Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not up to expectation

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Staff are friendly
Cons: The restaurant should seriously reveal the standard of their meals. Both our meals presented to us cold and the recommended steak was below standard
Location: Not much
Room was adequate but during our stay there was constructions right next door. At one stage the wall was vibrating when they were jack hammering. know this is probably out of their control but they should warn the guests about the constructions and not utilise the room.On the second night we were caught with the thunderstorms and decided to have our dinner in the hotel. The worst meals we had
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, outdoor pool

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The location and the fact that there is an outdoor pool.
Cons: Restaurant staff could be more welcoming! Rooms should be ready on arrival when getting there after 2pm.
Location: The hotel's just outside the city wall, but it doesn't take long to walk to the centre. It's also very near the station.
We had a relaxing stay, and found the hotel to be a great base for exploring Avignon. The outside pool area is nice, although not very big. We were happy with our room, but had to wait for an hour on arrival, even though it was after 2pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor ,uk

We were pleasantly surprised!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
We were not sure what to expect but it was a great find. Close ie next to the old city wall huge room lovely pool .we were going to the light show at the palais de papes so decided to eat in the hotel -best steak we had in 3 weeks in France an excellent meal .very good value hotel highly recommend.we have stayed at much more expensive hotels and not been as impressed.we wished we had been staying longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel next to the Avignon center

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The pool is great, the room are not big and well equipped and comfy.
Cons: Restaurant speed.
Location: Perfectly situated, a 2 minutes walk to the entrance of the old city.
The hotel was great except for the restaurant service. The breakfast buffet was often near empty and the food coming out the kitchen was slow. We had one dinner there and it took forever to get out food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Reliable comfort and quality

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Nice pool and (small but with Kapla building blocks) play area for son where he could chill and meet other kids. Good mix of French and English.
Cons: Speed of service in the restaurant. And fire alarm ("technical fault") at 11.30pm which was a new experience for son!
Location: Walking distance from Avignon sights. And train station, but not the TGV station which is a shuttle/taxi ride away and not many taxis so plan ahead!
Perfect for three-night stay. We spent one day at the hotel around the pool and another seeing the bridge and tourist/shopping area. Clean and attention to detail in the design which makes it look and feel special. We particularly liked the light fittings and the magic glass in the bathroom which frosted and went clear at the touch of the button. Food good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good value,excellent staff and good location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We had a comfortable week in this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. My only comment would be that the air conditioning was adequate but not very efficient and that the room sundries were not topped up very generously. We often struggled to make one cup of coffee each day. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wayne,nj

Great hotel right outside avignon wall

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We were a family of five. This Novotel was our favorite that we stayed at throughout France. The location was great right outside the wall. The kids enjoyed the pool and the kids center there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Jenison, MI

Good place for a short stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: We did not need taxi from the train station, we could walk to all attraction, and there was a pool.
Cons: Not sure
Location: The entire Avignon center can be crossed in 20 min on foot so everything is close
We chose Novotel because it is kid friendly and is located by the train station and we came to Avignon just for on night on the way from Paris to the coast. The hotel is all right but more average than great. It is by the train station so no need for taxi and it is also close to all attractions. On the other hand the same location makes it exposed to noise of trains and overall area is not as appealing as hotels located within the old city wall. The building is boring but efficient, somewhat Holiday inn style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London England

Convenience and comfort near the centre of Avignon

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Modern and comfortable hotel just outside the walls of Avignon. Free parking and avoids the one way system inside the walls. Convenient walking distance to the major attractions. Typical European breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from Debary, Fl

Nice hotel right by train station.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Due to the French train strike we didn't arrive till 11:30pm. The staff was very friendly and we were still able to get food. Right next to train station.