Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Boutique hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Had a lovely three nite stay. The Globe and The Chronicle are available each morning along with a very good included breakfast (self serve). Quiet, lots of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Cozy, comfortable hotel, perfect location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, hospitable staff, welcoming fire and coffee.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We enjoyed the quaintness of the hotel, the proximity to local pubs and restaurants, and its short walk to the market, Pier 21 and entertainment.
We spent two nights at The Halliburton for the long weekend, just after the crazy snow storm that hit Halifax. The staff were helpful and welcoming, and the room was warm and clean. Each day we were greeted by a warm fire burning and fresh coffee and tea. Beyond the main staircase you can find interesting framed articles of the history of the house. While we did not dine at Stories on our short stay, it has been recommended by reliable Haligonians (our next visit we will be sure to dine there).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB

Best aspects are location and heritage feel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Extra chair in the room. More attention to heritage aspect of the property
Location: Lots of restaurants, heritage walking and entertainment nearby.
The hotel is one of Halifax's long-standing heritage properties. While the room retains the heritage feel the bathroom was quite basic. Bed was comfortable but the room could have use one more sitting chair for a two person stay. Location is excellent in the heart of the city with many eating options close by, market etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

turns out to be a townhouse

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: tell the truth about the location and style oof the hotel including the number of rooms and age of the place
wxpecting a 4 star hotel not a 150 year old townhouse om a back road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful Hotel, great location!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Such a great stay at the Halliburton! Perfect location! Close to restaurants, local shopping and even a supermarket! The hotel is so nice! Very cozy and well maintained! One of the comfiest beds I've stayed in! Staff were very helpful! Only con is there is no elevator, so this could be a challenge for anyone who finds stairs difficult. But I knew this before booking so it was a ok!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Enjoyable

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Friendly and attentive staff, lovely hotel, good breakfasts and dinners, great proximity to attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Cons: Breakfast could use a bit more selection.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Halliburton! It was great that they provide on-site free parking for guests. The rooms were comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Cute boutique Victorian style

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Welcoming and cosy feel. Breakfast was fresh and plenty Continental
Cons: Small thing, but would have liked more milk and tea sachets, as had to brave the snow to get tea at 7am.
Location: Short walk to Spring garden for shopping, close to Alexander Keith's brewery and the waterfront etc.
Arrived on a very snowy/stormy day in Halifax, staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. Hotel was cosy, warm and welcoming. Definitely not a big name/style hotel so don't come looking for that, it was actually nice that they haven't filled the rooms with cheap modern furniture and kept it in the style era of the houses, with antiques etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

This is a wonderful hotel with grace and character

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Very courteous staff, clean and dignified rooms and dining area. Just a lovely area.
Location: Small shops and waterfront. Very quiet at night but fine for strolling.
I only spent one day here but shall return each time I am in the Halifax area. Truly enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy Comfort of Home

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The fireplace and bed made the room super comfortable. The mini fridge was well stocked and reasonably priced.
Cons: Breakfast was good, basic
Location: There are great upscale restaurants nearby like Chives and The Bicycle Thief. You are a short 10 min walk from Spring Garden Road shopping.
It was a great place to stay that is close to all the shops, museums and restaurants that downtown Halifax has to offer.