Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

A lovely traditional Italian hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: As above
Lovely hotel in a traditional Italian town (Levanto). Smallish hotel about 30 bedrooms but very close (without the noise) to the main street of shops and restaurants and about a 7 minute walk to the beach. The hotel breakfasts were served either inside or outside in the garden terrace, which we chose every day. Breakfast consisted of cheese, ham, toast cakes, cereal, croissants and fruit (apparently in Italy the breakfast is usually very basic ie just rolls and drinks?!) ) so this was a bonus! This is TRADITIONAL Italy so no English papers and noise! It is quite expensive in Italy though. We took a train from Genova to Levanto (1 hr intercity) and cost 9 euros each. I would have preferred to have taken a taxi from the airport to the hotel (about 50 miles) BUT I was quoted £360!!!!! return for a taxi. This was dearer than the cost of the flight!! Italy would appear to be a big rip off for taxis (and I was travelling with an Italian friend!) They go by numbers in the car not the journey. So on that basis we steered away from them. The train journey was however very pleasant. Levanto is also very close to Cinque Terre. If you like "chocolate box" towns by the sea (bar 1 village) then this is the place you MUST go to. You can get a 1 day pass Cinque Terre for around £12.00 - £14.00 but this does give you all day travel. Or if you are feeling brave (and there were a lot of walkers) you could do the hike instead! Definitely would recommend both the hotel, Leanto and Cinque Terre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Close to everything.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: location, breakfast, staff
Cons: nothing
Location: central, beach, train
Great hotel located close to everything.Perfect base to explore the Cinque Terre and then relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value. Great location.

Posted May 31, 2016
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel nazionale. Easy walk to the train station as well as the beach and hiking trails. The roof top is perfect for enjoying a drink. Great staff, breakfast buffet and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro n c usa

Posted Nov 15, 2015
The hotel and staff were great in spite of being ill they did all they could to make our stay pleasant. Highly recommand it. Clean andwell located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

A Fantastic Family run business

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: A clean and tidy hotel with the loan of beach towels for free.
Cons: Bacon in the morning.
Location: Use the local ferries and trains to get about, a great region of Italy to explore.
A lovely welcoming reception by the staff upon arrival. A clean and tidy hotel with the loan of beach towels for free. An excellent location to the beach and ferry terminal with a fantastic restaurant just round the corner. 10 minutes walk to the railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - centrally located

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Cons: If anything, the beds were a little hard and would benefit from being slightly softer.
We had an excellent time! The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located in Levanto within an easy walk to the beach and to the station in order to explore the 5 towns. It was a fantastic location and allowed us to travel around easily. Overall, a great stay and would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to explore the cinque terre and enjoy a lovely beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely, small hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Lovely, old style hotel within easy walking distance of the railroad station and just a block or so to the beach. The room was very comfortable with an excellent shower. Their are spacious and comfortable public rooms as well as a rooftop terrace. The breakfast buffet was especially good and served in a beautiful dining room and adjoining garden. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Would recommend this hotel highly. Excellent value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by deborah from Toronto Canada

Nice family run hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Still has family run feeling... Attentive staff...nice room, we booked a triple for two. Roof top patio and sufficient breakfast buffet daily...clean
Cons: Wi fi slow and frustrating to use. All larger rooms facing street which can be noisy into late evening.
Location: Great location easy access to centre town, beach, train station, trails, nice boardwalk and easy walking and biking.
Nice town, quieter than other cinque terre towns but close enough to enjoy access to trails etc. Hotel within easy walking distance from train station and to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Vancouver

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Setting
Most attractive. Very tranquil spot in a busy, congested city.
2 out of 5
by MarcG from Candiac

Rude staff except the old lady.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: The location and the friendly old lady who spoke 3 languages.
Cons: Staff very rude, internet only available in the lobby. Also, it seemed like room 201 had mold on the ceiling.
Location: Cinque terre access by train.
Broken shower head, no replacement available. Ask for replacement twice. When told about the broken shower head, the receptionist was very RUDE and laughed about the situation, showing no remorse. The staff in general is very rude, everybody but the nice old lady.