Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare, Zimbabwe

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: It is a beautiful resort and the staff were great
Cons: the food could do with some improvements
The dream is a lovely hotel and the staff are very accommodating and friendly and made our stay very comfortable and pleasing. The food wasn't great though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing! Beautiful resort. Very friendly staff.

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing! Beautiful resort. Very friendly staff. Beautiful dinner on the beach with live performances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice busy 3½ stars

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: ..
Cons: ..
Location: ..
Overall, it was a good experience (though they might have been close to 500 checked-in customers). Clearly caters more to European (mid-budget) tourists/travellers. Big resort, so not for those out for the "boutique" experience. Probably rates at 3½ stars. PROS: Good hotel management/nice beach/nice pool/big and quiet rooms/Champagne & Vodka station at the breakfast buffet (for those of us that put vodka in their cereals....)/Nice friendly staff/Large buffet with some dishes pretty tasty, but others more of cafeteria standards. CONS: Room floor was dirty upon our arrival (though hotel manager quickly took action to address this)/One hour of blasting "euro disco music" pool-side at lunch time (for those few fans of aqua-aerobics)/nice staff but more more training needed/Hawkers on the beach (but not as aggressive as seen elsewhere....)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beuatiful beautiful resort

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Dream of Zanzibar is a lovely resort and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. A huge thank you to food and beverage manager Riyab who assisted us and specifically my father with certain meal requests (as we are all vegetarian) and a huge thank you to chef Sebastian who prepared them with so much love- it was delicious!! There were vegetarian food options with every meal and whilst we did not find the other restaurants on the property to cater adequately for vegetarians the main restaurant certainly did with an amazing array of fresh salads daily, pasta, noodles and curries. The room itself was very clean however the pillows are probably the worst part about the bed- they need serious upgrading! The room also does not align itself with the standards of international five star hotels specifically when compared to Asia and I am certain within a few years.. all rooms will need to be refurbished and upgraded. The wifi on the resort is intermittant and more often than not, it doesn't work- you can only get good wifi when sitting at the reception so you will find large of groups people sitting at the reception at night. Lovely entertainment on Tuesday (Barbeque night around the pool with a live band), Thursday night (African night on the beach with the goma goma performances) and Saturday night (Arabian night- good food but the entertainment needs to be improved). Friday night there was an acrobatic performance- amazing!! Thank you to Bora, Isaac, Sia, Elsabin and Simai
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgrades needed

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
The mattress and pillows need to be upgraded. Slept very bad with poor grade mattress and pillows. The bedding and towels had a smell to them. The grounds are beautiful. From resort to ocean the Masai were overwhelming to the point we did not go to the beach. The tv is so small to see from the beds, should upgrade tv and cable as there were very few channels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach jewel

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic long weekend at DOZ, perfect for a romantic escapade. Highly recommend. P.s. If you drink alcohol, definitely go for the all-in option, you won't regret it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful hotel, but rooms need renovation

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Outlook, serenity, friendly staff
Cons: Refer above-towels, showerheads
What a lovely hotel. Beautifully positioned overlooking the reef with manicured gardens and a wonderful feeling of openness, even for a hotel this size. Staff were exceptional with constant smiles and friendliness! Rooms are adequate but some aspects are a let down. Bath towels and beach towels need updating as they are thread bare and frayed. No wash cloths are made available in bathrooms, and only one piece of soap was provided for our five day stay. The showerhead in our bathroom needed replacement as it washed the bathroom floor with water spray every time we showered. Food was mainly buffet style which was adequate, albeit some of the food looked re-used and did not look or taste fresh. Theme night buffets enjoyable and wide selection of foods.
5 out of 5
by AnQesha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Access
Cons: Beach dirty
Location: Stay on site most of the times
The hotel and staff were great cannot do enough for you. Went during very quiet period so would hope that this is continuous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Enjoyed our surroundings throughout the resort. However, the beach was a little disappointing.