Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Only positive thing is it's a beach front hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The room was very outdated, tiny portable fridge on the floor, the bathroom needed work, the balcony door was broken and wouldn't close all the way, the bed kept creaking every time you moved and the air conditioning needed work as it was either super freezing or super hot, no in between which sucked. The water in the shower was only cold, there was no warm or hot water to shower with during our three nights there. Now the food at the buffet was worse than I thought it would be, raw potatoes, raw pasta, only pizza and pasta every night, over cooked/soggy veggies. The variety they had everyday for breakfast, lunch and dinner was not great at all. You had to get up for your own drinks, usually at resorts you are served drinks so this was a first. The people were nice but I was very disappointed with the food and hotel room. Only positive thing about this trip is the short walk to the beach. Also this resort only had Sands Bahamian beer and no other beers which also sucked. I had stayed at the Memories Resort in Bahamas back in December 2014 and it was wonderful! The food there was amazing and the beach and the hotel room and the people were so sweet so that's where I recommend people to book with, not this hotel!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern KY

Viva Wyndham Fortuna

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Buffet food, more palapas for shade (which they were working on during our stay as people "reserve" and fight over chairs in the shade all day.
The best part of this all-inclusive is the beach! It is stunning. Rooms and facilities need a facelift, although can't complain for what we paid. We spend very little time in our room, so the shabbiness there could be mostly overlooked. Food at the buffet left a lot to be desired, but a la carte dining was good. Bartenders were warm and friendly, and would have our drinks ready before we got there. We have visited this resort now three times because of value. I hate to report that we did have a small money missing from our room, which was upsetting. We left a note with a threat to report if anything else was unaccounted for. First time we've ever encountered this problem here despite using our in room safe. Overall, we would rate the Viva Wyndham Fortuna a 2.5.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please do not stay here

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This hotel was horrible. We had more fun off the resort. The linen in the rooms were dirty and stained. When I requested new linen they brought me more dirty comforters. We did not receive room service everyday. We had to call numerous times to get any housekeeping done. The alcoholic beverages are watered down. Be prepared to drink aristocrat with the all inclusive package. The food was not good but edible. To put the icing on the cake, on our last day we noticed that the water was turning the bath cloths a burnt orange color. See the attached picture! I is made a video to show the change. There is clearly something wrong with plumbing. We will NEVER go back there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First trip to Freeport

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Nice beach and pool! Beautiful palm trees and ocean view! Good variety of activities and entertainment! Great sailboat ride! Fabio was entertaining! Food was ok. Better food at the restaurant where you made reservations. Non-air conditioned food places. Rooms were cool!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful turquoise waters with a side of sass

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The Italian Restaurants Lasagna
Cons: Friendliness of staff, Food,
Location: Port Lucaya
Your king bed upgrade options for $50 extra a night is not guaranteed, so we had 2 queen beds.... first disappointment. The second night were were met with an army of several different types of bugs that infested our room... after an unsuccessful spray of the room, we slept with the bugs for one night and moved the next morning- the front desk staff was very unaccommodating and very pushy explaining you are on and island and bugs are going to be here... YES bugs are everywhere but should not be in my bed. Food in the buffet was another disappointment... lots and lots of carbs, with minimal meat/protein options. The entertainment staff - in the water sports building and at various other spots of the resort- were rude and unaccommodating. We missed out on several different activities because of their lack of customer service. The woman in the gift shop, that is not affiliated with the resort, who works at night- was the kindest person I ever met. She was so helpful and asked about our days. She gave us advice on local attractions and tips and tricks for the island. Overall we were very disappointed and felt that our voice and concerns were ignored by the staff in the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Natchitoches, Louisiana

Nice hotel, beautiful beach, many services offered

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: The location, room view and décor, and the services provided. Able to rent a car, book fishing and snorkeling charters,& dinner rsvps from lobby.
Cons: Room door was open when we got there. Showers go from scalding hot to freezing cold constantly. Check-in was difficult, and add rude female staffer.
Location: Amazing location, fairly good snorkeling, many beautiful parks and good restaurants on the island. Highly recommend renting a car to see it all!
For an all-inclusive hotel, they really do a good job. A few things wrong with rooms, but all in all okay. One horrible hotel experience: I was asked to come to a meeting to learn about their VIP experience, and promised some t-shirts, hat, and rum to just come and listen by Anishka. Showed up and Jasmine did the meeting. All was friendly until she wanted a check from me to join their VIP and global partnership. I told her I needed to see a contract in writing to show my financial advisor and would make a decision in a few days - well, she got rude and mad. I can't believe anyone in the world would be dumb enough to hand over a check to join something that can't even be presented legally in writing!!! Needless to say, I never received my promised swag from either ladies. I intended to let them both know what I thought about their lies, deceit, and rudeness, but never saw them in the lobby again! I hope the hotel manager sees this!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from marblehead, ma

Wonderful location on a very private, beautiful be

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Didn't need to leave the hotel for anything.
Cons: More vegetarian and healthy food options.
It as off season and quiet. The drinks were not good. The buffet was average. The restaurants were good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Great place to stay!!

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Everything!! Nice staff, relaxing atmosphere , good food, reasonable prices. Great beach.
Cons: The only thing I could think on improving is the vacation club. We do not like being bothered about seeing the timeshare stuff.
Location: We stay at the resort the entire time.
This made our 5th time staying at Viva Fortuna. We love it. We stay at the resort the full week. The taxi brings us from the airport and comes picks us up and takes us back to the airport. They made so many new upgrades this year. The cafeteria looks great. Food was good, staff friendly and nice. All the upgrades are for the better. We had one slight problem with our air condition and called the front desk and the maintenance came right up to our room. Very fast. A very good relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Excellent location, superb beach, nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: The beach is superb
Cons: Food could be improved. Hotel is a little dated. Wait staff in cafeteria would clean tables but not replace silverware, very strange?
Location: Great beach, must visit paradise cove to snorkel
Nice hotel. Nothing special. The beach is what you pay for. You can snorkel straight off the beach and the water is very clear. Food is just ok. No hot water in the evening when everyone was showering, this is frustrating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Gorgeous beaches, amazing food, friendly staff

Posted Apr 30, 2016
We stayed for 6 nights at Viva Wyndham Fortuna. Beautiful grounds, incredible food, a huge pool, gorgeous beach, and a super friendly staff are at this resort. Snorkeling is easy to do at the reef 100 feet off shore. Our only complaints would be the beds and air conditioning units need updating. Otherwise, it was an incredible trip. We will be going back!