Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Perfect for what I needed. Travelling through with work. Ticked all my boxes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ipswich

Nice old building

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Food
Location: Quaint old village but didn't have time to explore
Got all the features low beams little Windows cosy restaurant to eat and food was second to none with the staff so very pleasant, I was in the room above the bar should have joined them as I heard everyone's conversation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ramsgate

The Good, The Bad and the Downright Ugly

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Pretty from the outside - nice bar area
Cons: The Standard of the Rooms
We stayed at the King Arms Inn for one night only last night - thank goodness it was for only one night! Please note that this Review is based on our stay which was in Room 6 - booked through Expedia - whether or not this was the reason we had this room we cannot say. The Good! - A Very Pretty Inn from the outside, with good kerb appeal. Atmospheric Bar, and friendly attentive staff. The Bad! - A very noisy room - we could hear every conversation that went on in the bar whilst in the bedroom. Very small bedroom, with bedding which had rips in the sheets and pillow cases. Grubby Carpets. Breakfast was at 9.00 a.m. - we arrived at 9.05 to find no-one in the Restaurant area. Once I had ordered my Cooked Breakfast (one egg, 2 rashers of bacon, 1 sausage, one tomato, and a few baked beans (they had run out of mushrooms!) and two slices of brown bread (they had run out of white!), it took 25 minutes to arrive. We had to request butter and jam - the butter took another 6 or 7 minutes to arrive, by which time I had eaten the toast. Two more members of staff arrived at about 9.15 and commenced hoovering the bar floors!. At no time were we acknowledged by the Management, even though they walked through the eating area. The Downright Ugly! - The Bathroom had not been cleaned. The waste bin still had a used flannel and other items left from the previous guest. The Toilet had not been cleaned, and the top of the pan was stained with urine and covered in pubic hairs! The wardrobe couldn't
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

country Pub

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: The location ,staff and the bar.
Cons: The room
The room was barely adequate, at best a single room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic room good value

Posted Nov 16, 2015
The bed was comfortable and clean but the room in general was out dated and very basic, with just a shower and sink in the corner. Breakfast was all a bit hectic with one man seemingly cooking everything whilst manically running in and out ofthe kitchen and taking orders. The hotel was in a lovely village and close to where we wanted to go, but I'm not sure we would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Lovely pub & room with a warm welcome & charm

Posted Oct 29, 2015
I arrived late to a warm welcome, roaring fire, clean and comfortable room at a great price - would recommend and stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Lovely B and B

Posted Sep 14, 2015
A 1 night stay before a shooting day . Perfect . The landlord is lovely !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a dump

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!!!
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Middle of nowhere nothing near by nothing to do
We saw the room and left, we never stayed. It's a complete dump the rooms are disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

16th Century English Inn

Posted Aug 20, 2015
For a very reasonable price I got a large double room that was comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a fresh cooked breakfast in the morning. Alright the floors creaked and groaned and do not appear to have been level for several hundred years but it is a traditional 16th century English country inn after all, so what's not to like? If you want a 5*, shiny, superfast wifi, soulless, generic experience I suggest you try Dubai but if you want to explore the interior of Devon - Dartmoor, Exeter, Okehampton, Tavistock etc you won't go far wrong here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nothampton

Nice hotel for a 1 night stay

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Attention to detail Tea, coffee, soap and shampoo etc
The room was comfortable but a bit dated. The tea and coffee facilities were disappointing NO tea ,1 coffee sachet and no milk. I had to go downstairs to ask for milk and on trying to make a cup of tea found the Tea box had no contents!!! There were no soap or shower condiments.