Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
My partner and I stayed at Vila Marta for ten nights in a very quiet apartment.Everything was of a high standard and excellent value for money.We cannot praise the owners (Joel and Bruno) enough for their hospitality.We really appreciated the free fresh bread delivered to our room each morning.We also really appreciated the very friendly,personal service which was always available.As we both really enjoyed Madeira in general, we may return and if so would return to Vila Marta.We highly reccommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Characteristic Apartment with Seaview

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay thanks to the hospitality of Joel, the owner, who went out of his way to help us enjoy our stay, whether it be for directions, a lift to the bus stop, bus timetables, whatever we needed, he was ready to help. He also provided us with fresh bread rolls every morning along with fresh fruit on arrival, very welcoming and the room was comfortable and spotless. Would recommend Vila Marta to anyone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
A nice stay in a quiet place, with a very kind and helpfull owner
5 out of 5
by Graham from Lytham

Fantastic, friendly, family-run Apartment complex

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
The Vila Marta is a great, small, family-run apartment complex on the edge of Funchal in Sao Martinho. The apartments are located on a quiet side-street, however the street is halfway up a steep hill (as with most places in Madeira!) and restaurants and shops are therefore a fair walk away. So, it's extremely handy to have access to a hire car if staying here. Yes, you could use the buses, but a hire car makes life a lot easier!! All the apartments have a balcony with sea views. The rooms are well equipped with a small kitchen area, good sized bathroom, and a bedroom / sitting room separated by a low dividing wall. The rooms are cleaned daily and are spotless and comfortable. The owners provide fresh bread buns every morning to your door which are included in the cost. The local Continente supermarket, a five minute drive away, provides everything else you may need. Bruno and his father are great guys - very helpful and will check the weather for you everyday to make sure that you head to the best part of the island. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them, and you really do feel a part of the family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A.

Exceptional and convenient hotel in quiet area

Posted Jan 2, 2016
We rented three rooms for the New Year in Funchal. The owners were incredibly warm and helpful, and concerned that we have a good time. It was a wonderful place for a family stay! Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, Uk

Great hotel, Amazing price

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Extremely clean, the bathroom was lovely. The room also cam with complimentary fruit, butter, jam and tea and coffee.
What can we say about Bruno? This hotel was such a unique experience. Bruno took amazing care of us. On the first day he even drove us to Funchal, pointing out many places of interest, bus stops and great places to eat. The service at this hotel is truly unlike any other. You feel completely supported by Bruno who ensures that you get the most out of your stay. The complimentary bread rolls in the morning and the madeira cake gift were above and beyond what we expected. The hotel is also in a great location, the bus stop to Funchal is just around the corner and takes only 20 minutes. The area also has quite a few nice places to eat and a great supermarket around the corner for all those who are planning on making the most out of the self catered apartments. The view of the ocean from the balcony was also very beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Toronto

Fantastic stay

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Vila Marta. Customer service beyond compare...every little detail taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Vila Marta - a great place to stay

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: WiFi in the rooms as well as in the public areas
Location: Madeira is a great place to visit - scenery, walks, car tour, good places to eat - Vila Marta is convenient place to stay on the edge of Funchal.
Owners very friendly and helpful. We had a rental car so could get round the island relatively easily and Vila Marta is conveniently situated for the Via Rapida, so easy access to the airport, Funchal and many of the places that we visited during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

It was like spending a holiday with family...

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: The location, the service, the amenities and of course the hosts.
Cons: I would change nothing about the Vila Marta.
Location: Funchal is the largest city in Madeira and has many attractions near the Vila Marta. My wife and I are trekkers and we loved hiking the island.
Joel and his son Bruno are the greatest hosts you will ever meet. Their hotel is immaculate and the amenities are many. We spent nine nights as if in the comfort of our own home. The kitchenette was fully equipped and I was able to prepare our vegan meals with foods I bought at the nearby supermarket. Every morning we would find a bag, hanging outside our door, that was filled with freshly baked loves of bread. The bed was comfortable. The bath was charming with its classical Portuguese style tile work. Joel and Bruno both speak excellent English along with four or five other languages. I could find no fault with Vila Marta. On the other hand, Madeira is shaped like a steep cone so half of our walks were easy down hill jaunts. The other half of our walks of course were uphill. Funchal has an excellent public bus service which stops nearby the Vila Marta that allows you to bypass the uphill walk. Bruno will help you to navigate the bus system. He will also be happy to sign you up for tours which pick you up at the hotel or to arrange a taxi ride with Mr. Rodriquez. Joel has a quick dry wit and is an entertaining conversationalist. He is very proud of his hotel and offers comforts you would expect from larger hotels without the noise and bustle of downtown Funchal. It is a perfect hide-a-way for anyone seeking to enjoy the ambiance of a high beautiful patio view of the ocean. Our recommendation, as world travelers, is to go to Madeira and stay at Vila Marta with Joel and Bruno.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire, UK

Lovely Apartment with Fantastic Service

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Everything. Excellent service, lovely apartment
Cons: Can't think of anything - very good value.
Location: Base for walking - Levada and mountains, cable car to tropical & botanical gardens, Lido, boat trips for whale & Dophin watch, west tour, bars, cafes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vila Marta. The apartment was scrupulously clean and well serviced every day. It really suited us to have our own kitchenette facilities (2 ring hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery,pans and cutlery), living area and balcony and the whole apartment was tastefully furnished with comfortable beds and a great shower. Bruno and Joel were extremely helpful providing information when needed, booking taxis etc, without being intrusive in any way. They have an arrangement with a lovely local restaurant whereby a member of restaurant staff will pick you up and bring you back - we were also offered an aperitif with Joel before we left. Fresh rolls are hung outside your door at about 7.00am every morning and we were given a parting gift of Madeira wine and cake. Although Vila Marta is not in the centre of Funchal it is easy to catch the 45 bus from a nearby stop and Bruno provides a timetable for this - he even gave us a lift into the centre on one day. We also had the use of wifi in our room