Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

serene and meditative

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Beautiful courtyard with orange trees, tiles, fountains. Staff generously offered to take our luggage to our car.
Cons: The room was a bit overheated, had to climb on a table to open a window. Parking is expensive, so try the street!
Location: The tour of the monastery is very worthwhile.
We stayed only 1 night, but it was very nice. No bar, though...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful parador next to the monastery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in town

Posted Oct 5, 2015
The building itself, an old monastery, is espectacular, I always recommend the Paradores. However, they have aspects to improve. Internet wasn't working, apparently for 2 days, and they didn't mention it during check in. They also forgot some towels the second day People in the staff are friendly, they will do their job, but they will not go the extra mile to help you. Good experience over all.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This is a really nice Parador with very good rooms (ours with a balcony overlooking the delightful garden) and a nice (decent-sized for swimming) unheated outdoor pool in the summer months. It's location is fantastic right next to the Monastery/church and main square but with easy parking on site. The restaurant (which we did not try) and (reasonably-priced!) bar (which we did) have tables in a beautiful cloister courtyard sheltered by citrus trees. Guadalupe itself is a much nicer place than I had imagined with nice shops full of local produce and a quiet square to eat out in the evening though very I'm sure very busy with pilgrims and tourists during weekend afternoons. The monastery too is well worth a visit. It is quite a way off the main road network but the surrounding hills are very nice and it makes a very nice stopover en route from Madrid or the North of Spain to the Southwest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

best address in the area

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice XVI building just in front of the Cathedral. Good service. Some rooms have a great view. Small swimmingpool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice parador near center of town.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location, overall ambiance. The bathroom was particularly updated--more than the room.
Cons: Some of the interior room design.
Location: Great little mountain town. Good for a short visit. Probably very good for a honeymoon. Very nice drive to get there (though lots of windy roads)
While the interior design of the room is not the newest, it is comfortable and very well kept. The interior of the hotel and lobby area was very nice. Parking was convenient and staff was very helpful. We were met in the parking lot upon our arrival and guided up to the reception. In particular, our visit was during the week of Semana Santa (very busy), but it went quite well.
5 out of 5
by brian from Lincolnshire

Nice hotel in a nice historic town.

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
One of the better paradors in one of the better locations.
4 out of 5
by Colin007 from Spain

Only arrive with a small car

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was fine like most Paradores but the roads leaving the hotel were very narrow and steep. Do not drive if you have a large car or a sports car as you will cause damage
5 out of 5
by paul from wirral

Wonderful Location

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing place and a very very nice hotel. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. A real pleasure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Chicago

Great hotel in the middle of town

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Location: Right next to the Cathedral, just steps from the town square, and found free overnight parking on the street just half a block from the hotel entrance
Beautiful old hotel, great location, nice and very helpful staff, clean and interesting rooms, nice courtyard, gorgeous views. Restaurant was good, as well, but a bit formal. What's not to like?