Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin

Hotel okay for stopover

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly
Cons: It is badly in need o refurbishment.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to appreciate the surroundings.
The check in was fine then we were escorted to the room. The room had both a single and double bed only one bedside cabinet. Tea and coffee facilities were available and plentiful. The bathroom had a bath with a hand held shower facility but not very convenient. There was a fairly large wash hand basin with good sized mirror and plenty toiletries as well as lovely clean towels. Limited car parking just room for two vehicles at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast was okay. Sleep quality was okay where the room was situated very little noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accomodation above a pub in the high street

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and welcome.
Cons: Update the bathroom.
Location: You are on the edge of the highlands so there is plenty to do if exploring beautiful country side is what you want.
Nice friendly staff, nice comfortable room, however the bath room was a bit tired, but that was not a problem for us. Our room was directly over the front swing entry doors to the pub and were very noisy, also there was a live band below until late at night. We had a late night so it was not too much of a problem and we had a good night sleep. The breakfast was very good and overall the stay was comfortable and a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Unfortunately this was the hotel's last room available. The bathroom window was broken and had been covered in black plastic. But the twin beds were comfortable. The steep stairs leading up to the accommodation were a bit treacherous as the light above was not working. The staff were all very helpful though and breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

In need of some TLC and refurbishment.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The staff, service and breakfasts.
Think this hotel has seen better days. The staff and service was very good. The room, though dated, was clean and serviced daily. The bathroom had no shower curtain so no chance of showering and the floor linoleum was cracked and worn. The breakfasts were both generous and speedily brought to table. The evening meals were good and at an acceptable price. Parking was on the road with no dedicated spaces for the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A welcoming and comfortable place to stop over

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The welcoming and very helpful staff.
Cons: The furnishings and decor are a little tired, but all I was looking for was a comfortable night.
Location: The area is popular with golfers, and I was off to learn about falconry at a nearby farm.
This was a last minute booking as I needed somewhere close to Gleneagles village to avoid a long journey to an event I was attending. Unfortunately my booking had not reached the hotel staff but they were quick to sort out the problem and showed me to a quiet twin room at the back of the hotel. Although not furnished to a high standard the room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the shower effective. I asked about dinner and it was explained that as there was a private function that evening the dining room was closed. However, if I wished I was welcome to bring in a carry-out and the bar staff would provide a plate and cutlery. This arrangement worked well and I had an unexpected Chinese meal. Breakfast was good traditional fare which I enjoyed as I never get this at home! For the price of the room I think I had very good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caithness

Overnighter

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Decent sized bed.
Location: Gleneagles on the doorstep, otherwise we were just passing through.
We needed a room at short notice. This was available and the least distance from the A9. It is easy to find. The room was fine other than the bed seemed to be small, maybe a 4 foot bed? The shower was adequate. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff helpful and pleasant. Starting to look a little frayed around the edges but we have stayed in worse places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Perfect overnight stop

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great bed and first class full scottish breakfast
Cons: Hot water pressure at sink
Used hotel for base for commonwealth games clean very comfortable bed and breakfast was superb as we're the staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

way too noisy

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: good breakfast friendly staff clean hotel
Cons: sound proof rooms since they have a pub at the ground floor. residents booked hotel for a good night sleep after a long day of travel
me and my boyfriend stayed at glendevon hotel for 2 nights before we go to TinthePark. staffs were very accommodating and friendly the place was immaculate clean and breakfast was wonderful. we had a quiet and good sleep in the first night but the second night was terrible it was too noisy because of the club\pub at the ground floor we can hear from our room the screaming,the sound of the karaoke in the pub that last until 2 in the morning then we were awaken 5am because of the noise of the delivery in the pub..we were really tired sadly not very happy with that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Wiltshire, UK

Friendly welcoming place to stay

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Lack of parking spaces
Location: Auchterarder is located between Perth and Stirling just of the A9. Beautiful senerary and the famous gleneagles golf courses right on the door step.
A very friendly hotel and a pleasant place to stay. Meals are good value for money with a sensible choice on the menu. The main factor to the stay was the friendly staff always smiling and genuine in conversation.
2 out of 5
by Tina from Derbyshire, UK

Pretty basic.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
It is what it is, basically rooms above a pub. Useful as one night stopover. Decor and shower room in desperate need of upgrading. Would rather pay more and get nicer accommodation. Auchterarder nothing to write home about.