Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
Bags of charm in this quirky small hotel. Mill workings decorate the lobby, floors are somewhat uneven, but the character of the place and the idyllic remote location made us fall in love with it.
5 out of 5
by Barry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

Quirky little hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I loved this hotel. We only stayed one night as an overnight stop on our way south - 45 minutes from Calais but much better than staying in the town as we usually do. Located in the countryside, a satnav was essential to find it, the beautiful little hotel was charming. Converted from a water mill with the race still flowing the hotel is definitely quirky with lots of uneven steps and different levels would make it difficult for someone unsteady on their feet or in a wheelchair, however it was fine for us. We were looking forward to a meal here as we had been told that the food was very good, unfortunately travel delays meant that we arrived too late but we bought a bottle of wine and had some bread and cheese in the garden and were perfectly satisfied. We will return and try the restaurant. Breakfast did not start until 8am and we had left by then; because of this we were disappointed that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However, despite a few little disappointments we both slept soundly and enjoyed our one night and look forward to another visit.
3 out of 5
by richard

Pros and Cons

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
In theory, this can’t fail – a mill in beautiful hiking country, close to the Channel Tunnel? Trouble is, although everyone is friendly and helpful, everything has a “but”. It’s well-positioned, with a garden, chairs and loungers , offset by midges etc from the slightly stagnant mill stream. Inside, the lounge also contains a sludge-filled open pool, so the property will always be slightly musty. Our room was spotless – but the bath, with shower fitting, had no curtain or wall mount, so the only way to shower was to squat – and very noisy plumbing for several rooms ran through the room. The laminate flooring didn’t quite fit and the tiling had been increased in increments, giving a feeling of a work in progress. On a hot day, there was the problem that the window leading onto a balcony accessed by three other rooms with doors could not be securely left open for ventilation. Dinner was quite reasonable, if not exciting, but a single chicken course plus one ice cream and a bottle of the cheapest wine doubled the price of the stay, making this less attractive for cheap hiking accommodation. Sadly, it never quite gels, and needs a master look and feel plan (with significant investment). The overall feeling is of an older transit camp where people sleep overnight, and the staff go (at 10pm) to wherever they call home. If you only want a place to sleep for one night at Calais, this is a reasonable offering, but (at the moment) I couldn’t recommend it for longer stays.
1 out of 5
by Marie

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
we could not find the hotel because we arrive at 1am ,because the car broke down!we spent the night in the car .we had. notified them about our breakdown.quite distressing.
5 out of 5

Gets better each time

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Located on the edge of a national park, small and friendly auberge ideal for a night or two, as we have done on several occasions. Rooms comfortable and on this occasion with terrace access. Relaxed atmosphere, homely public areas, only music the sound of water through the mill race. Food good and local. Good value for money. Enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely dinner and cozy bar area to sit around the fire for a few drinks and to really relax. Room with a view of the mill steam was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
2nd stay for our young family. Nice place to stop before/after euro tunnel crossing
5 out of 5
by Lindsay from Crosby

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely, quirky hotel, great food, perfect last night of holidays before Chunnel home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels