Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesham

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We've stayed at this Hotel a few times and have never been dissatisfied with the overall feel of the place , staff are very friendly and helpful , the owner makes you feel welcome , really good food , very recommendable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and potentially great hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: We liked the location and also the pub style and the staff were very friendly and communicative. Good pub atmosphere.
Cons: Trouble sleeping due to music being played loudly in another room from a 'live in' 'both nights until sunrise - very intrusive - hope is now sorted.
Location: There are lots of great places - The city Chichester, the really great beach at West Wittering, and lots of fantastic walks around Chichester Harbour,
We stayed two nights. The hotel is in the middle of Emsworth, a fantastic location if you like walking around Chichester Harbour, either from the hotel or using short car journeys. It is a traditional building with a fine frontage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

One night to remember

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The Family room I booked turned out only to be for one child. We had to rent another room to fit us all in at and extra £50. You couldn't stay in the room however as the band on the Sat night we're playing directly below. No hot water in our room and quite an aggressive Manager. Nice street riot as the pubs kicked out just outside of room and to top it off they didn't start breakfast on Sun until 8:30am which we had to go without. They did let dogs say for an extra £10 which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Andover

Well situated

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Great food.
Location: Situated on the high street, close to the little marina and within easy driving distance of Chichesster, Havant, Portsmouth.
Excellent pub with good accommodation, good beer and excellent food. Very pleasant and efficient staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow Scotland

The Crown

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My stay at this hotel was very disappointing to say the least we book for 2 double rooms and a family room and only got 1 double a twin room and our family room As we were travelling down for a big family event we were all arriving at various times I personally was greeted by the young man and he couldn't be anymore helpful and he also greeted the rest of the family bu as for the owner she proceed to chase my family through the bar in front of other guests making assumptions that people where trying to squeeze into two rooms when if fact we had the three rooms booked and the scene she caused was not only embarrassing to my family but also the other guests The rooms were were basically dirty ie dust everywhere carpet filthy kettles dirty generally unclean but the only good thing was the beds were clean and fresh Shared bathrooms were a disgrace bath tub was covered in Bath scum shower screen all soap marks and the floor hadn't been washed I work in the hotel industry so I no the standards of what is required The hotel also had a live band on the Saturday night with no warning to us as guest that it was on and there was no notice to say this either on the site so if booking check first as it was extremal noisy but it did end promptly at 12 o'clock
2 out of 5
by Patricia

Pub let down by shabby accommodation.

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel accommodation was rather shabby, needs money spent on it. Room smelt of stale cigarette smoke, probably lingering on curtains and dingy carpet. Sash windows wouldn't stay up, so quite stuffy. Mascerator type toilet not very efficient ! Heated towel rail not working. Walls paper thin so could hear EVERYTHING going on in adjoining room - most of the night! No hot water for shower either when we arrived or following morning, just Luke warm. Not good value at £80 per night with no breakfast included! Shame as Emsworth is in such a lovely area. Woukdn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Steve

Ok but starting to show its age.

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
A nice clean tidy room in a hotel/pub that is definitely showing its age. The communal areas have that OLD smell .. and having to walk up 3 flights of stairs in 30 degree heat wasnt much fun. The shared bathroom was clean and adequate but old fashioned. It was worth the discounted price i paid but not the normal full price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good for overnight stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Evening meal
Cons: Breakfast
More of a pub than a hotel of guest house. The room was OK for a one night stay. The food was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but in need of updatinf

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location but hotel itself is tired and old. We had a room which shared bathrooms with other rooms. Please note that there is a £20 surcharge to bring a pet
3 out of 5
by Karen

Disapointing

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Over priced as bathroom needs total up date, cold shower.