Ratings based on 1,841 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and comfortable!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and affordable price. Only thing is that the internet wouldn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Worst hotel stay in my life!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Everything!!! Have fruit, eggs and sausage at breakfast! Tell your housekeeping crew to leave the freaking keys to the closet at WORK!
Location: Zoo, museums.
Stayed in this rat trap for 4 days because we were unable to get a refund! Sink was clogged, bathroom light burned out, bathtub constantly clogged, we requested a rollaway bed, and were told by front desk that the "stupid cleaning girl took the key home, so we can't get you a bed," but if she shows up tomorrow with the key, we'll let you know." THIS NEVER HAPPENED. My son slept on the floor, so thanks a lot Howard Johnson! Also, they kept saying they would have eggs and sausage, but we were there 4 days and that never happened. The only fruit was apples! Never any pastries or bagels either, and we went down to breakfast 1 1/2 - 2 hours early, and checked several times. The halls, elevators and rooms wreak do smoke, but it says non-smoking hotel. The patio door was drafty and extremely noisy, and didn't lock or close properly. Add to this screaming and noisy "hotel neighbors" who were never told to keep quiet by hotel staff, an over-crowded pool and never enough towels, and we regret choosing this hotel! You owe us a refund Howard Johnson! We are very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very understaffed

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We tried to check in 3 hours after the start of check in and we were told our rooms were not ready and we would need to wait. The phone was ringing off the hook and the line to check in kept getting longer. Finally got our 2 rooms at 6:00pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amarillo,TX

Nice Motel close to Downtown

Posted Mar 19, 2017
A good clean place to stay at a low rate. A bit old and run down though. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool. Top floor has nice view of downtown. Not far from downtown, the Zoo and Aquarium. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Room and accomidations were more than adequate considering the price. The breakfast met our needs and they let us start it at 6:00 AM instead of the regular 6:30 opening time so we could get on the road earlier. We would definitely consider staying here again if our travels took us through Albuquerque.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Old

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The staff was extremely nice and helpful, but the hotel is very old and needs a lot of improvement. Balcony door didn't close well and the traffic noise is very loud, if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs. Room was very clean, beds comfortable, and no issues with water pressure or hot water. Asked for a rollaway bed, which was delivered immediately, very comfortable as well. Breakfast not the best, but was enough for the day. It was good for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

For the price this hotel is adequate!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness, more fresh fruit options, redo parking space lines
For the price, this hotel was fine. The rooms were clean enough to be comfortable. The hotel, lobby, hallways and elevator were not as clean, yet not a deal breaker. Did not get to use the pool, but peeked in and it looked like most indoor hotel pools, just adequate. The breakfast was decent and offered hot and cold options, but know the options are limited. Hot selections included: Eggs, Hash browns, biscuits and gravy, another day was pancakes and french toast dippers. Fruits were served whole: apples and oranges. They also had the typical fare; yogurt, cereals, toast, coffee and juice. Like I said, for the price, it is a good option. Keep in mind, you usually get what you pay for. I would stay here again if my budget calls for it. I actually stayed two nights one on the front and back end of my trip. The staff on my first night greeted by a young man who was wonderful, the females were not as friendly. Location was ok and felt pretty safe, a little difficult for my navigation to find. Parking is not easy to navigate. There are many wonderful restaurants in Albuquerque and lots of activities to check out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with a nice balcony.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The balcony.
Cons: More than one washrag would be helpful.
Location: The location was OK. We were there for work, so no activities.
We were very comfortable in this hotel. It was very cheap, and the bed was comfortable. We even saw a very comical Road Runner in the parking lot!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nm

good value

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: easy location and better than expected breakfast selection
Cons: this is an older hotel so obviously an update would help, but other than an "old" smell in the hallways, the rooms seemed very reasonable.
Location: located near major streets and very close to downtown
although check in was a little disappointing (desk staff was not very friendly), everyone else seemed to be nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lordsburg, nm

Nice hotel, easy to find, great breakfast

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The beds were wonderful, great breakfast and pool
Cons: Bathroom updated, The shower was old
Location: Downtown Albuquerque
this is an older hotel, but nice. The beds were wonderful. Rooms clean, Excellent breakfast and nice pool/hot tub. We will definitely stay again. Right off the freeway so easy to find, but a little loud at night.