Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing getaway. Can't ask for Much more.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Such a lovely time at Ventana Inn. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great adult escape

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The in-room Art of Giving class. The hot tub on the private porch. The fireplace with real wood. The afternoon wine and cheese. The beauty. The quiet.
Cons: Partly my fault, I didn't look at the distance between my room and the restaurant. It wasn't close and was hard to navigate in 4 inch heels!
Location: Who needs anything nearby? Everything you need is right there!
It was fabulous and we will definitely be back. The staff was amazing at every turn from the front desk, to the bellmen, to the pool guy, to the wait staff- all friendly, smiling and terrific. The place was immaculately kept. The food for dinner was fabulous. The room was terrific. We felt like rockstars all weekend long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor. Cal.

Big Sur getaway

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Wow. What a great experience. Everything you need, right where you need it. Subtle, but thoughtful attention to detail that enhances your comfort. Approachable, can-do staff members without having that pushy hovering vibe. Need to unplug at a beautiful adult retreat that is integrated with its natural environs? If so, look no further than Ventana! Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Big Sur with style

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything was excellent to superior.
Cons: Calling for rides to restaurant and elsewhere was sometimes a bit inconvenient, had we felt better would have walked more I suppose.
Location: Day trip down the Big Sur coast to San Simeon to see Elephant Seals or Hearst Castle is nice. Go all the way to Cambria for shopping and food.
We splurged for my 60th birthday and couldn't have been happier with the location and accommodations. The room (#1) was outstanding and very well-appointed. Never slept so well away from home. Location is right in the heart of Big Sur so there is lots to see and do, although we were both recovering from colds and didn't do the planned hiking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Gorgeous adult getaway!

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very cozy.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The hotel is in Big Sur and there is a lot of hiking available.
My husband and I went for a weekend getaway. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous, the staff helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food delicious. The outdoor hot tub was a real treat. We felt completely relaxed at the end of the weekend. Well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Ocean View

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was included, as well as wine and cheese happy hour. Japanese baths were nice!
Cons: na
Location: Hiking in Julia Pfeiffer Burns state park, Hawthorne Gallery, dinner at Post Ranch Inn.
Beautiful property with an ocean view. Service was excellent, shuttle service provided to local restaurants. Nice walking paths with trees, feels private.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Honeymoon stay

Posted Nov 12, 2015
As soon as we arrived an employee drove us straight to the reception desk, once there we were offered wine- complementary of course. The staff were super nice and polite. Our room and surrounding facilities were comfortable and clean. The restaurant was cozy and the food; just delicious. The hiking paths and hot baths were a big plus. All in all we will return. And the view of the ocean, wow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ariel from Palo Alto

Incredible place.

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
This place is simply AMAZING. If you want to have a relaxing stay in beautiful Big Sur, this is where you should go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole from Chicago

Beautiful Property

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and it was a highlight of our trip to Big Sur. We took advantage of it all. The hot baths, the views, the delicious food, the fireplace, the robes. Well, not everything, we skipped quite a few things because things like hiking took preference. I highly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel worth every cent. very relaxing

Posted Nov 5, 2015
First time in big Sur and it was a great success. Mainly because of our great stay at the ventana. Can't wait to go back