Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice cozy hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
It was a pleasant stayed. All staff are nice and you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Away from the crowd

Posted Sep 26, 2017
At the end of Jaco beach away from the crowd the staff is super helpful and friendly The woodwork was amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Needs overall renovation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
location is great but the hotel needs seriuos forniture renovation. There was a situation with a group of loud people that make the stay very unconfortable. Hotel personel couldn't convince them of being quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Orbitz
You can do everything from here. Very South end of the beach Can walk beach to town of Jaco or take a 5. Minute cab ride $5 staff is excellent will arrange for any event / trip/ outing or adventure you might like surfing lesson ATV zip line. Sport fishing. All the best adventures. Owner on premises. Great Place To Stay. Would do it again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Room not ready at check in

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Room was ready until 3pm even though it was suposed to be at 2pm. They didnt apoligize, and said it was caused by nationa tourism. If you pay a hotel, it has to be ready on time. Terrible staff, didnt care about a solution
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Largo, FL

Property nice but received wrong view room

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Locations was nice. A little away from town but a rather cheap taxi ride. A little loud from truck traveling on the highway next to the hotel.
Cons: Some of the units are better kept than others. Wifi was spotty and slow.
Due to travel/plane delays we arrive late to the property. We were quickly assigned a room and brought our luggage to the room. The room booked and paid for on Expedia was for a pool view room and we were given a garden view room. We were also told that it had 2 twins for the kids but there was only what appears to be a double or queen. Try getting your teenage boys to share a bed! The staff asked us to check with them next following day and they would check with the owner. The following morning it was like we were being done a favor to get what we actually paid for. We packed up our luggage and moved to the new unit which was very nice and had two separate beds for the kids. When we did check out the hotel had printed paperwork that showed garden view. Still not sure if the hotel was provided with incorrect info or what actually happened. Expedia was very non responsive to multiple requests to check on what happened. Was always promised a response but never came. After many other calls this is the response received today. We have advocated your case with the hotel representative, unfortunately, Hotel Club Del Mar has denied your request for a refund. Was only asking for a credit for the one night for the difference between the garden view and pool view rates. Did not really think I was asking for much. Way to leave a bad taste in the mouth of a customer that frequently visits Costa Rica. Overall the stay was pleasant and in a pretty good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Very friendly staff, seems like all rooms have ocean views, clean room and grounds. The door for my room didn't extend all the way to the ground. There was about a half inch gap. At one point, a lizard ran in. Overall, good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beachfront hotel with great access to everything

Posted May 23, 2017
An hour away from Manuel Antonio, 20 steps to the beach ... easy walk to downtown Jaco. People at the hotel were great, wonderful pool, nice breakfast. Wonderful place to stay!
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Last day in Costa Rica

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Friendly service. Unfortunately we arrived very late and did not get to enjoy much time at the hotel/beach due to the terrible traffic conditions in Costa Rica. We will have to return again and stay several days at this resort!
5 out of 5
by Amy

The best!

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome completely self contained resort! Pool terrific! Restaurant and bar area are open air overlooking pool and ocean. Great food and service. Staff attentive and helpful. No reason to leave the grounds if you just want to lounge around the pool or on your terrace. Room lovely and had a retro-Caribbean feel. Very clean. Away from the bustle of Jaco but a short ride to town if you want. Plan on staying again.