Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When we walked in it smelled musty.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: It was a Monday so everything was closed
Room was very small. Bathroom tiny. Restraunt has really good food It is an old Hotel. It did smell musty.
3 out of 5
by David from Minnesota

Glad to patronize small town businesses

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
this place was built in 1867. I am glad it made it through the recession and is still open and we can patronize a small town business. The lobby is so nice, the staff great. We were in room #2 in the new wing and it was a great place. I hope they can start making some money again and put it back into the place.
5 out of 5
by Amber from Drayton, ND

Quiet and relaxing.

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing B&B in a great location. For it's age it is in great shape. The staff was kind and informative. Breakfast was good. It was our first time not staying in a conventional hotel, it was a nice change of pace.
2 out of 5

Overpriced 1985 Time Capsule

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom hadn't been cleaned since the previous guest used the toilet. There were wrappers and prescription pills on the floor. The sheets on the trundle bed was really just a queen sheet folded in two. The interior was straight out of 1985. It was overpriced and dated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henning, MN

Great food, great people, a quaint little town.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: 3 restaurants!!
The restaurants were fantastice and if you like gourmet!! wow! The staff is great. Our room was so adorable! loved the stay! We will definitely go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Classic

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Just passing through .. A very historical Hotel located within walking distance of the St. Croix river. Room was small but very nice. Had appetizers at the "Current" bar. Nice breakfast included with good coffee, hot and cold choices, fruit, and more. A good value in a nice slow paced river town. Will return!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Historic inn ... needs some sprucing

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The Afton House lived up to its historic billing. The room was charming with pleasant decor. One could sense the romantic potential of the place. A few negatives detracted from the overall experience. On check in, the receptionist was pleasant, but seemed unclear on what time breakfast began. She turned to another worker to ask, and that worker said, "I work nights ... I don't know." Staff could maybe use a refresher in "Hospitality 101." The whirlpool shot out rust when the pump was engaged. Some of our towels were thin or tattered, oh ... and no bath mat -- some investment in this area could help enhance the posh potential of the property. While we understood the B&B nature of the place, having breakfast start at 9:00 (vs. say 7 or 8 AM) meant we had to forgo breakfast to get on with our day.
2 out of 5
by Pam from Cottage Grove, MN

Very dissappointed this time around.

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
We weren't able to get connected to the WiFi. The room was dusty. Could hear the noise from down stairs (reception area) in our room right above. The breakfast was not like i remember it from my last stay. The sausage was all dried out, Eggs were blah, fruit was sliced so thin that it was mushy. So we grabbed cereal witch we weren't expecting from The Afton House. We brought our friend who had never been to a B&B and we felt so bad for this being their first experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was not the best

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was horrible and bed was very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blaine

Afton House Inn

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Warm feeling
Cons: The shower was quite small in our room, but that happens in old buildings
Location: Selma's Ice Cream Parlor . and Squire House Garden are only a few blocks away. The Garden is huge and they have a nice gift shop.
Beautiful house and close to some interesting shops. You can walk to their dinner cruise which I highly recommend. The food was delicious and there was ample seating on the top deck.