Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Wonderful room

Posted Nov 25, 2017
We usually stay in the king size room but this time we got a one bedroom suite. The room was beautiful it really felt like we were at home. Only thing is my son couldn’t hook up his xbox because televisions are older models no hdmi.....but everything else was awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review, we try to make every effort to ensure that our guest are comfortable and enjoy their stay. Hope to see you again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean City, MD

Good budget choice

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price.
Cons: Add room refrigerator.
Location: Not far from major Long Island highways.
Wanted clean, comfortable lodging at a decent price. This place fit the bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint motel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
A quaint motel but it had such a musky smell I had to air the room out twice. There are no screens on the window so I didn't want to leave it open overnight. The rooms were clean and tidy. The small twin beds were extra firm and so we're the pillows (I prefer something a bit softer). There was no fridge in the room but the ice and pop machines in the lobby are nearby and there is free coffee 24/7. Super friendly staff, free Wi-Fi and it's great that it's a non-smoking facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Huntington

Posted Oct 23, 2017
A little noisy as it's on Jericho Tpk. Check out time a little early!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Slippery slimy floors.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Location and cleanliness.
The bathroom tile floor was slippery, and the carpet in the room was slimy. On a very busy room with poor access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room for reasonable price

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Room was clean, bathroom newly updated. Mattress looked new. We stayed in the back and it was very quiet. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. We certainly try hard to assure that our guests are comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Lower priced option with somewhat good ratings

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Personnel at the hotel could smile and greet you like a guest, not a nuisance that is distracting them from some other task.
We were put off by the overall age of the buildings although the room was clean and we were off the main highway so it was quiet. Facility is an old style roadside motel with parking in front of your room. Small room with window air conditioner that sort of worked. The second night we returned to find they had not cleaned our room, changed sheets or touched the bathroom or our pile of wet towels. "An oversight by housekeeping as the room next door had a Do Not Disturb sign on it." Not an acceptable excuse but the next day they did clean as expected. Breakfast was disappointing as well: breads to toast, cold cereal, no fruit or juices, an old coffee dispenser that made a cup to order. Also don't be surprised by the taxes in this location, approx. 30% of the room charge added on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Andy, Hotel Management
HI Cousin, I would like to address your issues: We do not claim to be a luxury hotel, but we do take pride in providing a clean room, comfortable bed at a reasonable price. Our air conditioners are PTAC units that are mounted through the wall and used by many major hotels. What is wrong with a Coffee machine that is available 24/7 that makes a fresh brew each time? Also, the total taxes on you room are 12% not 30%. We really do care about our guests. Things do go wrong, and we're not afraid to admit. However, we thank you for your feedback .
4 out of 5
by Derris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from hyde park, ny

Do Not Let the Site Fool You

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and convenience
Cons: Front office sign in system, which took some time and the person on call was more excited about her shift ending than her customers.
Location: Right on the highway, near Melville and shopping, as well as Huntington. Historical sites nearby.
At first glance along Jerico Turnpike, it might appear that the Whitman is a bit rundown. Do not let it fool you. Drsive to the rear office entrance and you will be reaffirmed that you have chosen correctly. It is quaint and not overly impressive, but the rooms are very comfortable and the conditions of the rooms are more than satisfactory. Most of the staff is geared to providing excellent service, while the sign in system may leave a bit to be desired. It does serve its purpose of providing accommodations that are convenient and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but on a very busy street.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: It was cheap by comparison to others.
Cons: Get rid of styrofoam in the dining area.
While this hotel was ok and the staff was ,in most instances, helpful you would not know that it is located on a very busy street from the website. We had a room on the back side of the first building thank goodness. The room while small was reasonably appointed and clean. However if I had known that it is on a very busy street I would not have stayed. Also in this day and age of trying to use recyclable products the use of styrofoam cups and dishes at the continental breakfast seems all wrong. I realize it is done to save money but at what price? I guess you get what you pay for. So having said all this.....if you want a reasonable hotel and state that you want a room on the back side of the hotel .....then it is the place for you.