Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolute gem. Incredibly hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: Decor, building, experience, the bar/lounge, mostly everything!
Cons: Slight improvements to facilities such as the shower / bathroom doors could be improved.
Location: Great location downtown
This is a stunning, old hotel. Takes you back in time. Romantic, Indiana Jones hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

metro work may be the final blow to this historic

Posted Mar 19, 2018
There are to be 2 years of major construction work in the streets nest to the Windsor and these go on all night - because that is when the metro is closed! So the general city centre street noise and calls to prayer pre dawn are drowned out by tunnel borers etcetera. Add to this the scary state the wiring, the grubbiness of the curtains and rugs, loose carpets on the stairs and antiquated plumbing and frankly, following the footsteps of some famous people may be better achieved elsewhere. Pity because the staff try hard in an old fashioned way, they just cannot fix a problem this big without a major investment: in their place I would use the two years of mayhem to renovate the place but maintain an early 19th century feel by decorative style, if I could rise the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A precious time-capsule

Posted Feb 5, 2018
This hotel is from a bygone era. It is updated just enough to make the rooms feel neat and functional but the styling is pure colonial and the service impeccable friendly. It is a true time capsule and if you value old buildings it is a gem! Ask them to connect you with Semir who will organise a guide for you. The guide Duoa which we had with George the driver was utterly perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Doss, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Tara, It was our pleasure to meet you and to have you with us. I am glad that you left with nice memories of Egypt as well as of our hotel and home one day again we will have the honour of having you with us again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, excellent value, charming history

Posted Jan 15, 2018
The Windsor Hotel in Cairo provides the budget-minded traveler with excellent value. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of the Egyptian Museum. The management and staff are gracious and helpful. The wonderful historic ambiance of the Windsor Hotel offsets the reality of it being an older structure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, Very Quaint and Affordable

Posted Jan 7, 2018
The Windsor Hotel gives you a chance to step back in time to 19th century Cairo. The staff is thoroughly charming (some wirh Ritz Carlton style, and some with Faulty Towers picadillos). The bar is nostalgic and comfortable. But the best is the location and the affordable price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Daily Life Experience

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Interesting part of the city. Difficult to find but worth the effort if you want an authentic Cairo experience. The hotel itself looks and feels like it hasn't changed much since 1893 when it was a British Officers Mess. It's like staying in a living piece of history. Nothing much has changed including the switchboard, cage elevator, mattresses and hot water system. Thank you Samir for all your help in making our trip to Cairo a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by Doss, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to welcome you at our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south africa

quaint hotel stuck in the past

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: quirky, full of history, helpful staff
Cons: make the bar/restaurant a non-smoking area
Location: busy downtown location near ezbekiah gardens
the Windsor is certainly an experience. The cage lift is wonderful, the staff are sweet and friendly and helpful. The rooms are adequate, though need serious upgrading. My big problem was the bar/restaurant area. It stank of smoke and had no "NO SMOKING" areas. smoking is a huge problem all over Egypt. Although the food in the Windsor was tasty, I found that my chest literally collapsed every time I went into the bar/restaurant area. We were due to stay there again after a break away for 10 days, but I could not bear the idea of the smoke, and made other arrangements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great hotel, the staff was excellent.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I would recommend this to those who appreciate old hotels. Also, the staff was very helpful in making our stay a great one; great advice/recommendations.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Rebekah

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has a lot of history, has been around since the late 1800's. It used to be a British officer's club, I believe, so there is some interesting history and memorabilia. If it was fixed up it could be an amazing place. But right now it hasn't been kept up too well. The air conditioner in our room could not adequately cool the room which was the main problem since my husband was sick and it was very hot out. Our room was large and clean, however. The staff were very nice and helpful. It does not have modern hotel conveniences. If you want history and charm but don't care about the rest, this is the place for you.