Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

It's Chico!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, and the water was plenty hot!
Cons: cracks in wall and door trim. weird sloping floor
Location: it was quiet, didn't really hear traffic noise
I read the reviews on this hotel and they scared me! It wasn't as bad as I read however. I did come prepared with my own bedding and cleaning products just in case. I could see that it is an old place but there were efforts on some upgrades. It was fairly clean and I was happy to see that the mattresses and box were covered in plastic mattress covers to prevent bedbugs. Because it was Easter weekend we were limited on hotels cause everything was booked. I can't actually say I would stay here again but it was quiet even though on a main street and the beds were comfortable. The room was weird though...it sloped and we would feel like falling if we walked fast. Cracks in wall and trim, but like I said it is old/
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

rather sleep in my car

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: parking close to rooms, and they were powered by SOLAR...
Cons: tear down and start over, save only the solar
Location: I got in late, and left early, so not much to tell, Its Chico!
the faciility has close parking to room, and that was the only good thing. the rooms were outdated, tiny, and pretty expensive for what you get at 67$ with tax, I don't expect much. the room had the smell of burnt incense or something, I presumed it was better than the smell it was masking, but being inside gave me asthma. the carpet was old and ratty, the bathroom no better with grey and black grout. a tiny tv, on a home made shelf. weird tapistries on the walls and windows. It just felt dirty, and thrashed. I travel a lot, and I am used to going cheep to keep cost down. this was the worst hotel in the USA i had ever been in. If this is a visual for you, I removed the bead spread, and slept on the sheets with my cloths on. I should have gone straight back to the office and ask for my $ back, but was so tired after my day, the conflict was more than i could handle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arcata

Woke up with bugs crawling on my pillow

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
This place seemed okay upon checking in, the rooms are big. After trying to sleep here, I realized how infested and disgusting it is, this place should be condemned or completely renovated to continue to operate. I woke up with bugs of all different sizes (at least a half dozen) crawling around on my pillow and in my bed...after paying $95 for a room. This place is super ghetto, go to Motel 6 where the rooms are actually clean and they don't ask you to fill out a card with all your sensitive personal information because they're too ghetto to upgrade to a computer system. I'm not normally one to leave hotel reviews, but pillows crawling with bugs? Avoid at all costs.
1 out of 5
by Dean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Zero water pressure, as usual. Floors and pillows were discussing. Glad I always bring my own
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, Ca

close to Chico State University

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: close to the University
Cons: ask for pets control, check the coffee maker and refrigerator to be clean.
Location: it is a good location a lot of service close
The room smell really bad, the chair it is really dirty ( I didn't seat there), the coffee maker was so dirty ( I found inside something really nasty) I didn't use it; it has roches around the air conditioner and on the floor.
1 out of 5
by Kelley from Sacramento

Will NEVER stay here again

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
This Motel was rated 2.5, so I was not expecting a 4 star stay.... However, I was not expecting it to be this bad. It was filthy dirty. The carpets were not vacuumed, there was a necklace on the ground next to the bed from the previous customer. There were long black hairs in the sheets. The pillows were so flat you shouldn't call it a pillow. Thank goodness i brought my own. The microwave and seal of refrigerator had bugs crawling everywhere. It was obvious the room was not thoroughly cleaned prior to my check in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

dingy motel on the outskirts of town

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: the price
Cons: could be updated the light bulbs replaced or a new desk lamp hello! new curtains that close all the way so people cant see in the room
Location: was close to down town chico and the university, maybe thats why it was so messed up i figured it was becouse college kids party in this motel
was scared all night staying thier the parking lot had a broke down white van and strange scary people staying their nieghbors making noise all night and police patrolled the parking lot all night. i felt as if i was being recorded in thier for some reason
1 out of 5
by armando from Reno

Don't do it

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
the room needed a lot of tlc. The walls were dirty and the bathroom need d to be deep cleaned. The exterior was cute and the neighborhood was nice.
3 out of 5
by Joseph from Alameda, CA

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Quick trip to Chico & the Haven Inn was very conveniently located near downtown.