Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

exclusives Hotel in unmittelbarer Strandnähe

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Location: inmitten einer Golfanlage, umringt von Golfplätzen
wir haben einen wunderbaren 10tägigen Urlaub gemacht. Hatten ein sehr gutes Zimmer, allerdings gegen Aufpreis, Das Frühstück war sehr gut, der Service am Strand mit Badetüchern und Schattenplätzen war ausgezeichnet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Cut off from reality.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Not suitable if you want to 'see' local life or surroundings. Hotel staff not willing to share local knowledge with us that are not part of the golf set. Accomodation,access to beach, great. No information avaluable at hotel or locally, thank goodness for a good WiFi access.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The huge bed and the very professional and friendly staff
Cons: No tea/coffee making facilities in the room
Location: Great location, right on the beach with loads of bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Fantastic beach walks too.
Just back from 5 nights at the Dona Filipa. Couldn't fault the staff, facilities or location. We were staying in one of the older rooms but still found it to be very comfortable, quiet and with an enormous bed! We will definitely be returning. My only slight criticism would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wunderbare Strandlage, tolle Golfplätze

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Lage und Strandbereich, Golfplätze, sehr freundlicher Service
Cons: Frühstücksraum in der Hochsaison tendenziell überlaufen; Buffet könnte abwechlungsreicher sein
Location: perfekte Lage am Strand und inmitten von Golfplätzen, Ausflüge entlang der Algarve empfehlenswert
Das Dona Filipa hat als einziges Hotel eine tolle Strandlage, immer Platz im großzügigen Privatstrandbereich und deutlich verbilligte Greenfees auf eigenen Golfplätzen sind die besonderen Vorzüge, des sehr gepflegten Hotels mit schönen und geräumigen Zimmern, wir kommen immer wieder gerne hierher, Deutsche trifft man kaum, Vale do Lobo ist fest in englischer Hand
5 out of 5
by Santiago

Preocupación por los pasajeros y sus requerimiento

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Después de una mala recepción nos cambiaron a una de las habitaciones renovadas que cumplen con el standard 5 estrellas. El gerente se preocupó personalmente y nos atendieron muy bien. Muy buena atención !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants

Perfect location, nice staff, but hotel dated

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This is our 4th summer holiday at DFH. It's located very close to all VDL amenities, which is great. This year we did feel that the hotel could really do with completing the renovation work that began in 2014. The older rooms (most of them) look very old fashioned and sparse - not in keeping with 5 stars at all. The cleaning team do a great job but bathrooms in particular are showing their age and in parts mine was stained and not very pleasant. The shower was also very bad - going from hot to cold all the time. Air con in the rooms is really good. TV not good - minimal channels. And the wifi is appalling for a 5 star hotel - I gave up and used the 4g on my phone. This year for the first time we went to the hotel's beach rather than the pool area. The pool gets horribly noisy and overcrowded, and they no longer proactively offer drinks / food. The sun loungers and umbrellas look really old now. There is not enough shade. The beach is much nicer and the staff down there were lovely. Breakfast was great - and the team of staff running it also great. However we did not use the bar or hotel restaurant at all during our stay apart from breakfast. The ambience is all wrong and the menu has changed - there are more relaxed and less expensive options at the praca and elsewhere in VDL. The Primavera restaurant could be so much nicer in the evenings - it's a shame!! Overall, this is a nice hotel, but does not deserve 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Good location great for golf but not without fault

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Hotel only half renovated so ensure you don't get an old room. Facilities are tired and staff don't provide 5 star service. Great location and excellent golf discounts
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Great location, warm welcome

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Size of rooms, nice pool, on-site parking, great location
Cons: Soundproofing, more local recipes
Location: Situated in the heart of the Lobo resort, so what there is to do nearby is largely down to sunbathing. I don't play golf, but it seems this is good
This is the only hotel in the Lobo resort, close to the Praca restaurant and club area. Overall we were very impressed, although there were a number of glitches on the opening night (keys not working, fuses blown in room), and the rooms were generally too noisy from neighbouring rooms and corridors. Food was standard hotel fare, not unreasonable but not exciting either. Rooms were a good size and generally well maintained, though the hotel was advertising that a refurbishment was due, and this would certainly not be out of place. Excellent friendly staff, although I hope they would put more staff on if the hotel were busier, because they were at times pushed in what was a fairly quiet week.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Philip from Kildare

Short Stay

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very well located just minutes from the beach and a short walk from several restaurants. It has an excellent swimming pool and comfortable sun loungers. The food is of a high quality with an excellent breakfast offering a great selection and efficient and friendly service.