Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel lovely. Breakfast disaster

Posted Feb 16, 2018
My hotel was lovely. Rooms clean linens beautiful & bed comfortable. Breakfast on the otherhand was not up to Ritz standards. Coffee cold, french toast cold, eggs cold. Server very cavalier. Think he thought he was being charming but not apologetic & didnt make sure next time we asked for coffee that it be hot. Not the best experience especially at their prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Very enjoyable experience. Staff was slow but overall they were very accomidating and we really enjoyed ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel but didn't deliver on two double beds

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Location: Location is top notch and tough to beat across the street from City Hall and right in the heart of Center City.
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Center City, Philadelphia is a beautiful and historic building that perfectly fits the old charm of the birthplace of freedom. The hotel exterior is nothing short of majestic and the interior lobby and bar area is incredibly beautiful. The one thing that I had a problem with was I specified in my booking that I wanted a room with two double beds to accommodate myself and a buddy whom I was visiting and they told me they were out of double bed rooms and that I would be "upgraded" to the 27th floor. While my view was nice and I was higher up than expected it made for a less than comfortable Friday night stay with my buddy and I sharing a Queen bed. I would have had less of a problem if I was compensated on the price of the room or even given more of a heads up. However, neither were presented to me and therefore I cannot give my stay a 5 star review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

not sure if five star quality

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Staff was helpful. If traveling with your dog you may be disappointed with the amenities- not five star quality AT ALL. Despite calling to confirm twice before arrival, they were not ready with the dog accommodations. Once the dog bed arrived it was flimsy and tiny (despite the fact that our dog was well below the weight limit, the bed was too small for him). They did accommodate our late checkout request -which was very helpful. We have stayed at the ritz Philadelphia consistently since it opened, and, sadly the quality of the hotel has gone down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As Bad As It Gets

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The security guard was great.
Cons: Corporate needs to come in and clean house to protect the brand. This left an indelible impression on me.
I am fortunate to stay in many great hotels, and was looking forward to the Ritz in Philadelphia. It went wrong from the get go. Problems: 1. Check-in was somewhat rude and lackluster. 2. Room was near the elevator although I requested to be as far away as possible and was assured I was. 3. Room smelled of smoke. A call to the front desk informed me that it was the restaurants wood burning oven and not to worry. I mentioned that I wasn't worried, its just that the smell of smoke was irritating. They did not offer to change my room instead sending up a very nice security guard who said "yes this is much stronger than usual. I will inform the manager. " 4. Hallways filled with dirty dishes and linens collected from the rooms. Left there most of the day. 5. No concierge on duty the three days of my stay. Was told that the front desk was acting as concierge. Often times the line to check in at the front desk was 20 or so frustrated people so this was not possible 7. Food in hotel was sub par. Steak was overdone. Hardboiled eggs came out peeled and cold obviously from the fridge. 8. No robe in room 9. Called the manager numerous times to see if something could be done. No call back. Happened to be leaving the hotel and walked past a young woman with a name tag and asked her if she knew the manger. She said she was the manger. I shared the above with her and while somewhat contrite, offered no solution. Did offer to buy me breakfast though
5 out of 5
by donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Polina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Krystal

Lovely last minute stay!

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Ritz after weather delayed us getting into Philly to catch our connection to London-Budapest. The staff was incredibly helpful in providing us with all the toiletries we needed. The hotel was very comfortable, trendy and overall great for the price.
5 out of 5
by Pericles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by john

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was not ready at the promise 4 PM time and no compensation was offered. Until I call them out on this nothing was happening and then miraculously a room that was different than the one we were waiting for her. Even though the hotel was full.