Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Amite La

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
In town for NABC Convention. Easy and convenient to get to Convention Center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angleton, TX

Never again!

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The size of the rooms and the amenity statements to be correct online.
Location: Bad location. Museums, aquarium, zoo and amusement park nearby.
Tiny room. My family of 4 was packed like sardines. I am a smoker. Online, under amenities, it was stated that the room had a balcony. Our room did not have a balcony. After informing the staff of this problem, we were told that we could get a room with a balcony for an additional charge. No, thank you. I wanted what was stated that I would have for the price I paid. Very misleading. We will never stay with Mainstay Suites again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hospital

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
It is not a great area, but if you need to be close to the hospital or NRG stadium, it is perfect. Hotel staff was excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice, reception staff not very helpful.

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The size.
Cons: Teach their staff to be a little friendlier and courteous, and to look at you in the face when your talking to them.
Location: Location was fine, as we had a rented car to get around.
Reception staff not helpful, the room was nice, big and clean, but there was an ongoing motor noise in room, and a tapping noise, we couldn't work out what it was, but sounded like it came from top floor. I did ask to be moved, before unpacking, as I am a very light sleeper, but they said they had no more rooms available. Asked 2 day staff for a map of Houston, as we wanted to go to downtown, they could not help, one said, there was a huge map on wall, like ok, can we take it with us. Again, they had no interest in helping, not the best service. They are there to accommodate people using their medical center, why advertise for travellers, if not wanting to help us. Disappointing when you come from so far away, and you get this unwelcomed feeling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft.Worth

Nice hotel not far from hospital district

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, well equiped room; comfortable bed; same price as some other, less desirable places in the area.
Cons: Slightly cramped in the room. A lot of stuff packed into the area, but it's not really bad.
Location: The hotel is not far from the hospital district, Hermann Park, and the museum district. It is also not far from the local pro sports stadium.
My wife and I stayed three nights at the Mainstay hotel on Old Spanish Trail in Houston. We found the location convinent to the hospital and museum district. The room was not large, but well equiped. In the "kitchen", it had a refridgerator, microwave, single pad stove top, and coffee maker. The bed was comfortable. Parking was easy, all in front of the building.There is an exercise room and various vending and ice machines, if we had need of them. Everything is inside, so if the weather is uncomfortable, it's nice not to have to go outside for anything. Everything was clean and well maintained. We felt that it was a good value for the price.
3 out of 5
by jb3013

Is worth the price paid.

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Orbitz
The staff could not have been better. The check-in and check-out persons were excellent. The cleaning people were friendly and responsive. The room was clean. The appliances all worked well. The shower handle came off but was still useable when replaced. We reported it when we left and it was noted for fix by the clerk. The walls are a bit thin, could hear the person next door late at night talking, then snoring. A full grown man was at breakfast in his pajama bottoms and the tee shirt he slept in. Getting dressed for breakfast did not appear to be a priority by some others.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Hemet, CA

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The only issue I had was the blow dryer was broken and didn't fix it for 2 days. Room very clean!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels