Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad internet and poor breakfast ,

Posted Apr 17, 2017
100$ damage insurance for nothing , coffee machine wasn't working
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Petite room nice for single traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Free parking, breakfast included, nice sitting room, period feel
Cons: Comfortable sitting chair in room, perhaps a small folding table for in room meals
When I travel alone I appreciate hotels that give me the option of a room with one double bed and a cozy space. I also enjoy a hotel with atmosphere. The Halliburton meets both of these preferences. Unfortunately the room had two drawbacks. The sitting chair was uncomfortable - the chair pad needs to be replaced and there was no work space nor a place to put a supper plate. But it was still a great stay. I ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and it was superb. The front sitting room is gracious and comfortable. I enjoyed an afternoon tea there in front of the fireplace. Be aware that there are stairs, but the staff offered help with my bags. THe hotel also deserves a high walkability score for those who enjoy ditching their car when in a city. As each room is distinctive it is probably best to book directly with the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pei

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Staff very nice. Room and dining room very clean. Close to VG and waterfront. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

In town charm.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff, the charming building, the comfortable room, the location.
Cons: The channel selection on the TV was very limited and had almost nothing appealing. Varying some of the offerings at breakfast would be nice.
Location: You're close to the harbor, Dalhousie, government, shops, restaurant. Really couldn't be more convenient.
I was in Halifax for a few days on business. The staff was uniformly friendly, the public spaces were cozy, and the room, a queen in the adjacent building, plenty large and well-furnished. The 4-poster bed was terrific. There's a balcony overlooking the garden. The TV was a bit small, the channel selection terrible, and what I did want to watch hard to see from the bed. The breakfast is breads, fruit, hardboiled eggs and some coldcuts. Nothing exciting. But all the rest was terrific and the location was great for walking anywhere downtown. The restaurant, Stories, is small and the food superior, though expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet inn with great location

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about my room was that the front windows were right on the ground floor along side the outside sidewalks. You could hear people alot and made me wonder about my security of my belongings. Other than that everything was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Marginal--buildings under repair Bathroom old-- very little light Old inn style--too rustic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Boutique hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Had a lovely three nite stay. The Globe and The Chronicle are available each morning along with a very good included breakfast (self serve). Quiet, lots of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Cozy, comfortable hotel, perfect location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, hospitable staff, welcoming fire and coffee.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We enjoyed the quaintness of the hotel, the proximity to local pubs and restaurants, and its short walk to the market, Pier 21 and entertainment.
We spent two nights at The Halliburton for the long weekend, just after the crazy snow storm that hit Halifax. The staff were helpful and welcoming, and the room was warm and clean. Each day we were greeted by a warm fire burning and fresh coffee and tea. Beyond the main staircase you can find interesting framed articles of the history of the house. While we did not dine at Stories on our short stay, it has been recommended by reliable Haligonians (our next visit we will be sure to dine there).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB

Best aspects are location and heritage feel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Extra chair in the room. More attention to heritage aspect of the property
Location: Lots of restaurants, heritage walking and entertainment nearby.
The hotel is one of Halifax's long-standing heritage properties. While the room retains the heritage feel the bathroom was quite basic. Bed was comfortable but the room could have use one more sitting chair for a two person stay. Location is excellent in the heart of the city with many eating options close by, market etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

turns out to be a townhouse

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: tell the truth about the location and style oof the hotel including the number of rooms and age of the place
wxpecting a 4 star hotel not a 150 year old townhouse om a back road