Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradável, pé na areia, alimentação media

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Hotel bom, praia boa mas alimentação fraca, pouco variedade, refeições repetidas e apresentação muito ruim.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice sunsets, bad service!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Good location specially for view sunset Nevertheless, the service is quite bad: I heart employees complaining about their jobs in from of myself and other guests, one restaurant coordinator was urgent me to finish my lunch just 10 minutes before 3 pm (I arrived at the Restaurant at 2pm with my baby and wife)...the restaurant is suppose to close at 3pm. Some people in the hotel were very nice like some waitress at the restaurant and Jorge Arias... But, good service was not a constant in the hotel...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The entertainment team worked hard to try to entertain the guests.
Cons: Almost everything!
Me and my family are frequent world travelers and have stayed at many all-inclusive hotels. Barcelo Langosta Beach was the worst all-inclusive hotel we have ever stayed at. It was also the MOST EXPENSIVE all-inclusive we have ever been at for $790+ for one room 2 adults and 2 kids. The quality of the hotel, service, activities, facilities, beach, etc. was unacceptable - at any price! When we arrived at 8pm - the front desk only found one room of our 2 room reservation. We origninally reserved 2 rooms for 4 people each. They "arranged" another room that was a double room and squeezed 2 single beds in. The rooms were of unacceptable quality - the shower was dirty with mold and rust everywhere, the shower head sprayed water in every direction but down, we never had a working phone (despite our complaints) and the air-condition unit did not cool the room. Service was horrible and mostly came with an attitude - a very different experience than we had anywhere else in CR. We had to ask for things 3-4 times before we had to insist on getting them (extra blanket, fix the phone, cocktails at dinner, taxi service, etc.) Although Maria the customer service manager tried her best to accomodate - our requests were unanswered. On the positive side - the entertainment team throws a fun show every evening, the kids loved it. We feel we were ripped off. It was the worst hotel experience (regardless of cost - 2 families over $6000 for 4 nights!!!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Very nice, right on the beach

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: All staff of very friendly, decent food, easy check in and out, nice pool
Location: 25-30 minute walk to town, wouldn't say it was a bad area just underdeveloped, totally safe walk during the day, probably wouldn't make it at night
Nice place, great staff, pretty beach, not crowded at all. Food was decent, buffet style with one specialty restaurant and a snack bar. Very safe place, most staff spoke and understood English at least enough to communicate with us. VIP upgrade (gold) from expedia was best yet I've gotten outta 3 hotels so far. Got one night free at the specialty restaurant, which was pretty cool. Prior to that, it was 6 strawberries and 2 free drinks. Costa Rica is a beautiful place, people are not pushy like in Jamaica, Dominican or Mexico, its a much friendlier laid back place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff, great resort in Tamarindo

Posted Nov 18, 2015
We stayed at the Barcelo Langosta for 10 days in November. The resort was very nice. The staff was excellent and the grounds and rooms were all very well maintained. Food was delicious and a lot of variety, but only one buffet and one a la carte restaurant. It was very hot in the buffet restaurant (no air conditioning) and the road from the town of Tamarindo to the hotel was quite rough. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

un viaje inolvidable a Costa Rica

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lo principal de este hotel es su personal, demasiado agradable, la comida exquisita y queda justo al lado de la playa, que es realmente increíble paisaje, muy cerca esta el pueblo, donde encuentras tiendas muy bonitas y bares muy entretenidos, definitivamente creo que volveré.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandraaa

family friendly

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Orbitz
Overall, our stay was pretty good and I would go back. The staff was very friendly and always gave smiles to our 1.5-year-old. Room was nice and the beach and location (good surfing) were good as well. Only complaint- I wish were there was more food variety. We were somewhat bored by the end of our week-long stay, as it all tasted the same all week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Bad area nothing to do

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Hotel staff great but location in the hood bad area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danbury, CT

Wonderful place to be

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: Placing a sign under the Manchineel tree next to the pool bar to avoid injuries
Location: Isolated but close enough to downtown
This resort is beautiful and the food is amazing. The resort staff is very helpful but some are more friendly than others. The beach is beautiful and has a lot of volcanic rocks which forms small pools of warm water, it is perfect for relaxing without being knocked down by the waves. The beach is very peaceful since there aren't any other resorts within walking distance to the resort so you can walk along the shore for miles all alone. One thing I would recommend for the resort is placing a warning sign under the Manchineel tree next to the pool bar because the fruit releases a liquid and it is like poison ivy if it lands on your skin. The liquid from the tree fell on my eyes and my eyes were swollen, red, burning and I couldn't open it for 4 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2015 by Alvaro Fontenla, Director General Barceló Langosta, Hotel Management
Dear Sr Danbury, Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience. We are also very happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel; Its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards We hope to see you really soon. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Relaxing stay

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Hotel nice and big, room with king size bed was plenty enough of for the both of us. Staff super friendly, buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner was ok (7/10)... The tortuga bar in the lobby was okay weak drinks but what do you expect for free booze... Although the premium drinks were cheap $4-6... beach is beautiful, Pool is nice, and $5 cab ride to town... Or you can walk in the dirt road for 10-15 minutes
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Hotel Barceló Langosta Beach, Hotel Management
Dear nyc, Thank you very much for your comments! Our main priority it’s always the satisfaction of our customers, we are very pleased to know that our resort meet your expectations. It will be a real pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Regards,