Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, but needs improvements

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service, attentiveness.
Location: This hotel is in a decent part of Cairo near shops, restaurants, Pharmacy, supermarket.
I stayed at this hotel the last week in June.This hotel is in a decent part of Cairo near shops, restaurants, Pharmacy, supermarket. The check in was kind of slow due to the person behind the counter. She did not seem to have any urgency in doing her job. Once I went up to the room, I called down to the front desk to ask a question, but she did not pick up the phone, and I had to go down back to the lobby. This is bad customer service. Also, I inquired about exchanging money to Egyptian pounds, but she was not willing to assist nor did she even direct me to where I could do so. The room was very small, and while it had air conditioning, it was not effective in cooling the room, as a matter of fact, it was somewhat uncomfortable sleeping at night. Also, housekeeping staff did not replenish the room coffee/tea/water without being asked to do so. Finally, at breakfast in the morning, the waiters seem to be missing in action. Every time I went in, I had to go find someone to bring me a cup of coffee, also, while they had a small omelet station, there was no one there to make the omelets. Check out was OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo Morocco Dubai Copenhagen

Lovely location good service improvement done.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Swift service - Clean fresh rooms - comfortable beds - spacious and clean bathrooms - lovely balcony with view of the Nile
Location: Just amble about Zamalek - that's the real Egypt - easy to do excursions from here.
I have been coming to Flamenco (BTW taxi drivers understand Funduq (hotel) Falamango better :)) before and after I lived in Cairo. I have seen the service improve in the past few years. Ask for a room with a Nile view and make sure to ask for Non-smoking - if that is your preference. Staff was extremely professional and kind (this is a positive change - even from last year) I stay here and in other hotels about once a year. Breakfast is ample and delicious. Location is convenient on Zamalek. Definitely hope to return and bring guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel, but with some loose ends.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Quick facts: Good average hotel Rate: $85 nightly Pros: location in Pleasant zamalek island Cons: loose ends here'n'there The hotel is situated in the good zamalek island of cairo. The island also houses many many embassies so it's safe and the hustle and bustle is left out of the island. Less noise, crowded...etc Hotel demeanor is nice not bad, with a bar on the reception level. The staff were skillful at their work with good English and responded to our queries swiftly. The rooms were nice clean and well maintained. Some of the annoyances were, Non functional conditioning WiFi instability The housekeeping does a sloppy job of making up the rooms, Not replenishing the coffee tea plates, not cleaning the utensils, not replenishing the shampoo conditioners and other toiletries. Overall it's a good hotel and would stay there but they gotta tie the loose ends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Nice hotel in a very secure area.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanness. The staff is discreet and competent. A nice Thai restaurant is opposite the hotel.
Cons: Facilities are limited due to lack of space to expand in a very crowd area of the old city. This adds to the charm of the hotel.
Location: Visit the reasonably priced Thai restaurant right opposite the hotel. Take a walk on the banks of the Nile on the other side of the hotel.
This a very pleasant hotel in a great location in downtown Cairo close to most attractions including museums, the Nile cruise boats and major hotels in the city center. It is also located in a very secure area of old Cairo. The customer base is mostly North European and, although quite a crowded area, one can easily walk on the banks of the Nile at a 3 minutes walking distance. The upper floors have a wonderful view on the Nile on the side of the corniche. I recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value for money in Zamalek

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Good value Tasty and generous breakfast
Cons: Newer sheets would have been nice
Location: Zamalek is an area of Cairo where you can easily stroll in the streets
We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel, recommended by a friend. It definitely proved good value for money, especially for a Zamalek address by the Nile. The breakfast buffet options were diverse and tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great place with great staff. Very clean and welcoming environment. Would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: His location in Zamalek
they don't have the concept no more the knowledge of hygiene . No detergent were used to clean the bathroom. to change the sheets and the blankets we must ask them. Possible that many clients will use the same sheets and blankets Most of the time, the lifts were out of order. The A/C was working with more than 200 decibel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from egypt

Posted Oct 2, 2016
amazing hotel i like it so much so i rateed it 5 stars for the feedback amazing service ,meals and comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Only one lift is working and Internet is very weak, if it works.