Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

small room and bad environment!!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The room is very very small and bad environment!! Will not be recommended to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good Location

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Location in the heart of Jordan.
Cons: Internet didn't Orkney.
Close to bus lines and subway. 2 minutes away. Safe hotel, clean and quiet. Better than most small hotels in Hong Kong. Window is a bonus. Internet didn't work for us for the three days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tay

Good for short transit stay

Posted May 6, 2015
Good location and clean room. However lighting is very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A smaller, yet quiet hotel in a good location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Value for the price. Good location.
Cons: Wifi could be a bit faster.
Location: There are tons of shops and restaurants, as well as night market nearby. For the rest of Hong Kong, walk for 3 minutes and hop on the MTR train.
Stayed as a family of four while waiting for our connecting flight. This is one of the very small number of Hong Kong hotels in this area that provides rooms suitable for four while not charging an arm and a leg. It is located in one block from Jordan station. Yet not directly on Nathan or Jordan street, and in addition to that in a gated compound with 24x7 guard - very safe and quiet by Hong Kong standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Best location and good price

Posted Sep 19, 2014
I stayed one night in rent a room knowing that Hong Kong is expensive in the most touristic part (Nathan Road) near the peninsula. I was just passing the night so I decided that is has to be something cheap but near the best attractions of the city. The room was very little but this is common in HK. The difference with the others hostels was that here everything is clean and the owners of the building are so cool and helpful whenever you want to know something about the city and how to move there and that's the real value of this hostel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cupertino, CA, USA

Rooms are horrible.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Its in down town that`s what I like the most. Location is very good.
Cons: Wash the blanket and bed sheet properly. Fix the bedding of bed. Fix the bathroom showers and
Location: Its in down town, good restaurant to eat out.
I was asked come back after a hour as the rooms were not cleaned up. Room are pathetic, not all worth for the money. Bed sheet were stinking, could not get a good sleep. Beds were not soft. Rooms are very tiny and very uncomfortable. AC makes lots of noise, as its old, also you can't control the temperature (manger of the hotel told me not to control the temperature as its old and might not work) Bathroom sucks, there is no proper shower. Water heater runs out of hot water in 2-3 minutes (need to turn on for 15 mins to get it hot and it don't serve your complete bathing time). Both the old lady and man talks very nice, but thats the only thing they can do I guess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jack from Singapore

Excellent location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The ratings arent very fair for Rent-a-room isnt exactly a hotel to begin with. (Rented apartments) It offers weary travellers a basic (and small) place to stay and the unique Hong Kong style of living in a shoebox. Inside the room, the basic facilities are all there - clean rooms, hot showers, TV, airconditioning, fridge, daily room service, table, chair and hot water right outside the room. The only fault i can pick is that the fresh bedsheets had some grey stains on them but not significant enough to bother us. MTR is within a 1min walk away, plenty of 7-11's around and the famous Temple Street is within walking distance. Heck, you can talk around to Tsim Sha Tsui, Victoria Harbor and Kowloon if you are in the mood (which we did). There are some great cafes around the place too! Mido Cafe, Australian Diary Co. etc. You will find yourself spending more time outside than
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Regular visiter from australia

Does the job well

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Good security, they speak english and next to subway station.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, 7/11, night market, Jade Market really close.
Seems safe and enough space in a good area next to Jordan Subway. Security at entrance adds to safety. Staff speaks english and helpful. Much better than the $50 Hong kong dumps in TST where you have to run the guantlet of indians trying to rob or sell you stuff but you might get something slightly better for just over $100 to. Therfore hotel is about 25% overpriced but this is Hong Kong and it does the job well at a semi reasonable price so likely I will stay again when I go to Hong kong again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: the shower water ran out. it is an old system and we didn't know it was going to run out. my friend didn't even bother to shower before we left.
good location but price is too high compared with other cities that we visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jason from Worthing

Comfortable stay for a few nights

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: staff, cleanliness, location
Cons: I guess the rooms could be larger but for a few nights stay they are perfectly fine
Location: 15 - 20 stroll to waterfront (just off Nathan Rd), nearby is Kowloon Park (swimming pools), Miramar Shopping Mall, Temple St Night markets
Our 11.30pm arrival wasn't a problem and the staff were courteous. This was a repeat visit - the rooms are clean and attended to daily, the in-room safe provides extra security. The rooms are small but larger than some of the cheaper ones on offer - I stayed with my 7 year old daughter and we were perfectly comfortable (I am 6 foot 1). Our room had air con, a fridge, tv, ensuite so was perfect for a couple of nights stay.