Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Horrible stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
There was a problem with billing my room upon check out - they could not find my reservation (itinerary 7277902311273). Despite several requests for this to be sorted, they could not. I left them with phone number asking the billing department to call me to resolve. They did not. Instead, the billed a random card they had on my account (not the one I left at the desk as guarantee) several days later with no notification nor no copy of any invoice. Was totally surprised by this action. Then, when I called the hotel wishing to speak to someone to get a full bill etc. they took my name, number and email - still no one has called. I have never been treated with such disrespect. I will never stay at a Holiday Inn ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kettering

uncomfortable

Posted Aug 17, 2017
On arrival the check in procedure was very complicated and extras were excessively priced. £20 per day for car parking was extortionate, even when joining the IHG club gave a £5 discount per day, £15 per day is still very expensive. On entering the room we were greeted by the floor outside the bathroom being soaked. We were offered a room swap which was pleasing. The next room was better, however I found no the beds very uncomfortable and did not sleep well at all on either night. The sofa beds have to be more uncomfortable bed I have ever had laid on. On the whole for £303 for 2 nights I think this is very poor value for money. I personally will not be staying at a Holiday Inn again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Dissapointed

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Booked because it offered 2 king size beds in the room but was given 2 singles. Couldnt get through to reception on the phone had to keep going down to reception. They dont offer 2 king size beds so found this mis leading and they couldnt or wouldnt change us to two doubles. Aircon didn't work and had trouble with the wi if. Also room key only worked once so after an evening out and going to room it was back down again to reception.!! Breakfast was ok as you would expect hot buffet style but they only put small quantities of food out so constantly needed to be refilled which meant you had to dodge the staff, When the orange juice ran out it was only filled up again by about an inch. I think this needs to be redesigned so they refill from behind the counters while leaving customers clear access from the front, or put put more food out on larger serving platters. I saw one lady take around 8 rashers of bacon from a freshly put out serving dish leaving only 6 which were all taken by the next person leaving it empty and another wait ensued. Whole experience dissapointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Value for money - will be happy to return

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly, helpful and very quick.
Cons: Cleaning the windows.
While the hotel doesn`t look appealing from the outside, it has a nice, modern interior. We had a room with double bed and with a sofa bed and still left with space in the room which is always a bonus. The bathroom was really nice however a bit small. The let down side of the room was the dirty windows which spoilt the view on the seaside and lack of fridge in the room. (is it a new trend in hotels these days??)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good location.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Over all hotel was good. It was looking a little tired though and one of the lifts was faulty, Breakfast was alright. Good value for the cost. Underground car parking really useful, but at £20 a day was a bit steep, but it seems to be the norm for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Hotel was lovely but I couldn't figure out how to switch air con on
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Worst Holiday Inn experienced except hotel staff

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Rooms were not clean, toilet was clogged. Breakfast was limited
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay, close to shops, restaurants and local attractions. Very accommodating staff. We came early and it wasn't a problem. Building a bit old but doesn't affect the service and cleanliness of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by wendy

Brighton trip

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, nice clean comfortable room