Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boardman, Oh

It was a nice location and close to all sites.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The location was great and the little entertainment offerings, on site, were great for the kids.
Cons: Stated above-update the cars and clean all of the carpets. The air conditioning did not travel well back to the bunk areas.
Location: Everything is available on the way to Rt 30 and on Rt 30-plenty to do.
We used your facility several years ago and were very pleased. Your staff was very pleasant but the rooms need to be cleaned thoroughly, especially the carpets. The carpets are in dire need of being cleaned and the rooms need to be updated. I used to go through the sample car, many years ago, and always wanted to stay there and we did, overnight, years ago and found it pleasing. The location is pleasing but I wouldn't stay again unless I knew that the carpets were cleaned thoroughly and the cars were updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Kids would love it.......

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It was different from all the rest and very homey feeling set on someone's farm.
Cons: Fresher air in the gift shop, but their working on it.
Location: In the heart of Amish country, could eat and watch the buggies go by, with the Strasburg Railroad within sight. Lots to see and do.
Check in is late 3:00 and its not a fancy hotel. But it is unique...Every train car is different. Nothing fancy inside but clean and comfortable. We had two full beds with a small bathroom in between. Usual frig & micro. A tv for each bed. Was a very relaxing place and great for kids. The restaurant is a train dining car and good food and service. Shofly pie is a winner. If your looking for a 5 star, this is not it. But if your looking for something the kids will absolutely love, this is it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Nice with people into trains

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Great location and you're actually in a real caboose
Cons: Inside of caboose is old, could use some updating, really expensive to stay there, especially when compared to cheaper hotels with wifi/breakfasts inc
Location: Strasbourg RR goes right next to it. Dutch Wonderland is no more than 15 mins away. Quiet, nestled in farm country.
Great for a family with young kids into trains. Old cabooses so don't expect a lot of space or updates. Comfy beds. Close to so much! Kids play areas are nice. Petting zoo is ok but lacking attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, MD

Red Caboose

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: It's Setting.
Location: This is on the outskirts of Lancaster, just around the corner from the Strasburg railroad and the PA railroad museum. We took a "lunch" train.
This was a nice hotel in a lovely setting. My grandson loved all the extras on site. The playground, the petting zoo and the outdoor movie each night were the biggest hit. The Caboose rooms we comfortable, my only complaint is the size of the bathrooms. It is peaceful and quite at night. This is a great place for families. The restaurant is great and serves home cooked meals. Every one who works there is friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing place

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Information about this place
Bad experience, for a family with kids. The place was not what we expected at all. I think you need to put more information in the advertisement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Nice experience and close to main road

Posted May 22, 2014
Staying at a caboose motel was a first for us. Very interesting, different, and cozy. We got two queen size beds, each in a separate room, and 2 bunk beds... It seems far from everything but in reality, you're 5 mins from the main road. I was bummed that there was no trash can in the bathroom... Had to walk all the way by the front entrance to throw anything away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by becky from mays landing, nj

Great experience with young kids

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My kids are 1, 3, and 5 and we were really happy with our choice of staying here. It was something really different and out of the ordinary. The surrounding area of just pure farmland and wide open sky as well as perfect view of the Strasburg railroad was really satisfying. Not hotel luxury but do it for something out of the ordinary. we stayed at a nice hotel one night and here one night. I recommend eating at plain and fancy which was featured on man vs. food on travel channel. this is a family style truly Pennsylvania dutch experience. also recommend verdant farms where kids can milk a cow and stuff like that. we didn't do this b/c we found out about it as we were leaving. milkings are early morn or 4pm. nice trip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chad from New Jersey

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice looking outside. Staff was nice. Nice petting zoo for the kids and cool old corn silo that u can go to the top of to view surround farms. Inside rooms were exactly what you don't want to see. Old, dirty and broken. Thankfully we only had to stay there one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by El from NJ

Red Caboose

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
My 7 year old son loved it! The room was clean, no frills though. Not the best kept up motel, for the price. The food at the restaurant was poor! It really didn't matter to us because the smile and look it my sons eyes made it all worth it. The Choo Choo Barn down the street was worth the visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annette from PGH

Fun to stay in a train!

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable enough - heaters worked well, bunks sturdy. Good location. Worth it for the novelty factor. Plus they have a restaurant in a dining car! Planning to stay here again!