Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

If you must stay in Kelso Longview

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Free Parking, Easy to find.
Cons: The place needs to be remodeled. Old and worn.
Location: Business trip. Starbucks near by.
The hotel is old and satisfactory for a stay. Not special, but probably the better spot in Longview.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was dirty

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The room was dirty and the bed had animal hair on it as well as a stained pillow. They switched our rooms because no staff was there to clean up, this was at 5 PM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

The whole place was freezing cold & uninviting.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: this old run down hotel has nothing warm and cozy about it.
It is December and our room was so cold, that it took a long time to warm up. Also, the heater fan is very loud and I had a hard time sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by JS, Hotel Management
We're sorry for the inconvenience of the cold room and the loud heater fan. We will work hard to fix this issue. Thanks for letting us know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

You can't go home again

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: standard-size pillows. Elevator access to upper floors.
Location: Fishing/hunting/hiking. Mount Ste Helens Volcanic observatory
We've used Red Lion/Kelso multiple times when visiting family in the area. Good upkeep obvious, but staffing seems reduced (probably in part because restaurant hours are reduced). We booked days ahead, but got no option re floor assignment. As seniors, we would've opted for ground floor but we were given 2nd floor room (No Elevator!) and later we discovered the motel seemed relatively open (it seemed there were lotta first-floor rooms unoccupied). We stayed at several other motels on Thanksgiving, and all had changed to SMALL pillows, which are a pain in the glutes!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well-appointed, friendly staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
I stopped by on a cross-country trip.The front desk clerk and bartender were friendly and efficient. The nice-looking restaurant was closed, but I had a sandwich in the bar. My room was at the end of a very very long hallway. The room was well-appointed with the comfiest bed ever and a fabulous selection of pillows. The free toiletries were a local brand and very luxurious. 20 years ago, Red Lion was parentheses hotel in town, and this was apparent. One note, I am not smoke-sensitive, but the room, while non-smoking, clean, and recently refurbished, had the smell that comes from years of smoking seeping into the walls. This might be difficult to completely get rid of, so be warned, rooms can have a smoky undertone. If this would be a problem, perhaps ask if there are some rooms that have always been nonsmoking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel, Great Service.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: I called the front desk using my cell phone and was told that Dallas, the maintenance person would be there in a little bit.
Cons: He arrived in about 10 minutes, installed a new lock on the window and demonstrated it was secure. Took him three trips for parts to fix the phone,
Location: and brought a different remote for the television. It took a while, but at least they stuck to the problem until it was resolved. But I was tired.
When I arrived I was asked if a second floor room without elevator service was a problem. I said it was a problem. I was then told that an Expedia reservation couldn't be changed because I had asked for a room with a King Size bed and there weren't any available on the first floor. So I said, is there a more expensive room? That question wasn't answered. So I said, I supposed I won't be able to cancel my reservation and get my money back and was told I wouldn't get my money back. My plan was to find a different hotel. Then I said, this is a two night stay. I find it hard to believe that you aren't interested in a customer with a two night stay. The woman behind the counter said, just a minute let me figure something out. She started going on the computer and then to a file box and back to the computer and after 10 minutes she said, I have a room on the backside of the hotel with two queen beds. I said I will take it. I drove around to the door that was closest to the room, brought my bag in and then started wiping down everything with disinectant wipes. I do that at every hotel I stay in. Then I checked the mattress for bed bug spots-didn't see any. Then I tried to turn on the TV and that didn't work, went to the window that was located at the bottom of the room right off the parking lot. It opened right up. Apparently the lock was broken. I went to the phone to call the front desk. The phone was broken (or the connection was bad).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in heart of Kelso.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Roomy, comfortable but outdated. Located near shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferndale, United States of America

Just off the freeway but quiet from road noise

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Large room and two chairs, sometimes that's a problem trying to get that extra chair.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Just off the freeway and close to a shopping area
We had a long trip and looked forward to relaxing. We had been in the area before and remembered a great Mexican across the freeway. Wonderful Food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you Pay For

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Small bathroom. Short shower. Hotel is outdated.
Very cheap and outdated. Several spiders in room. Very thin walls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedro Woolley, United States of America

Just what we needed.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: It filled the bill for what we needed
Cons: A little worn but comfy.
Very friendly staff. Very helpful. Has all the things you need in a hotel. Nicest in town.