Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal QC

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
You're in Rome...how much time do you really spend in your room? The hotel is dated, the bathroom is small and cleanliness was passable. There's a nice European breakfast that will save you about €10-15. The best part of this hotel is it's location. Literally steps away from a metro station and a nice walk gets you to every major attraction in Rome (closest attractions are the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps). For us location was everything and it is why we left happy. If you're first-timers in Rome and coming from Fiumicino I would highly recommend the taxi offered by the hotel from the airport. A little pricey at €60 but I can't imagine paying less in a city cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Friendly beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Wonderful hotel within easy walking distance of the city center and close to the Metro station. My room was beautiful and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Safe for a female traveling alone. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry, England

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly and efficient staff and clealiness
Cons: Some of the fittings, more selection at breakfast
Location: see main review
My wife and I are very fond of the Alexandra, OK so the furniture looks as if was collected in a series of house clearance sales, the bathroom equipment doesn't always work and the breakfasts are probably no better than adequate. But the hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice TV lounge and 2 computers with internet, the brilliant Alex Cafe is outside the front door and you can get discount vouchers from reception. Best of all it is located in the leafy Via Veneto among wonderful restaurants, bars and coffee shops, the metro is less than a minute away and if you are clever enough to understand the routes and timetables I think you can get to anywhere in Rome from the local bus stops, and of course you can walk to most of the famous attractions. I think this hotel will always be our first choice when visiting Rome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jordan

overrated hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: location, breakfast
Cons: rooms, staff
Location: spanish steps and trevi fountain
the location of the hotel is great although its noisy since there is a lot of traffic outside and the rooms in the pictures look much more better than it is, the staff are not very friendly. although the breakfast was good and the hotel facilities is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lily from Scotland

Great location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Could not fault hotel, room was very clean and nicely decorated, staff were efficient and friendly and hotel was in a great location, as soon as we arrived we were given a map with all the main attractions. Would most definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel close to shops and attractions.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The excellent location, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Our room was a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate.
Location: The hotel is within easy walking distance of a number of attractions, restaurants and shops.
The hotel is very well situated for all the main tourist attractions. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the rooms clean and well-appointed, and the breakfasts were fresh and varied. It was close to a large number of different types of eating places. I would recommend it to a friend, and would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Bully from new york

This hotel is great

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: I enjoy the continental treatment in the morning
Cons: Not at this time
Location: You can take the subway and the tour bus the museums are also near by
Hotel Alexandra is the best for me I hard a great time staying this hotel also it,s within close proximity to Most museums in the Roma area and the subway station and tour bus. Hotel Alexandra is to the top of my list for my next hotel stay on my return to Roma.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shawn White from Honolulu

Centrally located in great neighborhood

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Alexandra staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on Via Vittorio Veneto, within walking distance of the Spanish steps, the Villa Borghese, Roma Termini, and Trevi Fountain. A little further afield can be easily reached by walking, or a half a block from the hotel is the Metro (B line) which connects to Roma Termini. My room was quiet overlooking an internal courtyard. The bed was very firm (which I love).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Sussex

Excellent location.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
One minute walk from the metro which was really handy. Really close to Spanish steps and trevi fountain.Lovely staff. Breakfast was great if you love sweet things. Loads of different cakes. Also eggs and frankfurters. Overlooked the road but was really quiet.Our only complaint was that our room was small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GrandKat from Asheville, NC

Great location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: This is the second time I have stayed at the Alexandra. They now have a new elevator! The staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive.
Cons: One night when we returned, the hall lights were turned off on the fourth floor, probably on a timer to conserve energy. We had flashlights.
We walked all over the area from this central location. We took the Metro back from the Vatican and from the Forum. Very easy and the Metro stop is right in front of the hotel.