Ratings based on 1,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IGH, MN

Great location and a clean resort.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Location is good and the resort is clean. I enjoyed the upgraded beach bar. The drinks were great!
Cons: The food was the same thing everyday. Quality of food was not the greatest. The snack bar was pretty good though for just a little something.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to town.
This is our 2nd time here and it's a great place to stay if you want clean and good location without draining your pocket. I would recommend the upgraded bracelets, worth the upgrade for our party of 8 that likes to drink on vacation. Huberto the pool bartender was the best at making drinks and he was fast. We booked a excursion from someone on the beach called Superior but they never showed up. Don't book from beach walkers. We then booked with the travel place at the resort which was at least there to bring us on our excursion but it wasn't what we thought it was going to be. They couldn't give us a complete refund but did give us some money back which is better than nothing. If you book a excursion just be sure it's what you want and clarify it with the sales agent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mn

Hard beds

Posted Mar 16, 2015
I love the resort but the beds were extremely hard. I ended up with a sore back. I would still go back to the resort because it was a lower occupancy and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and made sure you had fun. the beach was beautiful but there was seagrass floating up the whole time we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Nice smaller resort,no waiting for anything. Close to the town area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Upon arriving the lobby was nice and the staff was friendly. After check-in we were escorted to our room which was outdated and the floors were dirty. Overall the resort is nice if you do not have high hopes. It is a smaller resort so you are never fighting for a chair at the pool or beach; even during peak times. The downfall of the pool and beach - the pool was always dirty and numerous guests had complained. The beach had so much seaweed washed up on shore that you had to pretty much walk in the water or walk way off-shore. As for the food, it was mediocre at best. The buffet served the same foods daily and often times what was leftover from dinner got served at breakfast the next day. The snack shacks food was awful and the Italian restaurants was okay. We have been to numerous other resorts and most likely would not ever go back to this one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location...hotel needs many updates.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The overall look of the hotel is beautiful, staff was great. However we didn't sleep for one night due to the constant noise. Whether it be the blaring music from the upstairs bar which stayed open until 2 am or the staff rolling carts by and doing work on the building, constant banging and other noises. Walls are paper thin so expect to hear EVERYTHING your neighbors are up to. If not for the overall condition of the rooms it would have been a great trip. Clean beaches, nice pool and great staff and those locations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Food and drinks selection not good, but facilities pool and beach area are nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The staff is extremely friendly and love to serve you
Cons: The food
Location: The food is mediocre at best
The dive shop was great, master divers very friendly and knowledgeable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UTah

Great Atmosphere Some drawbacks

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Great Beach, Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Cons: Thicker doors so you don't hear your neighbors, better wifi and more staff.
Location: Play del carmen is a short walk away, we also visited Tulum.
The resort is in a great location, you can take a walk 15 minutes into Playa del Carmen. The beach out front of the hotel was beautiful, with great waves to play in. The surf was varied some days the waves were large enough to body surf in and other days we only had small surf. The ambiance of the resort itself is different than most hotels. The center area of the resort has large trees and a cenote. The sound of the cenote fountain and the wind in the trees is very relaxing. There are several great areas to sit during the day and at night and enjoy the atmosphere. You can also watch the small wildlife run around. The room was clean and updated, I believe they had just finished remodeling the bathroom and did a nice job with the tile and fixtures. The staff was very friendly, we loved the ice cream parlor and the great service we received there. The snack bar staff and restaurant staff was always friendly. The Bartender in the lobby had was great at making a drink as well as giving you info on the best things to see and some of the local traditions. The doors on the room are very thin and we could hear our neighbors hanging out in front of our room at 6:30 in the morning as well as 1 or 2 in the morning, it made it hard to sleep and was very frustrating. The food was good but not great. There was only 2 real restaurant options unless you wanted to upgrade your wrist band for the day. There was some nickel and dimeing a nespresso from the lobby in the morning was 50 pe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
If your expecting a 5 star hotel - then this is not for you If your flexible, looking to create your own good time, easy going, looking for a property where you can kick back and just "chill". Then take a look at this property We had a great time, made friends with the staff and the other guests Had a ball and would consider going back Only 200 rooms so max amount of people would be 800. I think we only saw 300+ max for mid feb You see the same people at breakfast, beach/pool, dinner We did not go with premium drink service -- really no need to either Stay away from Juan and his HARD sell for the time share Say "Pablo" says high to the event staff and find the hardest and coolest bartender Felix!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom White Lake, MI

Beautiful Location, uncomfortable bed

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect. Staff were friendly. Beach was great.
Cons: Food could be improved a bit. Most importantly though, they need more comfortable beds!
Location: Located in the Playacar area, very secure and safe. Go into town to 5th avenue for restaurants, bars and other tourist activities.
This hotel is at a very beautiful location, located in the the Playacar area of Playa Del Carmen. In my opinion, the Playacar community is the only place to stay. Hotel was nice. Staff were very friendly. Cleaning staff did a good job. Food was pretty good, not great, but compared with other all-inclusives, I thought it was better than average. The only complaint I had was that I booked a room with a king bed, and got a room with 2 doubles. I asked to be moved, but they said there were no rooms available, so we were stuck there. Additionally the beds were very uncomfortable. But that was my only complaint. Really a beautiful place, and I would return to the same hotel.