Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great accommodation, close to beach and facilities

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Enjoyed our holiday and would definitely recommend it and would return. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Good location to take side trips and explore with a car.
The service was excellent. We asked to switch to a room with a balcony and they found us one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good pool, beautiful beach a short drive away

Posted Jan 3, 2016
A/C didn't work 3 out of 7 nights. Kitchen was dirty - microwave filthy. Saw cockroaches dauly. Very pleasant staff and a beautiful swimming pool. If it had cost half the price I would think it was a reasonable deal. For the cost, seems a bit much to be buying your own toilet paper!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Reasonable accommodation.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: The Pool and it's surroundings were nice enough. Also the staff, when available, ( found ) etc. were pleasant and sociable. As were the islanders.
Cons: Please refer to the above.
Location: There are by any standards many beaches that are a revelation to visit. Totally natural and uncommercialised. Quiet and clean.
The service and cleaning of the rooms was non existent. During the full NINE days of our stay, the towels were never changed, nor the bed sheets and pillows. We had to carry the large bin bags downstairs and out into the car park dumpers ourselves when full, a distance of approx. 200 metres! On each occasion having to find someone to provide a replacement bag. Similarly with toilet rolls, and then only partly used ones were offered. The kitchen equipment provided was totally inadequate. One huge pan, and a frying pan. A broken rusted can/bottle opener, and minimal cutlery. Overall we were quite shocked. Certainly well below the standards we had come to expect from previous Expedia holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Tranquil place close to some other amenities

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Tranquility, gardens, wildlife and friendly staff
Cons: Booking system. Week b4 holiday told there a prob with first night's accom. Then Expedia & hotel said all well only to arrive and be moved.
Location: Nearby resort great for nice beach/excursions/evening cocktail.Our hotel was great for peace and quiet and the pool. Deshaies lovely fishing port
After some conflicting information about whether our room would be available for the first night of our stay, (it wasn't and upon arrival we had to walk to another establishment) we had a thoroughly pleasant stay in a clean, comfortable apartment in lovely surroundings. We were 5 minutes stroll from a great beach -part of a busier resort with bar, shop, reception and excursions available-so had the best of both world's really. The on site pool was excellent with plenty of space and loungers available and no need to worry about reserving space etc. We had breakfast on the first morning which was good. The humming birds, chickens, cats and birds were an additional bonus as were the well tendered grounds with ample parking. Unless you are happy just to lie by the pool or spend each day on the beach, a car is essential.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

spotless clean and close to beach

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: close location to the beach, very friendly staff and clean rooms.
Cons: there are a lot of mosquitos so sliding doors with a net would have been useful to sleep with open doors. also beware of ants.
Location: well, there is a beach, a bar, a souvenir shop and a pizza take away. anything else including the supermarket can only be reached with a car.
We had a great holidays at the Caraibes Royal. The room was spotless clean upon arrival, we arrived late but there was a welcome instructions on how to get in the room and we sorted the paperwork next day. We liked a lot that this is only a short walk to the beach and the kitchenette was functional. Speaking about the kitchenette, we missed a few items but we had brought our own kettle and chopping knife with us and we really needed those. We also had to buy a small saucepan as there were only two big saucepans in the kitchenette, apart from that the kitchenette was great. One thing to note, the location is quite a distance from the airport and getting around Guadeloupe is virtually impossible if you do not have a car. We were told that a taxi fare is around 80 Euro from the airport so we rented a car at the airport which we kept all the time. If you want to explore the island you really need a car, you can't do that with public transport. The staff was very friendly and helpful. As for the mentioned smell, we did not notice that but we were at the front (poolside) of the hotel and we saw the sewer facilities in the other direction so maybe that side of the hotel is different. The pool is absolutely great. Clean, big enough and lit up. Overall, great holidays, thanks a lot to Gilbert and Antonette for making this a great experience.
5 out of 5
by robert from Maryland, US

Caraibes Royal

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
Residence Bord De Mer, a.k.a. Caraibes Royal is a beautiful place, with large comfortable apartments/rooms/bungalows. Our big advantage was that it's rainy season, but it doesn't usually rain all day, so we had the pool mostly to ourselves, and the beach [short walk] was nearly empty too. Our French is terrible, but is enough to be understood by Gilbert who used an online translator when he needed, and provided us with good service. Our kitchen was outside on the balcony, a bit unusual, but perfect for breezes and view, without getting wet when it rained. There's a good reasonable supermarket, Super U, on the road to Sainte-Rose so it was convenient for us to buy food to prepare our meals. We liked the residence and will consider it again if we return to Guadeloupe.
4 out of 5
by Connie from Deshaies Guadeloupe

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice room close to the beach . The breakfast was good. It is a condo type room very spacious but you clean and take care of it as you would a condo. The town is not too far away but you will need a car . The pool and the grounds are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Les & Karen from Virginia, USA

A really nice hotel in a tropical paradise

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Landscaped with flowering shrubs and tropical fruit trees. Very well maintained and a great pool. Guadeloupe only uses cows for all lawn mowing work
Cons: Temporary problems resulting from uncompleted off-site treatment plant.
Location: Deshais is a tropical dream location. 3 of the world's best beaches are 10 minutes away from the hotel. Wonderful people & good "island cuisine".
The 'Bord de Mer" at Deshais (pronounced De-hey) is not a full-service hotel with daily housekeeping and mints on the pillow. Those are available on Guadeloupe, for a price. Bord-de-Mer provides a nice clean room with fresh linen on request. There is a TV that gets 10 channels (all French) and an A/C in the bedroom. Our suite consisted of the br, bath, family room and an "outdoor kitchen" on the covered patio. The hotel is pretty new, beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The small staff is very helpful, and like most other places on "Gwada", French-speaking. However, if you start with "Bon jour" they will try very hard to answer questions and meet your needs. The pool is very nice, lit at night with blue and green lights. There was a temporary problem that travelers should be aware of: Behind the hotel Regional workers are installing a treatment plant, but understand that the island people have a low sense of urgency that is part of their charm. The partially completed work has left a pond of brackish grey water that flows directly into the sea and when the wind is not blowing, which is seldom, it can be smelled from some of the rooms. At night, every mosquito in Guadeloupe is present at this locale. Men came to work on this facility daily, with minimal gains. The odor and the mosquitoes seem concentrated in the center court between the two buildings, the rooms along the pool not so much. Deshais is the best area in Gwada, Bord-de-Mer a nice hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malmö

Residence Bord de Mer

Posted Jan 26, 2012 on Hotels
With the exception that we broke up one day after leaving the hotel we had a fabulous time and I would strongly recommend the place. We were the first couple to have stayed in room #7 in Jan-2012.