Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

expedia problems

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: middle of island so you can go to either side of the island easily.
Cons: complimentary breakfast or at least a cheaper version of breakfast for hotel guests. I'm not paying $22 a person for something that should be included
I had booked a single king room and they didn't have that available and said they didn't know how expedia booked it because it wasn't available. Then they didn't offer the complimentary breakfast that it showed on expedia was offered. I chose this hotel because I wanted to have the complimentary breakfast otherwise I might have chosen a different one that did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel close to every part of the island.

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Very nice hotel with huge rooms. The swimming pool is pretty small. The personal is nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Fantastic Hotel on ancient Hawaiian sacred site.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: The staff at the front desk, grounds keepers, restaurant/bar and housekeeping were always available to us, and always greeted us with a warm Aloha.
Cons: A larger refrigerator would be nice, but not a necessity.
Location: Close to activities, shopping, and restaurants. The pools and hot tub were pristine and clean. This hotel is situated well to go up north or south.
This hotel was able to be built on a sacred site after much deliberation with the local Hawaiian's. Within walking distance and essentially on the property are numerous viewing areas, monuments, and placards that detail Hawaiian history dating back to 1400AD-1500AD. If you are sensitive and open to allowing the powerful peace, and healing your personal inner conflicts...it will be possible. The area is where the King and Queen of Hawaii would meet visitors. the navigable river (the Wailua) opens out to the ocean at the edge of the property. Very close to airport (10 mins) and shopping at Coconut market place (5 mins). I went with my sister and were stayed 15 nights. I will stay here again on my next trip. Kauai is a magical/spiritual island. There are activities on the Island, but it is much slower paced than Maui, Hawaii, and Oahu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

Nice hotel poor restaurant. poor access to the bea

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Open air dining room and lounge
Cons: The restaurant!
Location: Close to activities ; but these were limited for seniors!
I brought two seniors, one celebrating her 85 th birthday. The breakfast in the hotel was good; but the dinner lacked variety making it necessary for us to take taxi's to other restaurants.. Their was no help getting to the nearby beach; but too long and difficult a walk. The room needed a more comfortable lounge chair....and we were disappointed that our room did not have a balcony. In general I found Kauai not very senior friendly. Nancy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Québec

Great staff

Posted Jan 31, 2018
The true gem at this hotel is the staff... Everybody we have interacted with was professional, friendly and most remarkable smiling.. It's a nice hotel in a great spot near the ocean the only complaint we have is the a/c more specifically the actual thermostat that has electronic defects it was making weird sounds all night on our last night there. There is a restaurant and two pools/hot tubs on site but no safe in room only at front desk...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Early Checkout

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Because they were installing new AC units I had to be out of my room before 8:30 am. I got the notice the evening when I got back to my room it would’ve been a lot better if they had it posted prior to me checking in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

EXPECTING ROOMS TO BE NICER

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Lobby and Bar area.
Cons: the rooms. seemed old and needs to be updated.
Location: location was great
The hotel lobby was the best part of this hotel. The gym was decent. I was a little disappointed in the rooms. It smelled musty and also the AC never was able to turn off. We can open the window, which was good, but when it came to trying to turn off the AC it just never shut off so the room was always freezing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Price to quality not good Chip hôtel bad service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Central Location But Outdated/Mediocre

Posted Dec 30, 2017
This was my family's first visit to Kaua'i so we really didn't have any recommendations as to where to stay for our 7 day trip. We found the Hilton Garden Inn via Expedia. Aside from the central location on the island and its proximity to Wailua Beach Park, there was nothing impressive about this venue. Rooms were outdated and carpet filthy throughout the entire hotel areas. Elevator is squeaky and it shows maintenance is kept to a bare minimum. We were told we would receive a shell lei and greeting by the staff upon arrival and check in and none were given. For the amount of money you will pay, you might as well stay at the Grnad Hyatt or Sheraton, which is what my family will do the next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Door Locks are faulty

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Couldnt get into tje room on half a dozen occasions in a 6night stay because the card reader on tje door would drain its own battery every few hours. Same was the case with 2 other families in our troupe. Management needs to do something about this nuisance! Otherwise convenient facility.