Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A glimpse into Cairo's Past Glory

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: It has an ambiance which has been removed from updated hotels like the old Omar Khayyam and Mena House. The staff are accommodating and wonderful.
Cons: The hotel is in the process of changing mattresses and upgrading electricity. Introducing greater access for credit card payment would be useful.
Location: For those in good health and sturdy legs, the hotel is within walking distance of the Cairo and Islamic Museums, the Nile, and Khan el-Khalili.
The Windsor is a small hotel only for those who do not require the creature comforts of a modern Western hostelery. It is located in the middle of old downtown Cairo. The elevator is the original and the bar hasn't changed much in 60 years. Food is basic but nourishing and good. The staff are a throwback to a time when Egyptians effused love for their country and embraced anyone willing to come to Egypt to sniff the breezes with them.. It is ideal for students, adventurous couples, but not for the business traveler. Anyone with a physical disability may find accessing rooms and the hotel itself challenging.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very uncomfortable 3 nights

Posted Apr 23, 2016
I came because I read reviews saying it had seen better days but had historic charm. Okay, I like hotels with character and am not very picky. Um...it's more like an abandoned building with staff than a hotel. Linens on bed and in dining rooms are threadbare. Room furnishings are kinda neat and if you squint, you can tell what it probably all once looked like when it was habitable. The wifi is a joke, resets every 90 seconds or so, and barely functions when connected. Staff is friendly and helpful, and arranged taxi transfers to/from airport. But the one time I asked for a taxi otherwise, the front desk guy went outside, looked around, came back in and said, "You can walk." I found one myself. And though staff was generally good in other parts of the 'hotel,' check-in and check-out were a nightmare because they have no idea how to cope with online reservations through Expedia and tried to charge me twice, claiming I hadn't paid. And they had the wrong arrival date. I spent a long time on the phone with Expedia who had to call them about it. Then after it was verified I already paid, the front desk acted like they did me a favor for honoring the reservation for a Deluxe room because the rate I paid was "too low." At check-out the manager had to make another phone call, again, to be sure I'd paid. I felt like a criminal or something. I use Expedia a lot, have since 1997, and never had this happen before. I was eaten alive by mosquitos ev
5 out of 5
by Joseph from San Francisco

Old Cairo found in this wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
At was a pleasure to stay at this historic hotel. Although it the hotel has same deferred maintenance, it makes more then up for this with character. Wonderful staff all around.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location if you want to really experience Cairo. Two subway lines within walking distance, as is Egyptian museum and lots of good cheap eating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Has seen better times, Good people

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, high ceiling, old world charm, almost timeless, after one gets used to it. One needs time for all this to seep in, especially if from US.
Cons: Lobby needs to be more inviting, fix the elevator.
Location: Downtown Cairo, Tahir Square, Museum, River Nile
It's in Downtown Cairo, so that's a plus. The hotel and the building is old and has not been renovated. The lobby and registration area are not what one would expect- they are dingy and not well organized. The atmosphere is of old, antiquated, quaint hotel that has seen better days and is pulling along these days. However, I'm sure other similar category Cairo hotels might be in the same boat. They are not of the same level as in developed countries. The elevator creaks and makes weird sounds as it moves. The telephone system is the old console with wires and the handset is the old style with no dial ring - you lift and it connects to the reception. The lights in the room are dim, but reasonably adequate. The beds are old, patched up, and creaky. We had to call twice to fix the flush in the bathroom. It takes 10 minutes of running the water in the tub to get hot water. On the positive side, miraculously, it all seems to work. The rooms are big, ceilings high and one gets the feeling of spaciousness. Same for the bathroom. The furniture is old, heavy, and nicely quaint. Mattresses were nice, linen very clean. We spent time in the Lounge, and again, old, dimly lit, but charming when one gets used to it all. The best part are the people - everyone from check-in to room service to lounge to ordering food- was exceptionally nice, as are most Egyptians. Overall, expect surprises, and some shock at first, if travelling from US. By the time we left, we had mixed feelings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italia

Alla ricerca dell'Egitto perduto

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: L'atmosfera retrò
Cons: Difficile dire da dove cominciare.
Location: Posizione centralissima e con tutto quello che si vuole a portata di mano. Si trova in una delle zone più vive del Cairo.
Erano anni che volevo andare al Windsor (al taxista ve però detto Uainzor", altrimenti non capisce) per respirare l'atmosfera dell'Egitto dei tempi andati. Il Uaizor è infatti l'unico albergo inglese scampato ai moti del 1952. Non ero però mai riuscito ad passarci una notte a causa dei prezzi superiori al mio budget abituale. Stavolta, approfittando di un offerta "camera con bagno in comune a trentasette dollari una notte", si sono riuscito. Il Uainzor, più che un hotel dei tempi andati, è proprio andato. Devo subito dire che mi hanno dato una camera migliore con bagno. Il problema era che lo stato in cui versava il mobilio lasciava molto a desiderare. La prima notte la doccia era tiepida, la seconda mi sono convinto che lo fosse. La colazione è quella che viene servita in questo tipo di hotel da almeno una trentina di anni. Il caffè (rigorosamente alla francese) è eccellente, le quattro fette di pane tostato hanno un sapore dolce e vi si può spalmare un formaggino, un panetto di burro e una confezione di marmellata. La sala dove si consuma la colazione è storicizzata da un quadro quasi totalmente scuro e con scrostature che, una targa lo spiega, è quanto sopravvive dell'arredamento del Uaindzor dopo i moti del 1952. La salita o discesa in ascensore è uno dei momenti topici del soggiorno. La gabbia è ancora azionata a manovella da un attempato "garçon". Bellissima è la reception con ancora la centralina telefonica.
2 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very Unique Old Historical Hotel. The lift is original and over 100 years. No WiFi, and no hot water, and no external phones.......
4 out of 5
by Markus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel in a great central location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The staff are wonderful - friendly, polite and charming.
While the colonial grandeur may be a little faded, the Windsor hotel is still a great place to spend a few days in London! The staff are charm personified - they couldn't have been more helpful! The bar/lounge area is especially pleasant and the dinner we had there was a tasty treat!
4 out of 5
by Peter from Uppsala

Charmigt kolonialhotell med bra läge

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Det här var inte min första vistelse på Windsor i Kairo och det kommer garanterat inte att vara den sista heller. Man kan alltid klanka ned på att det är ett gammalt hotell och att vissa delar av det borde renoveras. Fast jag undrar om det finns ett mer välbevarat kolonialhotell i hela Egypten. Det har en oerhörd charm och man kan nästan se för sitt inre öga hur de brittiska upptäcksresande vid sekelskiftet satt och berömde varandra för sina fantastiska fynd över en GT vid baren. personalen är också oerhört trevliga och hjälpsamma. Läget är bra med lagom avstånd till allt från Tahir och Egyptiska museet till Khan el Khalili och mittemot ligger ett av de bättre (lokala) cafeerna i Kairo. rekommenderas!