Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

A smaller chateau in the middle of the county side

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: It's homely and shabby chic feeling
Cons: Non that we could see
Location: Five miles from the nearest main highway, by narrow roads, and a long drive to a railed off front lawn, and gravelled drive. Tranquil and delightful
We arrived after an afternoons driver from the Channel Tunnel in the early evening, to be welcomed warmly. A lovely bedroom overlooking well tended gardens with a large mown grass area, surrounded by tree stretching away into the distance. Comfortable room, with ensuite facilities, of a more mature style. After settling in and refreshing, dinner was the usual choice of three menus and a la carte, with delightful home cooking, and excellent and reasonable priced wines. We slept well after table tennis and billiards - not snooker - in the undercroft. We woke to a lovely sunny day, with a slight mist off the fields, and the sight of the donkeys in the adjoining paddock . We did not use the outside pool and gym, as we needed to move on West, but the facilities were clean, very attractive and inviting. Breakfast was the wide choice of meats, cheeses , fruit and cooked options, with pasties, rolls , confitures and yoghourts . Excellent service at a very reasonable price. We would recommend it and if in the area, revisit.
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Perfect retreat.

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
One night stop on our way south. Wonderful welcome including for our dog. Wonderful food and fabulous overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Secluded

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent continental breakfast.
Cons: Tea making facilities and fridge in room would be good.
Location: We only stayed overnight and the location is secluded.
The chateau is very secluded and feels very romantic when approaching. There were no facilities in the room for making a drink for yourself, ie: no kettle, teabags, coffee, etc and there was no fridge. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. You were limited to one bread roll for breakfast as it would have taken 10 minutes to bake another one!! The bathroom was very small and the bath was not big enough to have a bath in comfortably. The décor was good and made you feel as though you had gone back in time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relais du Silence

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Let me first say we are a couple in our Late 60's. Travel a lot, like to hike, walk new cities, socialize, a 'young' late 60's. This hotel is beautiful, the food outstanding, but please note that this is a 'Relais du silence' hotel. I never knew too look for this. It is exactly that very, very quiet. To be able to listen to the news you have to sit on top of the tv. You cannot hear it stretching out in bed. If you want quiet, this is for you. In the middle of nowhere. Again it is comfortable, clean and food was one of the best in six weeks of traveling through Europe.
4 out of 5
by john from Boston, MA

Great hotel - take note of the location

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice. However you must take note it is very far away from major cities. You will need to coordinate gas for your vehicle in advance. Most stations are only staffed starting at 08:00. Credit cards from the US may not work without an attendant to take a signature. There is also limited cellular coverage in the area. The streets are not very well lit, so drive carefully in the area.
4 out of 5
by Stanley from Denver

With going!

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Bedding could be better. A Post in bedroom makes only one side of the bed accessible. Make sure you don't get room 18
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire UK

Beautiful grand chateau in leafy Normandy

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Chateau Landel was a real find - in a quiet leafy part of Normandy. We were welcomed and made to feel like we had the place to ourselves. Lovely front terrace and aspect and enough parkland for a relaxing stroll in the sun before dinner cooked by an excellent chef - small-ish menu but some unusual choices (try the guinea fowl terrine and the roast pigeon - deliciius). The room and ensuite appointed to a high standard, v comfortable and in keeping with the period of the building. Wd certainly go again.
4 out of 5
by Linda from Woodside, CA

Country escape

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in the country. Great location for exploring the countryside from Rouen to Giverny. Great restaurant.
4 out of 5
by David from Leek

Impressive building and location

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very impressed with the location and the Chateau building itself. Parts of the hotel need a little work but you have to accept that older Chateaux are large and expensive to maintain. The room was clean and comfortable. The service and the meals were good. Most of all we enjoyed our stay and felt very welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for couples

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Nice rural location, very quiet and relaxing atmosphere
Great hotel in a quiet location. The only down side the map on expedia site has the wrong location.