Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Friendly....little overpriced however. Web photos are probably 20 years ago, so a little misleading.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best affordable hotel in Thamel!

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
I love the location of the hotel! As the name suggests, it's located at the backyard. At first, I was worried that it would be inaccessible, but when I arrived at the hotel, my fears proved to be unfounded as it was tuck conveniently into an alley beside the main road! It provides easy access to the busy main road for all your shopping and restaurants yet at the same time, because it's located at the backyard, it gives you the quiet and peacefull sleep you won't have enjoyed if you had picked another hotel near the ultra busy main road! Plus, I love the service of the staff. Everyone was very helpful and attentive to our needs from the moment we arrive to the day we left. It was so good, we booked the same hotel again when we were back in Kathmandu after we finished our trek!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. Good breakfast.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
An elevator would be nice. Staying on the 6th floor with 2 big climbing bags was 'interesting'. However the staff are mostly always on hand to help out. Great location with very helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grantham, UK

Kathmandu's finest

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Once you've made the decision to visit Nepal, which you should definitely do, make the decision to stay at the Backyard Hotel. In a country full of hospitable people, the staff here are possibly the best of the lot - in terms of being friendly and helpful, you couldn't ask for better. Also in a very handy location in the heart of Thamel, and all trips can be booked here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by manager@backyard, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review with full of kind words, your feedback is sign of motivation for us to devoted in our service with more energy and with more sincerely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Take Note

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
They are not expensive. But may charge you for your minor errors that also, too heavily. I had got their Quilt Cover dirty with sauce and they told it would not be washable so I had too pay 15$ extra just for that.I told them you could bleach it with Chlorine to make it clean but they would not listen to me. Apart from that this hotel is a good one to stay.
4 out of 5
by Alexander from Perth, Australia

Very quiet and comfortable

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here before and after our Everest Basecamp trek. The staff were very helpful and let us store our luggage at the hotel while we were trekking. The hotel is off the street and very quiet even though it is close to all the shops, restaurants, and trekking companies.
3 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Everything
I do not usually leave reviews of hotels or flights. I've been in 5 star hotels such as Marriotts, W-Hotels, Hyatt, etc and none has given me the service that Backyard Hotel.gave me. Since I contact months before my arrival, they were helpful and coordinated my entire logistics at no cost. Once I arrived, they welcomed me as part of their family and at all times were mindful that I had a pleasant experience. The manager is a gentleman and knows what the customer wants, he solve each of my peculiar requests, from buying a plane ticket last minute, to plan my tours during my short stay in Nepal. I was fortunate to meet the hotel owner and he did a gestured that I haven't seen in any other hotel, asking where they could improve? I could not answer his question because they are already excellent throughout. However, it demonstrates humility and commitment to the customer and always seeking to provide better service. All the hotel staff is friendly, helpful and never, never, never received a NO response or a bad face, always smiling and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Arun

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Boise, ID

Great Hotel with Amazing Staff!!

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful experience at the Backyard Hotel. It started out by them upgrading our room free of charge. The manager and staff were incredibly helpful and informative. They went out of their way to accommodate us even after we checked out and we were hanging around waiting to catch our 11PM flight. The rooms are big, modern, comfortable, and clean with 24/7 hot water. The included breakfast options were diverse and delicious. Next time I'm in Kat I will stay at the Backyard.