Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and affordable

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very pleasant stay, very clean and comfortable with efficient and friendly staff. Will definitely use again!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very quiet

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Very accommodating manager.Helpful and friendly.No problems changing room over to downstairs,as we have crook knees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Conveniently located to all amenities

Posted May 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Ability to check in a little early was really great with a new mum needing to feed. Pleasing outlook and amenities although we did not use the Pool
Cons: Nothing was apparent that needed improvement
Location: Easy access to waterfront and cafes. Numerous waterfront activities for all ages from checking out the art deco buildings to using the skate park
Management very obliging, nothing too much trouble especially when travelling with a newborn babe. Excellent experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
While an older style motel, the rooms are clean and tidy with a modern feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taupo

Tidy and basic

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Wotif
We had a great stay overall. Great space for girls to use their scooters and play in the play ground. The shower had a constant drip which was annoying. The Lino seemed dirty as I wiped up some water from the floor and the white towel became quite dirty. Overall a good stay, and owners or managers were lovely people. We would stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Wotif
This is good for the money you spent. Though it looks old, it gives good comfort. Can park the vehicle in front of the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Fantastic well equipped rooms

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The rooms were lovely. There was a fully equipped kitchen. We only stayed one night, but wished we had time to stay longer. Very nice pool. It was unseasonably warm when we arrived. There was no air conditioning, but the room cooled quickly with the fan in the room and opened Windows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kiwi

Quiet and friendly place

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: The shower rose. This is on their to do list as they have been busy updating the rooms. This has been done tastefully and I will stay there again
The welcome was friendly and informative. I had a back room away from the street. It had everything I needed including free wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here unless you are desperate

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Just about everything .
Amazing that such places manage to stay afloat in an affluent, developed country. We walked in and walked straight back out. This motel appears to have had absolutely no investment (apart from new TVs) since the 1960s. eg The pool was broken; airconditioning in over 30 degree heat consisted of a fan. Unfortunately payment was required on arrival and the staff refused to give a refund when we pointed out that we were not happy to stay. When I suggested that this was unlikely to improve their review we were told that this was common! Clearly we are not the only customers who have been unimpressed with the facilities. The worst motel I have encountered in the developed world and not as good as many I have stayed at in the developing world!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Hana, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Regret that we didn't meet your expectations in this instance. It was a real shame that we had to close the pool at the peak of the summer but we felt guest health was more important than letting them swim in unhealthy water. We did give you discount $10 so you could get into nearby Onekawa pool and you happily accepted the discount. Although, we never advertised having any airconditioning and a quick review would suggest an air conditioned 2 bed room in our developed and affluent country starts from over $220 per night and we offered the 2 bedroom unit for a meager $125 per night for two and offer 2 TVs with 50+ Channels, free newspaper, unlimited WiFi, unlimited nation wide calls and two fans in that two bedroom unit. We do regret not meeting your expectations but what we offer for the price we offer probably makes economic sense to most of our valued guets and as such explains the popularity of the Spanish Lady Motel. Thank you again for your feedback and hope to be able to offer the airconditioning in the coming days! Thank you again for your feedback. Cheers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Wotif
Great affordable price for 3 people to stay in one of the 2 bedroom units.