Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Hereford, UK

Basic but functionable - good value and clean.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Easy going and friendly. Great for students or their visiting families.
Cons: A notice board with tourist information would be a very useful.
Location: Great local caf├ęs, food hall and local nail bars and small shops.
If you are an experiences traveller in China this is a good hotel. Would not recommend for a first time visitor looking for the best sight seeing spot or near to an MTR. Basic with few frills but very good value for money. The larger rooms and apartments are best, well worth the upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy with the hotel, improvements could be made

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Good location, reasonable price.
Cons: The food smell in the building
The hotel is at a convenient location, 10 minutes from the nearest metro station. Staffs are helpful. The facility is basic but OK. The improvement could be made by not allowing people to smoke in the room (there is an ash tray in each room).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

What you pay is what you get

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The renovation of the rooms is a little bit overdue. Bathroom was ok, but in the room the plaster was peeling of the walls and the laminate timber floors was also falling apart. On top of that there was some annoying smell in the room but I could not identifi what was it. Overall what you pay is what you get. Considering the price I will not complain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamesfrom Ningbo

Convenient but problems

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
If your computer runs Windows 8, don't expect to be able to use the internet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An embarrasment for Shanghai and Expedia

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Building looks fine on outside, inside hallways and rooms were in terrible shape.
Location: You can walk t Jiangsu station and taxi was rather easy to get
Really the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Having lived in China for 8+ years and travelled there for 12+ I have seen it all from 5 stars to the cheapest local hotel. At the rate I received, the location conventient to my business and knowing Longemont was involved in management I decided to try the Rayfont for my last night in Shanghai. Scary, unkept lobby, creaky slow elevator and dirty uneven hallway floors should have been a set of clues to turn around. Both rooms I looked at had water damage including holes and peeling paint on every wall. WIndows were very thin and probably the source of the water. I can honestly say it was the first time I ever felt unsafe in China. The rooms did not appear unclean if you could ingnore the peeling paint or missing tiles but really bad shape. This is not someplace you wanted to be 18, 19 or 20 floors off the ground. I went downstairs and told them no thanks and instead starting looking for a hotel at midnight in the rain. Out of some money but living for another day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Price

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Very cheap and reasonably priced hotel in Shanghai. Good location and staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Juliafrom Canada

Better to stay away

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was quite old and in dire need of renovations. Water was usually cold for showers as the water heater continuously turns itself off. Aside from the rooms being of a bigger size, there really wasn't much to appreciate. Location is not convenient for visitors travelling by transit, as the nearest Metro station is a 15 minute walk away. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by trustmejohnfrom New Zealand

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great value for money. Not glamorous but ticks all the boxes. Bit of a walk to the subway but quite central. Great coffee shop just inside the front door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com