Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by GILES from Norwich

Friendly, Family Run, Clean, Nice View

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this B&B because of it's close proximity to Herculaneum & Ercolano station. After a little trouble finding I Papiri (to be expected in Italy!) we were greeted by the owner and offered nibbles & a drink. She & her husband couldn't have been friendlier, despite the language barrier. The room was clean with a twin doors opening out onto the roof terrace. Nice continental breakfast with fresh pasties. I Papiri served our purposes perfectly & I can recommend it if you are traveling on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from UK

Friendly B&B

Posted May 27, 2014
Extremely friendly hosts who provided us with complimentary limoncello and snacks on the communal balcony overlooking Capri on arrival - very welcome after a crowded train journey from Naples. The room was a bit on the small side but had a view of Capri from its own balcony, a TV with extensive channels, a comfortable bed, and what looked like a new bathroom suite. It is very well located for the train station and the ruins in Ercolano (Herculaneum), and they were happy to keep our bags for the day while we looked round. The pillows were unfortunately rather hard and prevented a good nights sleep, and the breakfast was limited. But, overall, we enjoyed our one night (the small town doesn't require a more extensive stay). The 'spaghetteria' near the ruins (on the main road from the station) did a nice lasagne.
4 out of 5
by italiophile from southport, uk

Perfect location for Herculaneum Excavations

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
We came here because of proximity to the archaeological digs at Herculaneum. It's perfect for that -- only a couple of minutes walk, and a safe place to leave your car, behind locked gates and completely out of sight of the street. The street the hotel is on is fine, but some other nearby areas are heavily graffiti-ed. We (being American/UK) would be nervous there at night. To be fair, much of Italy seems to be this way, and we had no problems. There are very few tripadvisor rated restaurants in the area, and so our advice is to have some food with you just in case. However, we didn't try any restaurants and were there only one night -- other reviews do rate local restaurants, and Leo was happy to recommend some which we didn't try. We met Graziella (Leo's wife) once when she delivered coffees to the room -- reasonably priced and with some complementary cake. The top comments -- Leo was very friendly and accommodating, we arrived a bit early and it was no problem for him. The views out to Capri were lovely and there is a large terrace. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. At night there was a local dog barking, but he did finally stop. Would we stay here again? Yes, we would. It's not the Ritz, but is very clean, the owners are nice, accommodating, friendly, and come across as if they want to please. Be warned -- they don't speak English, but with my limited Italian it went fine.
4 out of 5
by Todd from Morris County, NJ

Close to Herculaneum

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and included secure parking which was important. The neighborhood appears economically deprived but seemed safe enough to walk around.
4 out of 5
by Marta from San Diego, CA

Great Location for Herculaneum Ruins

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was well marked and easy to find. They had parking on site and it worked well. THey have a lovely community patio with a great view of the shoreline and Capri. They are about 5 minutes walk from the Herculaneum Ruins, so they were very convenient. The owners/staff were wonderful. Very helpful and hosptiable, rooms were newly rennovated, nice furniture and spacious, except the shower was very small. The only downside was the neighbor hood appeared a bit rough and there were not a lot of great choices for eating nearby (walking distance). Ercolano appears to be a suburb of Naples. The hotel is situated in a very local (non tourist) area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I Papiri, Herkulaneum, peaceful family run pension

Posted Oct 31, 2011 on Hotels
Quiet, despite busy street, 6 room B&B, run by a very friendly family. Our room had a view of the bay with Capri and Sorrento in the background; a terrace outside, which could be used for a locally made pizza with wine, admiring the sunset. Free wifi with good speed. Separate, but excellent, bathroom in our case. Slightly difficult with language but once understood, service was given in a very friendly way. Helpful recommendations of local pizzerias and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by natalia from Москва

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Выбрать этот отель пришлось ночью, и я вьехала в него до check—in time. Персонал исключительно доброжелательный, говорит на английском и итальянском, и Мария говорит по-русски. Совершенно безопасное место, я спокойно оставляла ценности в номере. Удобное расположение: до пляжа 7 минут, до ж/д станции (Неаполь-Сорренто) 8 минут, до рынка 5 минут, до раскопок 5 минут, до дворца 3 минуты. По утрам на завтрак подают хлеб из булочной, которой больше 100 лет. Очень рекоммендую!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Дорогая Наталья, благодарим за ваш теплый отзыв. Обязательно приезжайте еще!!! мы будем баловать вас вкусными свежевыпеченными булочками на завтрак с черным кофе, сваренным хозяйкой специально для вас. Обнимаем, Мария.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornaredo

B & B confortevole ed accogliente

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Personale accogliente e molto disponibile. Posizione e pulizia.
Il punto di forza di questo B & B è la posizione che lo rende strategico per coloro che vogliono visitare le bellezze di Ercolano e dintorni. Il personale è eccezionale e molto disponibile. Le camere sono piccole ma confortevoli. La colazione è intercontinentale e vanta della possibilità , quasi unica, di un piccolo terrazzo dal quale si può vedere CAPRI e gli Scavi di Ercolano. Lo suggerisco vivamente per coloro che non vogliono spendere troppo e che si accontentano di una struttura piccola.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reggio Calabria

Posizione ottima per chi vuole visitare gli scavi.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: La gentilezza e disponibilità da parte dei proprietari, La ricchezza della colazione. La posizione vicino agli scavi. Letto molto comodo.
Cons: Decoro generale del terrazzino con la vista su Capri.
Location: Centro di Ercolano a poche centinaia di metri dall'ingresso agli scavi.
Pernottamento di una nottata per visita agli scavi con mia moglie. B&B tipicamente meridionale nel calore dell'ospitalità e nella ricchezza della colazione. Stanza piccolina ma confortevole, perfetta per un breve soggiorno. Giusto rapporto qualità prezzo. Da correggere la localizzazione sul navigatore se si usufruisce del link di Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lübeck

Enttäuschung auf der ganzen Linie

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Überhaupt nichts
Cons: Ja, das B&B aus dem Katalog nehmen
Wir haben auf Grund der Fotos die man im Netz sehen kann gebucht. Das 3 Bett Zimmer war nicht wie abgebildet auf 2 Ebenen ,oben Doppelbett mit Nachtschränkchen und Nachtlampen, sondern wir mußten trotz massivem Protest, den nur den unteren Teil des Zimmers mit einer Couch und 2 Notbetten nutzen,obwohl der obere Teil nutzbar gewesen wäre, aber von den Vermietern strikt untersagt wurde.Weder Nachtschränkchen noch Nachtlampen waren vorhanden. Hauptlicht waren 2 Halogenaußenstrahler die im Zimmer montiert sind. Stühle mit Plastik überzogen und teils defekt. Beim Duscheinstieg mit 30 cm sollte man nicht übergewichtig sein sonst ist nix mit duschen. Unser Zimmer empfanden wir zwar sauber aber muffig und super laut. Es war mit Abstand der grauenvollste Urlaub den wir je erlebt haben ( Auf Grund der Unterbringung).