Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magical experience

Posted May 19, 2016
I travel all over and this was truly one of my favorite places. It was a magical experience worth every penny. The views, the pools, the food, the room was all incredible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Sur, California

Too Rich For My Blood

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: The physical. The room, it's furnishings, the setting. This was the first time I slept in Big Sur without a sleeping bag.
Cons: It isn't enough to bombard people with service. Good service also shows some discretion.
Location: Point Lobos State Reserve(!!!), Andrew Molera State Park, Limekiln State Park, Prewitt Ridge and Plunkett Creek campgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium.
Valet only parking. A bellman who refuses my requests to carry my own damned bag. Cluelessly managed waitstaff. For a place with so MUCH service, it'd be nice if they could set a a more comfortable balance. I'm sorry I forgot about the turn down service, but I hated returning from dinner to lights on that I specifically extinguished and all the shades drawn. At the restaurant I told the seater I was a vegetarian, but my appetizer arrived garnished with deep fried meat. The servers gave the wrong dish to me and my father EVERY time. It was such a joke that the server put my dad's coffee in the geometric middle of the table. That's a management problem. Surely, they have a bigger vocabulary than "el gabaccho viejo" (I'm 52. Dad's 80).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Great private cabin (although connecting cabins)

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location and cabin like feel. Great restaurant over looking the ocean.
Cons: Price. Pool could be warmer.
Location: Great location as far as being in a mountain environment. Restaurants and shops not far.
Great cabin experience in the heart of Big Sur. Friendly staff, beautiful views and comfy rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: The room was lovely. Yoga classes in the AM provided a good start to the day. The food is outstanding. Breakfast choices include pressed juices.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There is ample hiking in the area as well as beaches.
The surroundings are beautiful blending into the natural beauty of the area. The walk to the restaurant is wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Amazing Location and Experience. Breathtaking landscape and property and the service and spa experience is fantastic. worth every penny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in the overlooking the pacific

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: room appearance
Location: Sierra Mar restaurant, hiking, biking and viewing the pacific ocean
quiet and relaxing atmosphere with an excellent staff at night you can see all of the stars overlooking the pacific ocean the gardens are immaculate and the food was great. Wish the room had a bit more light.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fallbrook ca

been here number of times very special

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Location: go across street to post ranch for lunch or dinner
had two very good meals in restaurant able to speak with chef it is pricey but special and we will return have been here number of times this time with another couple for first time this was part of aweek of spec dinners and road trip up coast from san diego area for my 80 birthday
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and location

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location, accommodations and the staff.
Cons: Expand the equipment in the fitness room
Accommodations were even better than we hoped. The staff was amazing. The only recommendation I would make is to expand the fitness room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Better than Expected

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: The peacefulness of the entire property and the courtesy of the staff
Cons: A tour of the property amenities would have been helpful because our stay was short - pool, spa, restaurant, trail .
Location: We hike the Julia Pfeiffer National Park Ewoldsen Trail -- an absolutely incredible day.
My wife and I traveled to Big Sur from NJ for a quick getaway. The Ventana was a fabulous place to getaway- we wish we had planned to spend more time there. JR, Montclair, NJ
1 out of 5
by Victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels