Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Esther

A view of former grandeur

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
It must have been incredible in its day but now it is very run down. The dining room is a treat and we enjoyed hanging out there in the afternoon.
4 out of 5
by Jon

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint classic hotel. Rooms straight out of early 1900's. Clean, simple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans USA

A step back in time

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The hotel has a turn of the century feel. The elevator alone is a museum piece and the feel is very much like a movie set. Care has been taken to keep the hotel from being too modern. The room was very clean. The wifi was sketchy however, but it could have been just my room. The bar had good wine and lots of spirits.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Shabby but with history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Interesting

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Walking
in another time, it's like traveling 100 years ago , interesting , not as comfortable but really one of a kind
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans/Saudi Arabia

Wonderful old historic hotel. Wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Very convenient and safe.A step back in time. Do not expect the Four Seasons, but this is not why you stay here. It beckons back to another era in travel and experiences,such as a stay at this old hotel, are few and will likely not exist in the near future. I would stay at this hotel over and over. A wonderful experience all around. I urge those who are interested in historic travel to experience the Windsor. You will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A glimpse into Cairo's Past Glory

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: It has an ambiance which has been removed from updated hotels like the old Omar Khayyam and Mena House. The staff are accommodating and wonderful.
Cons: The hotel is in the process of changing mattresses and upgrading electricity. Introducing greater access for credit card payment would be useful.
Location: For those in good health and sturdy legs, the hotel is within walking distance of the Cairo and Islamic Museums, the Nile, and Khan el-Khalili.
The Windsor is a small hotel only for those who do not require the creature comforts of a modern Western hostelery. It is located in the middle of old downtown Cairo. The elevator is the original and the bar hasn't changed much in 60 years. Food is basic but nourishing and good. The staff are a throwback to a time when Egyptians effused love for their country and embraced anyone willing to come to Egypt to sniff the breezes with them.. It is ideal for students, adventurous couples, but not for the business traveler. Anyone with a physical disability may find accessing rooms and the hotel itself challenging.
4 out of 5
by Terry from Marsfield

Great Location

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Windsor is out of an Agatha Christie novel with its decor. The staff were terrific. The hotel is located downtown and within walking distance to the Egyptian Museum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very uncomfortable 3 nights

Posted Apr 23, 2016
I came because I read reviews saying it had seen better days but had historic charm. Okay, I like hotels with character and am not very picky. Um...it's more like an abandoned building with staff than a hotel. Linens on bed and in dining rooms are threadbare. Room furnishings are kinda neat and if you squint, you can tell what it probably all once looked like when it was habitable. The wifi is a joke, resets every 90 seconds or so, and barely functions when connected. Staff is friendly and helpful, and arranged taxi transfers to/from airport. But the one time I asked for a taxi otherwise, the front desk guy went outside, looked around, came back in and said, "You can walk." I found one myself. And though staff was generally good in other parts of the 'hotel,' check-in and check-out were a nightmare because they have no idea how to cope with online reservations through Expedia and tried to charge me twice, claiming I hadn't paid. And they had the wrong arrival date. I spent a long time on the phone with Expedia who had to call them about it. Then after it was verified I already paid, the front desk acted like they did me a favor for honoring the reservation for a Deluxe room because the rate I paid was "too low." At check-out the manager had to make another phone call, again, to be sure I'd paid. I felt like a criminal or something. I use Expedia a lot, have since 1997, and never had this happen before. I was eaten alive by mosquitos ev
5 out of 5
by Joseph from San Francisco

Old Cairo found in this wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
At was a pleasure to stay at this historic hotel. Although it the hotel has same deferred maintenance, it makes more then up for this with character. Wonderful staff all around.