Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Spectacular views, overall could have been better

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: The views from our villa were incredible!
Cons: Better inspection of room prior to check in. Have water bottles in room. Coffee supplies in room.
We stayed in villa 34 at Montecristo. The views were amazing! Private pool and hot tub was incredible. We booked with an all inclusive plan. Spent most of time at our villa or Peublo Bonito Sunset resort. The views from the Sky pool, the food and service was world class. The one day we ventured to Peublo Bonito Rose, but was not able to book ride back on free shuttle and had to pay for taxi. Unfortunately, it was inconvenient to get anywhere. You needed to call for shuttle to take you so far, then wait for a golf cart to take you the rest of the way. With the incredible views, come steep mountain side that was difficult to walk down and way too difficult to walk up. We had a mix of restaurant experiences, from amazing at Zao Shen, to average at Bistro, to horrible at Sunset Sushi where we experienced our worst dining experience ever. We were told 45 minute wait, after an hour and half wait, we were finally seated. We were informed that 5 items on menu were out. After an hour, and 2 of our party of 5 being served and finished eating, the remaining were brought dinners that were not ordered because they had run out of everything. 4 hours of our vacation wasted. Villa had a full kitchen, but no bottled water or basic coffee in room. Had to order room service several times a day to get basic items. Were told that we could only order 2 beverages per person on each order. The views were amazing from our villa, but had several issues at check-in that should n
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

talk about bad customer service

Posted Nov 25, 2015
No one was on the same page at Montrcristo. Reservations explained all inclusive in such a way that it sounded great , however because I like to confirm I called the hotel the week of check in and was told that ordering food and drinks were limited to 2 per person in the villa and that we had to allow 45 mins between each order. I felt like I had been lied to by reservations so the manager , he said he was the manager "Edgar" said he would call reservations to clear it up. He then called me back , again this is two days before our arrival,and says well I'm sorry they told you that but no we have our rules. So basically the all inclusive package has limitations for any in room service. Let me make it clearer, I ordered 2 bottle waters and a Coke for my kids and it took an hr to get them delivered to the room. It's a joke. It's easier and faster to walk down to the restaurant at sunset which is a 20min walk! But then defeats the purpose of getting a private villa with your own pool. We were a family who would have liked 1 day to relax at the villa but it was impossible with the service. We had to call out for shuttles and taxis more than twice each time around because there was staff that would say they would arrange it but it actually had not been. Our quilts were stained Our towels were stained Bath robes were stained Just not at all what we expected for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful homes and unforgettable views

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Spacious villa homes with a wonderful view. We stayed as a group of 4 adults and 4 kids. The resort was not super busy this time of year so we never had to wait long for rides and never had trouble with dinner reservations. Staff was friendly and we did not have to deal too much with timeshare selling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Montecristo hotel was excellent.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The comfort, facilities and the wiew.
Cons: More information about regulations.
Location: Great location and many activities to do.
Everything was fantastic, we enjoy it a lot with all the facilities, activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Destination Wedding

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Cons: Faster service in the restaurants.
The Montecristo Estates was the best choice we made for our stay in Cabo for our daughter's wedding, which was at the Sunset Beach. The staff made our stay so very comfortable and we were treated like royalty. The Villa was immaculate and we couldn't have asked for more. The Cibola restaurant became our favorite. The food was amazing. Service was very slow though. All in all, it was a great experience and we will definitely be back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Family getaway

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Great time!!!Great place!!! Just a couple of issues they need more staff.. Had to wait one day 2 hours for breakfast (room service) and some days I would have to wait 45 minutes for a taxi.. Our room was perfect and will be going back ASAP.. My family and I loved it.. Restaurant were great and staff were professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by matthew from Los Angeles

Luxury estate? More like a timeshare sales confere

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking to be solicited for a timeshare every day every where you go within your resort choose this place. They will call you every day to get you to go On tours and they will bother you at any chance they get. Also all inclusive is hardly true. It's more like mostly excluded. They offer some food but not all as there are surcharges for certain foods. Liquor is not all inclusive and neither is wine. Only the cheap Charles shaw style wine is included. It was an absolute joke for 1200.00 a night. The house is stunning to say the least its huge can easily sleep 2 couples and 2 singles as it had four beds in it. If there is an option to avoid the all inclusive I would do that instead and not bother. We are decent every day and still didn't spend the amount on the all inclusive that we paid. Unless you will be drinking from sun up to Sun Down then it's cheap. But you could bring your own booze for that and make It easier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property!!

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Our villa was spotless, had amazing views. We will definitely return. I think it helped we were in Phase 2, and having our own car made getting around a breeze (though you don't need one). We did the all-inclusive option which was nice. Private villa with access to complete hotel amenities is a great concept and sister properties in town added even more options. We did have to deal with some timeshare overtures but knew that going in and staff backed off. Otherwise they were great and accommodating the entire week!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

AMAZING house, location and views. NOT the staff!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The house was spacious, comfortable, clean, and had breathtaking views. The personal concierge we had was also very friendly and helpful.
Cons: THE STAFF at Cibola! The room service is also VERY slow. We would wait 1.5-2hrs at the VERY least to get any food. The food can also be improved!
My family and I just stayed at the Montecristo Estate for 7 days. This vacation would have been 100% perfect if the staff wasn't so terrible. The staff at the restaurant Cibola were never smiling and very short when asked something. We always felt like we were a nuisance to them when we walked in. Room service would take 1.5-2 hours to deliver food; that is when they didn't get the order wrong. One day, I ordered a margarita pizza for lunch, and they sent a margarita drink (1.5 hours later). When I called them to tell them it was the wrong order and to send it with the rest of the food, they forgot to again. I called again and they finally sent it 1 hour later. I initially ordered lunch at 12:30PM and received my food around 5PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, ca

Beautiful villa, gorgeous views, well appointed.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It was a perfect romantic getaway - great location, beautiful views, gorgeous home.
Cons: The all inclusive feature wasn't impressive. Room service took a full hour and forgot some of the items. Some of the staff had a careless attitude.
Location: Shuttle to town takes you to the Pueblo Bonito Rose and an easy walk to town. You can stop at either of the PB resort bars or restaurants.
We loved our stay at the Montecristo Estates. The location, above the Pueblo Bonito resort, provides a sweeping view of the ocean and sky. The private pool and jacuzzi on the deck are amazing. We couldn't stop taking pictures of the beautiful ocean and the changing sky! The home had all the amenities we could wish for. Truly a wonderful, romantic retreat! Since room service was terrible, next time we would stock up on a few essentials. We loved walking everywhere, but golf carts were always available for people who weren't up for some of the steep climbs. The villa would accomodate a family easily, with three full bathrooms and bedrooms, a gorgeous entertainment room, full dining room and kitchen, private pool - would be great for a party. We loved having the place all to ourselves, though.