Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london uk

This is a very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
If you want peace and quiet in a beautiful location, stunning gardens, with very helpful and friendly staff and excellent accommodation you'll love Banburee. However it is quite remote. There are great restaurants and shopping in Lamai but the taxi fares became expensive. There are no other amenities in walking distance. Though it's on the beach it's a shallow bay and swimming is impossible. But the pool is a good consolation and the view is beautiful. The room, though 'standard' was very large, colonial style, big bed and huge jacuzzi bath and shower. Good food in restaurant. We had a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best deal

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This is by far the best deal on the island. Wonderful staff, and gorgeous view. Excellent prices. You can rent transportation directly from them. It's a little further away from Chawang, but worth it if you're looking for a nice quiet environment; plus it's very close to Lamai, which is a great town with an awesome nighttime market. Extra room guests were never a problem, and the professionals who keep the place running are excellent guides to a positive and relaxing time. I'm American, but there were folks from all over the world at the resort. The band who plays there regularly are awesome. The place is more like a social club than any other place I've been. I got to have a blast with couples from England, Germany, Russia, France, and the Philippines. I stayed here for more than two weeks. I had originally planned on going to Vietnam and mainland Thailand, but I just couldn't bring myself to leave this place. It was so relaxing. The only downside is integrating back into normal society after you get back home. You're truly spoiled here, and it's emotional when you leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place for relaxation and excellent service

Posted May 16, 2017
I really enjoyed Banburee Resort. The staff were excellent. It is on a quiet part of the island so it is good for relaxation. The restaurant at the hotel had many delicious choices and the food was good. I loved lounging by the poolside while looking at the ocean view and walking on the beach. The hotel has happy hour and a great lunch menu too, the service at the restaurant and through the hotel was excellent.
3 out of 5
by Kyle

Beautiful resort. Below average rooms.

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very quiet place to stay. The ocean is not somewhere you can swim due to all the rocks, but the view is very beautiful! The restaurant was very good there. They even had live music a couple nights during our stay. The pool was out of order due to heavy rainfall the night before. The rooms were not the most comfy, nor were they the best looking. Staff were very excellent and friendly. They have a free shuttle to Lamai beach and back every day 3x a day which was very handy. Overall I'm not sure if I would stay here again due to the rooms, but the rest of the resort is very beautiful and very nature like.
5 out of 5
by Suchanard

Great hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very good service. Great view. We really like it. Recommend!!
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greece

Overall a very nice stay

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Hotel's location. View Food Free shuttle to Lamai 3 times a day
Cons: Cleanliness Overall maintenance of the hotel.
Location: Perfect location if you want to be relaxed. Rent a car / moto if you wish to visit the island.
The hotel is situated 30 minutes from Lamai in a very nice and relaxing spot. We were welcomed by the reception in a very pleasant way and upgraded to a Villa with sea view for 2 days (since they had some "problems" with the air-condition in our normal room); later we decided to keep the room and pay extra. The hotel staff in general is very humble and polite, even if they could improve their english skills a lot more. Room was very nice with a great sea view. We were very relaxed after staying here. The bad point is the cleanliness. Bathtub was looking pretty bad since nobody bothered to fresh paint it. When opened, the water was dripping from the shower valve. Mirror was dirty most of the time, even after we inform them about it. Bedroom had a bad noise from the power panel inside the wardrobe.Windows were never cleaned and had stains all over it. And the outside terrace was dirty, even after we inform them. F&B: Chef was excellent. Very good food.Congrats!. Staff was good but again not speaking very well english.F&B manager was ok, but was insisting too much we the special offers. Also he could manage better the staff, since most of the time they are sitting at the PC and people need attention or things are dirty. (see pool area, pool towers just thrown away this is just an example.The most annoying thing:Maintain your beach cleanliness! Don't let garbage there! For 7 days on top of the right side stairs was/is garbage. Glean the garbage and don't just hide in the sand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Second stay, does not disappoint

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We stayed in this hotel previously, both times at the beach front villa. The hotel staff are fantasic, the villa is large and comfortable. With separate living room and bedroom, both with aircon units, separate wc and bath areas and outside private shower facilities, these are comfortable rooms with great views. The pool is a good size and always clean, quite and right on the beach. The beach is small although walking to the left quickly uncovers stunning sandy areas where you can feel totally alone. The staff are friendly and facilities including free wifi easily accessible. A free shuttle to the local town of Lamai (where anything you want can be found) is provided although can be expensive for a return taxi. I love this hotel for the piece and quite, if you want lively, look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from if you want tranquility it's perfect. as there is nothing around for miles. if you don't I wouldn't recommend it.

beautiful hotel but very isolated.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
loved the hotel. had a very quiet nice relaxing stay. if you want to go anywhere hire a moped and you can travel to the busy areas. the sea you can't swim in as it's too shallow.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, the hotel is perfect for relaxing and unwinding with the amazing view from the pool. The hotel however is away from pretty much everything and unless you pay for a taxi (which was expensive from the hotel) or the shuttle (free from the hotel) at 12, 5 and 8pm then there isn't much you can do and your 'stuck' in the hotel grounds. The rooms were very comfortable. The staff were ok but could have been more attentive at times but there were such few guests around I suppose they just switched off from time to time. I would recommend staying here for 2-3 days to relax but that's about it.