Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Perfect location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Lovely and elegant the hotel is located in the very center of Levanto: few minutes walk from the beach, near all the best restaurants and bars and only 10 minutes from the train station. All the staff were helpful and very friendly and the room very spacious and clean. It's an authentic Italian family run hotel and we loved it :-). Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

A lovely traditional Italian hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: As above
Lovely hotel in a traditional Italian town (Levanto). Smallish hotel about 30 bedrooms but very close (without the noise) to the main street of shops and restaurants and about a 7 minute walk to the beach. The hotel breakfasts were served either inside or outside in the garden terrace, which we chose every day. Breakfast consisted of cheese, ham, toast cakes, cereal, croissants and fruit (apparently in Italy the breakfast is usually very basic ie just rolls and drinks?!) ) so this was a bonus! This is TRADITIONAL Italy so no English papers and noise! It is quite expensive in Italy though. We took a train from Genova to Levanto (1 hr intercity) and cost 9 euros each. I would have preferred to have taken a taxi from the airport to the hotel (about 50 miles) BUT I was quoted £360!!!!! return for a taxi. This was dearer than the cost of the flight!! Italy would appear to be a big rip off for taxis (and I was travelling with an Italian friend!) They go by numbers in the car not the journey. So on that basis we steered away from them. The train journey was however very pleasant. Levanto is also very close to Cinque Terre. If you like "chocolate box" towns by the sea (bar 1 village) then this is the place you MUST go to. You can get a 1 day pass Cinque Terre for around £12.00 - £14.00 but this does give you all day travel. Or if you are feeling brave (and there were a lot of walkers) you could do the hike instead! Definitely would recommend both the hotel, Leanto and Cinque Terre.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stanley from Perth

Great location to explore this picturesque area

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great reception staff,fantastic location to the 5 towns,great beach,good selection of bars / restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Close to everything.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: location, breakfast, staff
Cons: nothing
Location: central, beach, train
Great hotel located close to everything.Perfect base to explore the Cinque Terre and then relax.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Cambridge, MA

Nice centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Marina and the other hotel staffers were very kind and helpful. Hotel is located close to historic center of town, beach and restaurants. There is a supermarket located directly behind the hotel. One drawback - can hear the local nightlife in rooms on the street side of the hotel. In general the town of Levanto is ideal for exploring the Cinque Terre hiking trails. There is a beautiful coastal trail from Levanto into Monterosso which doesn't require the Cinque Terre hiking pass.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value. Great location.

Posted May 31, 2016
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel nazionale. Easy walk to the train station as well as the beach and hiking trails. The roof top is perfect for enjoying a drink. Great staff, breakfast buffet and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro n c usa

Posted Nov 15, 2015
The hotel and staff were great in spite of being ill they did all they could to make our stay pleasant. Highly recommand it. Clean andwell located
4 out of 5
by Philip from California

Location, staff, lovely premises big pluses

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, great central location. Both front desk and housekeeping personnel excellent. Glad we chose Levanto over Cinque Terre for lodging, and glad we chose Hotel Nazionale. Good shower on size, water pressure, hot water, and water not getting on bathroom floor. After first night decided to upgrade to very lovely spacious room with a view, but was relatively pricey for Levanto. Hotel parking very expensive. Many focaccia places in Levanto, best we found is at Piazza Staglieno 37, a 5-minute walk away, around the corner from Cafe del Mar. Great whole grain as well as array of traditional. Nice owner/chief baker.
4 out of 5
by Andrea from Hobart

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Very good point for exploring Cinque Terre, nice and relaxing with more than adequate food and drink options