Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great facility and relaxing destination. Rent a car if you plan on doing anything in town on multiple days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Wonderful experience! Perfect time to go as was at a very low occupancy meaning no crowds and no waits! The phase II villa was superb with its private pool and hot tub. Honestly, we never wanted to leave our villa. Room service got things right 95% of the time which I thought was impressive. LaFrieda was good but very slow (however, they were bracing for a hurricane so that may have had something to do with it). Quivera Steakhouse is excellent. It is an extra $35 for dinner with the all inclusive package but well worth it. There is no charge for breakfast and lunch which were also excellent. The free shuttle to rose' is nice; however, if you are taking a taxi from there to do something outside of Rose', you can save time and take a cab directly from Montecristo as the cost difference is minimal but the time saved is great. We caught a taxi after a sunset cruise from the main dock to Rose' to catch the shuttle and then found out that it would have only been $2 more to go directly to Montecristo. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Pretty face, ugly personality.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: The views, the lovely villas and their floorplans, our private pool, the lovely staff that delivered our drinks and food daily.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE! a friendly face to welcome you to your stay- a glass of water maybe? A consistent dress code that isn't up to an rude individual?
Location: Deep sea fishing and snorkel tours in town. Restaurants for the tourists. marginal shopping-constant street merchants hawking their wares.
My family and I (husband, 4 adult children) just returned from a week at the Monte Cristo. Unfortunately, from the moment we were dropped off at the lobby we were treated inconsistently rude and disinterested. The concierge Eliza acted as though we crashed her private party. We not only carried our own luggage into the lobby, but we also had to ask if there was any storage available for it,r anyone to help us carry it there...she told us simply "no. we don't have anyone.". Really? She was obviously annoyed that we checked in an hour before our room was ready- The next delightful phrase out of her mouth was "you don't have a reservation.". Um yes, I do...here is my confirmation number printed out on my Expedia intenerary. So we waited about 10 minutes while she typed (my husband and boys standing out of the curb with our luggage in the Mexican sun wondering if we were at the right place...) until she said "i need a credit card." This attitude continued all the way to Quivera, where the hostess literally pointed at my husband and said-"he doesn't look good" when I questioned her why some men were allowed to eat in FLIPFLOPS but he was required to change from a polo into a button-down. HBO, movies, luxurious bath products (not even conditioner!!)and other things listed on their website are non-existent, and no one cares! Our butler Edgardo did his best to accommodate us, but he was unsure about the inconsistent dress codes . Don't even get me started on La Frieda.
5 out of 5
by Lily from Buffalo Grove

Amazing Villa

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
I love this resort and the other resorts. Unlimited room service is an amazing extra for all inclusive. The tv service was a little hairy because of the weather. The other thing is that the water is too rough on the Pacific side to swim. The pool options were amazing and the shuttle to the other side for swimming in the ocean evened it out. Great for large families or groups.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Great view, comfortable villa, transportation quick to all places in the estate. Will be back
4 out of 5
by Ana

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
The complex is complicated . The transportation is a not adequate . We spent sometimes 30 minutes to get picked up to be able to go to a restaurant . The food is below average . We got the all inclusive package and ended up going someplace else for dinner after the first couple of days .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Spectacular views, overall could have been better

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: The views from our villa were incredible!
Cons: Better inspection of room prior to check in. Have water bottles in room. Coffee supplies in room.
We stayed in villa 34 at Montecristo. The views were amazing! Private pool and hot tub was incredible. We booked with an all inclusive plan. Spent most of time at our villa or Peublo Bonito Sunset resort. The views from the Sky pool, the food and service was world class. The one day we ventured to Peublo Bonito Rose, but was not able to book ride back on free shuttle and had to pay for taxi. Unfortunately, it was inconvenient to get anywhere. You needed to call for shuttle to take you so far, then wait for a golf cart to take you the rest of the way. With the incredible views, come steep mountain side that was difficult to walk down and way too difficult to walk up. We had a mix of restaurant experiences, from amazing at Zao Shen, to average at Bistro, to horrible at Sunset Sushi where we experienced our worst dining experience ever. We were told 45 minute wait, after an hour and half wait, we were finally seated. We were informed that 5 items on menu were out. After an hour, and 2 of our party of 5 being served and finished eating, the remaining were brought dinners that were not ordered because they had run out of everything. 4 hours of our vacation wasted. Villa had a full kitchen, but no bottled water or basic coffee in room. Had to order room service several times a day to get basic items. Were told that we could only order 2 beverages per person on each order. The views were amazing from our villa, but had several issues at check-in that should n
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

talk about bad customer service

Posted Nov 25, 2015
No one was on the same page at Montrcristo. Reservations explained all inclusive in such a way that it sounded great , however because I like to confirm I called the hotel the week of check in and was told that ordering food and drinks were limited to 2 per person in the villa and that we had to allow 45 mins between each order. I felt like I had been lied to by reservations so the manager , he said he was the manager "Edgar" said he would call reservations to clear it up. He then called me back , again this is two days before our arrival,and says well I'm sorry they told you that but no we have our rules. So basically the all inclusive package has limitations for any in room service. Let me make it clearer, I ordered 2 bottle waters and a Coke for my kids and it took an hr to get them delivered to the room. It's a joke. It's easier and faster to walk down to the restaurant at sunset which is a 20min walk! But then defeats the purpose of getting a private villa with your own pool. We were a family who would have liked 1 day to relax at the villa but it was impossible with the service. We had to call out for shuttles and taxis more than twice each time around because there was staff that would say they would arrange it but it actually had not been. Our quilts were stained Our towels were stained Bath robes were stained Just not at all what we expected for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful homes and unforgettable views

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Spacious villa homes with a wonderful view. We stayed as a group of 4 adults and 4 kids. The resort was not super busy this time of year so we never had to wait long for rides and never had trouble with dinner reservations. Staff was friendly and we did not have to deal too much with timeshare selling.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Montecristo hotel was excellent.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The comfort, facilities and the wiew.
Cons: More information about regulations.
Location: Great location and many activities to do.
Everything was fantastic, we enjoy it a lot with all the facilities, activities