Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

The staff were awful

Posted Feb 24, 2017
After booking, I called the hotel to coordinate being close to friends who were also staying there. I spoke to the nicest lady named Jessica. I never met Jessica when I got to the hotel and the staff I met were rude and unaccommodating. I was staying there for a funeral so was already not having the best reason to travel. The staff could have made the experience so much better but instead they made it worse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Nice hotel, on one side you can see the river.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
It was a great hotel to stay in. It was very clean and modern yet cozy. I loved the view from the pool deck. The bistro was nice a comfortable to relax in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
No surprises when i choose Courtyard by Marriott. Check-in by the friendly, helpful staff was quick and we were assigned a room even though it was 2 hours before check-in time. We were given an easy to read map telling us where the restaurants in our area were located and what was offered by each. Our room was as expected but it did need to be updated and the refrigerator made a horrible whining noise so we had to unplug it. Breakfast at their Bistro offered an assortment of items for purchase and their coffee was from Starbucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Mades for the perfect vacation.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location and helpful staff
Cons: I don't think they can.
Location: There were some places slightly less expensive but none of them were convenient to everything. This was.
Even in January. Great location... easy to get to everything New Bern and coastal. The staff was amazing, Everything very was comfortable (and everything worked and well maintained.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Peters, MO

Convenient location near airport but expensive

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very convenient location with a beautiful view if your room faces the water front. Unfortunately we traveled there in the winter so the outdoor pool was closed and we weren't able to enjoy the outdoors. The hotel had a nice Bistro on site but I was surprised and disappointed, especially considering the price I paid to stay there, they didn't at least include a continental breakfast. In hindsite, there are many many other hotel accommodations close to this area that would definately have been a better value so although it was a very nice hotel, I would not stay there again because there are so many other more economical options nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Small, old and musty smelling king room.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Misleading breakfast reservation details on Expedia, special requests not transmitted with reservation to hotel. Rooms need refitting. Musky smell.
Location: Great location on riverside, within blocks of downtown New Bern.
We booked a one night stay in a king room with breakfast. On arrival, the hotel staff noted that the reservation only included breakfast for one person. This was not made clear on the Expedia page, which simply quoted 'Continental Breakfast' with the room rate. None of our special requests for an infant crib or an upper floor room were received by the hotel. Staff mentioned this was a known issue with Expedia bookings, however I had called ahead to arrange this but there was still nothing noted on the reservation. The staff themselves were pleasant to deal with. The room itself was small, old and felt unclean. The bathroom had a musky smell (possibly due to the fan extractor not working). The hotel corridors themselves also had the same musky smell. However, the bed was comfortable. Location excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and surroundings

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Close to everything...walking distance to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fay, NC

My Stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: The rooms were very clean.
Cons: Its off season and still a bit pricey. I 've stayed in a lot of hotels for this price and had much more to offer for that price.
Location: It s close to the River, the Palace, and the shops, etc.
This hotel is very easy to find, great location, was clean, but for the price I paid, it was a disappointment. There was no hair dryer in the room, no complimentary coffee, and the breakfast bar downstairs was a disaster. We ordered breakfast and got the complete runaround. We had to demand from the check in person to chase the Breakfast people down to get us our breakfast we ordered, after waiting over 45 min, although we saw hotel workers breezing through the bar and getting food as they passed through, etc. It was like what is that all about? If you stay here make sure you bypass the breakfast place, and pack a hair dryer as well. Also if you want a view it will cost you extra. I guess that is typical though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to downtown

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Free coffee.
Location: On the riverfront, shopping, restaurants
Nice Hotel, right on the river. We had a great view. Very close to downtown. We walked to shops and restaurants. Even the Tryon Palace.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't Judge a book by it's cover

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The location; on the water and close to town
Cons: Make sure all of the utilities work. Starbucks have longer hours
Location: Right on the water.. Easily within walking distance to the city center with it's restaurants, historical attractions and specialty stores.
PROS:The outside, main lobby and hotel staff were all very nice. It is in a great location by being on the waterfront and within walking distance to the city center. CONS: Even though the room looked nice and clean, it was the details that made my stay less than great. First of all the refrigerator didn't work. It was one that you just plug in and it starts to work, no temperature adjustment, which meant our drinks never got cold. Also not all of the electrical outlets worked. I would say around half of them did. In the morning I told the front desk about about what was wrong with the room and they seemed very indifferent. I'm not sure if it's because we booked through Expedia at a discounted rate so we got a discounted room or what but I would have expected more from a Courtyard Mariott. Also, the room didn't have a hairdryer as most hotel rooms usually do, so make sure to bring one. FYI, there is a Starbucks in the lobby but it is not open all day long. I believe it is open from 6:30 to 9:30 am