Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room and great value

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: A proper bar would be nice
Location: nice location in Rosebank near the Mail
This is a wonderful place, wonderful rooms, great staff, highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Monarch. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Chaldon, UK

Refinement in the city

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
A very civilised oasis, with service like it used to be. Beautifully appointed, calm and elegant.
5 out of 5
by Nathan from Los Angeles

Almost There

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel that strives to be 5 stars. Fell short on a couple of areas. Parking has a lot to be desired. You have to park in front to check in, then reverse to park in a tiny parking lot where trying to get in and out takes at least 30 minutes if you aren't parked last. If the parking lot is going to be that small, they should at least valet you car for you so you don't have e to try to navigate it yourself. Showerhead was slightly broken, and the body soap/shampoo didn't really feel like it was doing anything other than smelling good. Internet wifi was slightly slow, but that may just be a product of South Africa. And finally the TV sucked. Picture quality was horrendous. But you aren't staying there for the TV. And the rest was just nit-picking. Excellent service, excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
by David from Ft Myers, Fla USA

Great Value.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff, all were friendly and attentive, very caring and helpful. 2 minutes from the train to airport and many other places. Train is fast, clean, reliable and safe. We did the two day hop on hop off your, was outstanding! Highly recommended. Did the walking tour of central business district, had a great guide and tour. Many restaurants within 5 minute walk. Restaurants located in the Roseburg Mall right next to the hotel. Our room was a Hugh suite at a very reasonable price. The breakfast was super.
5 out of 5
by karen from St John. In.

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
we were very surprised when we checked in this is a beautiful historic hotel the rooms were beautiful very large and clean. It is a small hotel with great service and a wonderful restaurant breakfast was included a full hot breakfast. It was a stay that we really enjoyed not your average hotel.
5 out of 5
by Johan from Stockholm, Sverige

Utmärkt hotell i Rosebank, Johannesburg

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Ännu en vistelse på detta utmärkta hotell. När vi besöker Johannesburg bor vi alltid på The Monarch. Personalen är alltid trevlig och tillmötesgående. Här finns inga problem, bara möjligheter. Läget nära Rosebank mall erbjuder flera bra restauranger samt shopping. Området har rustats upp under senare år men det har aldrig varit störande.
5 out of 5
by Coenraad from Swakopmund

A Little Gem in the Heart of Rosebank

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing place with wonderful staff and very nice and spacious rooms. Real 5 Star service, quality and treatment. The only disappointment is that their room service menu is the same during the day and and evening. Their reason is that there are so many very good restaurants in the area. We left the hotel the evening to a=eat at these "Highly recommended" expensive places and the food was horrible. I am sure that if they give attention to their evening menus they can draw the crowds back because their food is excellent and the chef is very good.
4 out of 5
by Gabriel

Lindo hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay with unexpected delights of an extra 1/2 bathroom, amazing shower and service beyond expectations.
5 out of 5
by DEBRA from Bowral

The only place to stay in Jo'burg!!

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
This is a little oasis. The decor is wonderful - very olde worlde charm plus! The hotel is immaculate and beautifully decorated with art of all sorts. Our room was enormous with a lounge/dining room, an huge bedroom and huge bathroom with a freestanding bath. There was also a second toilet, and a small private courtyard leading on to the hotels garden. We only ate breakfast there which was very good. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and there was always someone there to answer any questions we had. Located in a good neighbourhood with the Gautrain at the front door and a fab shopping centre with great food just around the corner, we would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.