Ratings based on 750 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Clean hotel on the edge of city happenings.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The beds.
Location: Some excellent restaurants nearby, including the Pigs Ear, Brookwood, Patrick Guilbaud and The Greenhouse, and a good pasty shop around the corner.
Hotel is fine but expensive ($200/night) for the location and amenities - restaurant & bar, rooms were small but clean. Comfortable beds and nice linens. It's location puts you at the far edge of most attractions but the city buses are right outside. Very quiet area at night. I'd probably stay closer to the river next time. Restaurant was fine for breakfast. Plenty better in the city for dinner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

very nice quiet & central Dublin hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Very nice hotel in a quiet yet very central part of Dublin. Hotel staff is above and beyond helpful and friendly. Located directly across the street from Merrion Square! Sister O'Callahan hotel also located across the street! Would stay there again, absolutely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

Nice hotel, in a good location.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Nce hotel in a good location. Room was a bit cramped but clean and bright. Watch the hard sell on check in, half price breakfast vouchers, only available at this price at checkin. Breakfast was good, but priced a bit high. Had we paid full price, I would have been upset. Hop on hop off bus was good, but not 24 hours as indicated. Ends at about 18:00, which doesn't give you much time to ride and see everything and still get back to the starting point.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel with unimpressive room

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Very well located to walk anywhere in Dublin.
Cons: The front desk offered a parking voucher which was reasonably priced but the parking garage was not near the hotel and hard to find.
I stayed at the O'Callaghan largely because all the B&Bs in town were totally booked. I am not a fan of the typical "mid-range" hotel room that they offer but it is exactly identical to a million other nice-ish hotel rooms in the world. The staff were friendly and helpful. My one real complaint is that the room was tiny and dreary. But it was clean and had all the necessary amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, Canada

A Hotel with a bit of character

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly.
Cons: The hot water in my room didn't work the first night, but they fixed it by the next day.
Location: Right near Trinity college.
Enjoyed staying here, it's an older hotel, and my room was on the small side, but it was just me, so that was fine. The pub downstairs was good place for dinner. The hotel itself has a bit of style and character, I didn't want one of those sterile new hotels. This one seemed more like Ireland to me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Very central. Helpful staff.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was amazing.
It was very hot in Dublin during our stay. The air conditioning didn't work. Maintenance were brought in to fix the problem. They couldn't. We were given a fan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shepherdstown, WV

Centrally located

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The location, and the price was fairly reasonable.
Cons: It is what it is, maybe staffing could be increased at times, but this could have been an anomaly during my visit.
Location: Oscar Wilde memorial and home across the street. Shelbourne Hotel a short distance away. O'Donoghue's Pub for sessions and drinks is very close.
The staff was nice and accommodating, although they seemed a little short staffed at times. We prepaid for breakfast, 10 euro, which was an okay deal. Breakfast staff was minimal so there was some wait and confusion. There are steep stairs to the entry (about 8 or so) and no assistance provided, so keep that in mind if you have heavy bags. Hallways are narrow, rooms small but adequate, but generally nice and quiet. It is located within walking distance to many local venues and sites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex Boy

Nice hotel, centrally located with helpful staff.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Central location and helpful staff
Cons: Interior needs refurbishing
Location: Lots
Good overall experience made better by helpful and attentive Duty Manager and Reception staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great area. Nice facilities, staff. Bad policies.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Overall, this was a good hotel for the money. Rooms are small, but that was expected. Nice staff. Nice bar. They have 2 bad building policies however. On our trip from the states, we were delayed by 1 day due to weather. I called to cancel our first night and was informed that the room would still be charged to us due to their 24 hour cancellation policy. I called 23.5 hours before check in and there was no understanding of our issue. Then they pre-authorized my card for 2 rooms instead of 1 and then charged me for the total too. I had 3 full charges on my card while I was traveling and did not have access to my credit line. One both instances, we were told that they were just following policies and that they had no authority to make exceptions. I had to spend multiple hours on the phone with my cc company and the hotel to get it squared away. I would choose to spend a little more money and go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Good Location

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Staff were great, friendly and helpful in answering questions.
Cons: A bit of street noise but not excessive for a city.
Location: Easy access to tour and bus lines. Short walk to Temple Bar (10 to 12 minutes). Merrion
First time in Ireland. 3 days at this hotel in Dublin. Good little local coffee shop/cafe Tri Via across from Kennedys Pub. Gingerman pub chicken pies are worth a stop there for a pint.