swim up bar. Drink service on the beach would be nice. And just some general maintenance would go a long way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St-Petersburg

Nice hotel, a lot of trees, shadow

Posted Dec 22, 2014
When we arrived the hotel was not crowded and service was excellent, but closer to the Christmas holidays a lot of people arrived and we started to feel a lack of some food and service.