Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Lovely room and great location, and the best continental breakfast ever!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Did not get what was advertised.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: The location is fairly good.
Cons: Pretty much everything else.
Location: About a 10 minute walk (depending on your speed) to the harbour and the main downtown area. Near to the Basilica.
We booked the room that was advertised as the Loft room with the "Panoramic Ocean View". We were given a room that looked into the building beside us. We tried calling the number that was left in the hotel room and there was no answer. We tried messaging them through Expedia - no answer. We tried emailing them directly - no answer. There is no front desk, so we could not talk to anyone directly. (This is now 5 days later and we have still had ZERO contact from them) We booked this hotel specifically for the view and were extremely disappointed with the lack of communication from the hotel to try to help get this resolved. Had we known that we would not be given a view we would have definitely picked another place to stay. Overall, the place is a bit tired feeling and you can definitely book better hotels in the area for the same or better price. I would never go back, especially after we were completely ignored by anyone who works there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

False advertising - not get what pay for...

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The continental breakfast was good.
Cons: Owners need to give customers what they paid for. Switching to a completely different property and also downgrading the room is dishonest business.
Location: In heart of downtown - lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
We booked/prepaid for the King Size room at Abba Inn two months in advance. When we arrived there was no room key for us. We called the caretaker who knew nothing of our reservation. We then called the manager who indicated we'd been switched to another property (Gower House) without any notification. We got to Gower House and went to Room #2 which was a teeny tiny room - with a small bed and the tiniest washroom imaginable. It seems to be the business practice of the owners to lure customers to the Abba Inn and then switch them to the lower quality room in the Gower House, as they deem fit. We did not get what they advertised and what we paid for. Additionally, there was no communication about the switch beforehand. Obviously they don't want to tell you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great location to downtown

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location to downtown.
Cons: My only complaint was all the stairs. If I didn't have a bad leg there wouldn't have been a problem.
Location: Many things to see for a tourist. Lots of great and varied eating places and pubs within a couple of blocks.
NIce big room, king size bed. Clean and relaxing. WiFi extender and cable box in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
A nice place to stay while in town. located in the centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Vallarta

Old home

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Good location. Easy walk to major features of town.
Cons: Signage is impossible to see when driving as it is behind tree. Owners should come in in person and on phone. New and better front steps.
Difficult, unable to reach management, no opportunity to refresh or add to towels. Parking on street not as advertised. difficult stairs to breakfast and up to front door. No view in rm 2. Bed as good pillows bad. Sheets wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

No front desk and no communication.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Our room was dark, airless and smelly. Despite numerous calls, emails and a complaint to Expedia we never did receive a call back from management to rectify.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON

Great location & lovely fellow travelers,

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: check plumbing and hot water situation; add a couple more towels in the room
Location: very near the Rooms and easy walking to downtown
great: other guests good : location, interesting decor ok: breakfast poor: virtually no hot water for shower which was tiny plus mattress sagged to middle plus somewhat difficult to raise management when we arrived not good for someone with mobility problems because stairs entering are steep and uneven and stairs down to breakfast are again steep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

No front desk and don't answer calls or emails.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Unsure of check in procedure and no return of my calls to find out how. Our room was dingy, smelly and airless. No front desk and despite numerous calls and emails no resolution to our request for a new room as other rooms were MUCH nicer. Expedia even tried management and calls were never returned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't come back to Abba

Posted Jul 5, 2017
There were multiple hairs from previous guests on the towels. Before it was time to check out a person came to fix the doorknob while we were still packing up. We had to finish getting ready with a stranger in the room and the door open. I was in such a rush I forgot my charger. The window was very small (about 40 cm across) so there wasn't much natural light. The room was overpriced for what we expected.