Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Terrible and dishonest hotel - DO NOT STAY

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Ethics
Location: Not the best location, too far to walk to the main Fira Centre
Gianna Villa hotel is absolutely horrible. Despite having paid reservations, we arrived at the hotel at the check in time only for them to tell us that they do not have any rooms available. We had even called an hour prior to reaching the hotel for a confirmation. To top it off, they went to extreme lengths to try and hide this from us. Worst experience ever!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Worst hotel experience eer

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Change of ownership and staff
If you stay here there is a good chance they will move you to a run down hotel down the street and tell that there is something wrong with the room. The staff will blatantly lie to your face. We were told there was a plumbing issue and it would be fixed the next day. The next day it was still not fixed and when I asked to just see the room for one moment they panicked and told me no. It was clear that they had overbooked us and there were others staying in the room. We eventually did get into the room we had booked months in advance. However, the staff remained rude, unfriendly, and completely unhelpful. I highly recommend avoiding this hotel as it will for sure put a damper on your vacation as it did ours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Worst hotel experience of our entire trip.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Fire the entire staff and change ownership to someone who cares about their business.
If you stay here there is a good chance they will move you to a crummy hotel down the street and tell that there is something wrong with the room. The staff will blatantly lie to your face. We were told there was a plumbing issue and it would be fixed the next day. The next day it was still not fixed and when I asked to just see the room for one moment they panicked and told me no. It was clear that they had overbooked us and there were others staying in the room. We eventually did get into the room we had booked months in advance. However, the staff remained rude, unfriendly, and completely unhelpful. I highly recommend avoiding this hotel as it will for sure put a damper on your vacation as it did ours.
1 out of 5
by Sara from Montreal, Qc

4 stars?? According to which standards?? :/

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Hotel was not what was advertised AT ALL. Room was very small with extremely uncomfortable beds and a very small washrooms. Had we not paid so much for the room we wouldn't have been so disappointed. Pool practically overlooked a junkyard (no view of the Caldera) Was worth the price of a hostel... Not the amount of a 4 star. We paid roughly 600$ for 3 nights - never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travelsinstyle from St Albans

An excellent budget hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here in August 2013. At first we were shocked on arriving as we were expecting four star as Hotels.com and expedia had said. Its not a four star hotel, but it is a fantastically cheap, very clean hotel. The room was cleaned spotlessly each day and new towels given - toiletries aren't provided. There is A/C -which you will need - a large fridge, TV and space for your clothes. Bed was OK. Our shower was a freestanding space in the corner of the bathroom - no bathtub and makes your bathroom into a bit of a wetroom. This was fine as it was so hot it dried out so quickly. Our room was on the ground floor, I think the rooms are all different and the nicer ones on the top floor. Location is great, a 15 minute walk in heat into Fira through lovely alleyways. Quiet location, no masses of tourists outside your window - just the donkeys going past every morning and evening which was lovely. The swimming pool is lovely, used it every day. In late afternoon it is in shade though from the building. I don't see a tennis court and a playground on site. The people who run this hotel were very friendly and kind. I would contact them and ask to be picked up from the airport as we were dropped off ten minutes away by a taxi driver. If you are on a budget like we were, then I would certainly recommend - we had a great time here once we realised it wasn't 4 star and we hadn’t paid 4 star prices!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really bad

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Distance to center of town.
Cons: The staff can learn to be more accommodating and need at least one person who can speak English so they can understand international tourists.
Location: Fira town
Horrible! The staff barely understood what I was asking. They were never at the front desk even though the information says 24hr front desk service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an average room in Fira

Posted Jul 31, 2013
The location on map was not correct. The reception of the hotel doesn't look like one, more like a mini bar, and the receptionist was not there when we arrived so we kept looking for the entrance to it. He wasn't there when we wanted to check out neither, so we had to leave our key to a maid instead since we would miss our boat. It was clean but our shower was clogged. The water kept changing from scorching hot to icy cold and at some point it didn't run at all for a few minutes. We just needed it to sleep though and the location of it was perfect.
2 out of 5
by Veronica from Miami, FL, USA

Can't recommend!!

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: It's located in Fari.
Cons: Breakfast was poor!
Location: Good but no view!
Rooms have no view at all. Pictures that make you think you are going to see the ocean from there, don't believe in them. Flyes were everywere in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: The shower
Cons: The breakfast
Location: Very close to centre of town
Very Friendly and helpful staff, close to centre of town and has the most amazing shower. Breakfast doesn't have a lot of selection but as it was so cheap it didn't matter
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2012 on Hotels.com